We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burn Cottage Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Anderson Park Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$109
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Manor Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Dunstan Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Collection Lake Resort Cromwell(Pisa Moorings)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromwell Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$87
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Gateway Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrick Lodge Motel(Cromwell)(Great Value!)
$83
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest Hotel(Cromwell)
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinross Cottages(Queenstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
93
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain bikeslovely place to spendvegetable gardenhighly recommend it to anyonequiet luxurycoffee tablefully equipped kitchenlarge bedroomsconesreturn triplovely hostsliving areabeautiful gardenseveral yearsstayed nightsobliging hostsperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 97 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

After completing the Routeburn track followed by Ball Pass it was a pure pleasure to arrive at Burn Cottage Retreat. I feel that the website pictures do not do this place justice - IT'S BETTER! The cottage (we stayed in The Rascal) has every thing you need with a taste of luxury - beautiful large bed, fresh clean linen, windows which you can open out wide - Phil & Rose a real credit to all your hard work. A truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DusitDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Public Relations Manager at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. It is always hard to really portray our property in photographs, so we are looking at getting a video made which might give guests a better idea of the whole atmosphere at Burn Cottage Retreat. So glad you had a good time and hope it wasn't too painful heading straight back to work! Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our second visit to Burn Cottage Retreat, and just as enjoyable as the first time! Rose was very welcoming on arrival and the cottage was immaculate. It's nice to see a lot of thought put into the design and execution of the cottage - comfy beds, plush linen, well equipped kitchen, great shower pressure, and toasty double glazed windows. Finishing touches like nice fresh plunger coffee, and walnuts from the section were a definite bonus!

An extremely relaxing stay, close enough to Cromwell to pick things up, but tucked far enough away to feel secluded. Lots of interesting historic walks and great vineyards nearby. We look forward to coming back again to see whether you or Lucy the sheep are winning the battle with those hedges =)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet-Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

It was lovely having you return to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are winning the hedge battle so far (with the erection of some barriers!) and Lucy and the mob have just been shorn so looking very smart in their summer coats. Hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Kindest wishes, Rose and Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are a group of keen pinot noir drinkers and had a fab stay at Burn Cottage Retreat. The cottages were warm, clean and had fresh flowers. Phill and Rose cooked us the best breakfasts ever with more whitebait in a single fritter than I had thought was possible.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RemueraCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Phil and I really enjoyed having your group to stay and we are delighted you enjoyed breakfast, it was our pleasure creating it for you. In fact, Phil is away right this minute catching whitebait (in the rain!!) so future guests might also be able to enjoy a whitebait pattie. Thanks again and we hope to see you at Burn Cottage Retreat again soon.

Rose and Phil
Burn Cottage Retreat, Cromwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is truly a gem of a hideaway. We needed a weekend getaway in a relaxing and comfortable setting. Facilities were superb. Gardens awesome. You couldn't have asked for more here, really exceeded our expectations. Excellent hosts who went out of their way to be helpful. We will return, next time for more than just a night!

Room Tip: Ask for the Moonlight Cottage
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie168, Owner at Burn Cottage Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hello there you two! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate it because it helps other guests know what to expect when they visit us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it honestly gives us great pleasure seeing guests enjoy our facilities and gardens. Wish you were here now - the garden is just waking up for summer and looks fabulous.

Kindest regards
Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A most relaxing place for a holiday - immaculate cottages set amongst lawns, walnut trees, flowers gardens with the hosta garden to wander through as an added bonus. So many personal touches - linen, books, magazines, DVDs, well-appointed kitchens. Rose and Phil, our lovely hosts, were a joy to chat with and were most helpful. They must be congratulated on their hard work in building and presenting these luxury cottages. We were to stay one night in transit but stayed for three - had time allowed, we would certainly have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyandNeilM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews