We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burn Cottage Retreat
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy cottage in a beautiful garden location. Immaculate condition. Well equipped. We really enjoyed being able to eat in and 'self cater' after a few nights of eating out. Nice breakfast provided next morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review - we do appreciate you taking the time to do so. Really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and wish you were here now to help us eat all the fresh vegies we have grown - pumpkins, cabbages, brussel sprouts, celeriac, parsnips, carrots etc ... and we are busy collecting walnuts too. Feel like squirrels putting away our goodies for winter! We look forward to welcoming you back again some day. Best regards, Rose and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Burn Cottage Retreat is a tranquil haven of peace and tranquillity in a magical garden setting. . . . perfect to recharge your batteries and soothe the soul!
Rascal Cottage at Burn Cottage Retreat had been on our 'Wish List' for several years after chancing across it on the internet, so our four night stay was a dream come true. The cottages, the hosts and the setting exceeded our expectations. Simply perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stunningnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are delighted your time with us exceeded expectations - we aim to please our guests and our peaceful surroundings certainly help us achieve that! We have been busy building new gardens and making improvements - hoping to build a petanque court for guests over the winter so it will be up and running by spring. You will have to come back and test it for us ... kindest regards to you both and we look forward to having you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

beautifully appointed cottage where we stayed for 2 nights. it was warm. comfortable, and quiet, The perfect place to unwind. Surrounded by stunning scenery.
Hosts Rose and Phil were very friendly and helpful with our queries about the region.
All up a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review - we love it when guests enjoy our cottages which we have specifically built for couples to enjoy. We hope you get to return one day soon. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in the Celebration Cottage, which turned out to be properly equipped for a disabled person, so I clearly didn't read the instructions! It was lovely though. The gardens are beautiful and Rose and Phil work hard to keep it just right. Having our fruit bowl refilled with fresh walnuts daily by Rose was a treat. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. There was no air conditioning, though, so I'm not sure how we might have fared earlier in the year - we went in early March and it was reasonable fresh at night. Cromwell itself is fairly small, but a very good location for wineries and exploring Central Otago. Desert Heart vineyard is worth a mention as having some lovely wines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Manager at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed the walnuts - they are very popular with our guests. Desert Heart offers great wine, as do the many other lovely wineries nearby, several of which are within a 10 minute drive of our cottages, so guests are spoilt for choice. You are right, we did not put air conditioning in any buildings (air conditioning is only a fairly recent thing in NZ) - our Central Otago air is so pure and clean we wanted guests to enjoy it. and our summers are generally fine and hot which is why we are such a fantastic fruit and wine growing region. Kindest regards and we hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were so glad to have stayed at Burn Cottage. We were in Celebration cottage which was apt as we were on a 40th anniversary trip. The facilities were clean & spacious, everything well appointed & thought out. The bed was super comfortable & the b'fast basket Rose & Phil brought was delicious along with the walnuts when we arrived, which were so good I bought 2 kilos to give to friends we were visiting later on our trip. We were invited to pick some fruit too but sadly forgot, damn! I was really grateful to be able to get some washing done too & it dried in a trice on the line next to the sweet laundry cabin. The hosta garden was a delight as was the whole place together with Rose & Phil's kindness & not forgetting their lovely pointer Meg.
It was so hot we swam in the lake which was about 1k away - very pebbly so some foot protection necessary.but so refreshing after hours sitting in the car.
A lovely place to stay, so peaceful & relaxing, we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1949emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time at Celebration Cottage. We have just planted a new rose and lavender garden out the front of the cottage so there will be something new to see next time you come to visit! Best wishes to you both from us and our delightful Meg who has been chasing rabbits all afternoon!
Doggy heaven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, N
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband Eric & I stayed in The Moonlight Cottage over a recent weekend and it was absolutely brilliant. So peaceful and beautiful. Cromwell was packed out for the car show and after driving around the town we appreciated coming out to Burn Cottage Retreat to the peace and quiet surroundings. Rosie & Phil's hospitality & local knowledge was excellent. I am sure we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Burn Cottage Retreat and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review when you got back home. The new motorsport park is looking better every week and we are looking forward to the grand opening in April. The Nose restaurant is already up and running. Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've just finished a 2 night stay at Burn Cottage retreat in the Celebration Cottage and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The location is great, the cottage was well appointed with everything you need and Rose's hospitality was superb. We were made to feel right at home as soon as we arrived. There were complimentary walnuts waiting for us in our room, and soon after Rose popped by with a bottle of wine. The next day Rose knocked on our door with a fresh bowl of cherries and we were welcome to help ourselves to the fresh veges out of the garden. I'd highly recommend Burn Cottage Retreat as the best place to stay in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiPC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Celebration Cottage and we hope you will get to visit again one day. The walnut trees are now dropping their walnuts so we are trying to beat the hedgehogs and possums to the walnuts so we will have plenty to offer to future guests! Our autumn colours have been magnificent this year. Kindest wishes to you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review - we do appreciat it and it does help other guests to decide whether or not to stay. We hope they do!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromwell
3.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
22.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
13.4 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Millbrook Resort
Millbrook Resort
#1 of 5 in Arrowtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burn Cottage Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burn Cottage Retreat

Property: Burn Cottage Retreat
Address: 168 Burn Cottage Road | RD 2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! We'd love to have you stay in one of our three boutique, private and romantic self contained cottages. Our accommodation is secluded and quiet, nestled amidst a walnut grove and spectacular tussock, woodland and hosta gardens, 3km from Cromwell and Lake Dunstan. Surrounded by wineries and orchards, we are centrally located for exploring the Queenstown, Wanaka, Mt Cook, Southland and Fiordland regions. We offer guests free mountain bikes (subject to availability), WIFI and laundry facilities. Each cottage has a King bed, en-suite bathroom and a fully equipped kitchen and lounge area. Our spacious accommodation is suitable for mature couples who enjoy the finer things in life and wish to relax in beautiful, tranquil surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Burn Cottage Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing