We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and Cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Warm and Cosy”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very welcoming, arrived and the heater was on in the room and the curtains drawn against the cold. Given clear instructions on where to go and get some supplyies. Couldn't ask for better host and will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be okay as they face out from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay at ASURE Central Gold in Cromwell. It is nice to hear that you appreciated the heater being on to welcome you to a nice warm unit. As well as the heat pump we also have heated floors to make it really cosy for our guests. It is also our policy to ensure guests have all the information they need about our property and the local area. We always show a guest to their room for that reason.
We hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
59
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The downside was the road noise,, even tho this motel had double glazing, it really wasn't enough, and there was no private courtyards or balconys. Lighting was poor. The room was very clean which was a nice change, so its certainly a credit to the moteliers, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont stay anywhere on Barry Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misfortune2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am sorry the reviewer felt they had a bad accommodation experience at our motel.
Yes we are on the road - but only one unit is close to the road.
The rest are setback from the road.
8 Of our 11 units have an outdoor living area. 6 with gardens and fences providing privacy for guests who wish to utilise the free BBQ, or enjoy the sunshine and the view of the mountains while partaking of a coffee or a nice local wine.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell. We would love you to come back so we can correct your bad impression of our property and provide you with and enjoyable stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

After reading the reviews we decided to stay here. This is our 3rd time in NZ and we have learned what a decent price for a room is. It was overpriced for the off season and you had to pay for internet. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was great. But the price was not worth the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Unfortunately I am unable to understand where this reviewer is coming from.
We do not charge for the internet and have not done so for the last 5 years.
In addition our rates are the same or less than similar quality motels in Cromwell. In view of the fact we are the only property with double glazing, air conditioning/heat-pumps and a free guest laundry as well as free WI-FI we feel we provide a good all inclusive rate for our guests.
The great majority of guest seem to appreciate the quality accommodation experience we provide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this on the basis on their website plus TA comments and were not disappointed.
This is an efficiently run, comfortable and well-appointed motel. Our room (exec suite) was spacious, had good temperature control and offered splendid views over the mountains.
Very satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel. We work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible and to try to meet our guests needs.
We hope again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

very best studio yet and i stay in motels NZ wide a lot. all facilities, no corners cut, even magazines to read inc recent car mag! Excellent fittings and fixtures, spotlessly clean, good linen. yet very well priced in fact somewhat of a bargain.
my studio had sliding doors to outdoor area out the back which is nicer than onto carpark. nice outlook even. easy stroll to restaurants.
recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We ended up in Cromwell by random selection, and chose this motel based on location and trip-advisor reviews. The room was a little pricy, but well set out and modern.

During our stay, there seemed to be some issues with the newly installed free wifi. The owners went out of their way to try to sort it out, but it wasn't to be, but I was able to gain access from the public areas of the hotel. This is just a teething problem and I'm sure it will be sorted out soon.

Overall there is not much to do/see in town, so I'd suggest a night or two is more than enough.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kmcdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
Yes sorry about the WIFI. WE have now installed a totally new system which gives excellent coverage anywhere on the property and it is magic. Guests can now use multiple devices in one room too. And its still FREE. .
We hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great place to stay. Good rooms and service. Great advice from the managers. We got to Cromwell early and there was not problem with us booking in early. Easy walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs. Cleaning people were very accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D1vot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralGold, Owner at ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at ASURE Central Gold Motel in Cromwell.
We are so pleased you had a good experience at our motel. We work hard to keep our facilities of the highest standard possible and to try to meet our guests needs.
See you at the Speedway next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromwell hotels
4.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harvest Hotel
Harvest Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrick Lodge Motel
Carrick Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Colonial Manor Motel
Colonial Manor Motel
#3 of 9 in Cromwell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Gateway Motel
Central Gateway Motel
#6 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anderson Park Motel
Anderson Park Motel
#7 of 9 in Cromwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell

Property: ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
Address: 24 Barry Avenue, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Cromwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium 4 star plus accommodation in Cromwell.We are Number 1 in Cromwell ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell offers ASURE Quality 4 star plus accommodation at an affordable price. 11 Spacious, mainly ground floor, studio and 1 bedroom units with great beds, air conditioning,double glazing and some kitchen facilities. Tastefully decorated and well fitted out for our guests enjoyment.FREE guest laundry, FREE WIFI Cromwell is the heart of beautiful Central Otago and the Southern Lakes regions.Make us your base when you explore Cromwell, Alexandra, Clyde, Queenstown and Wanaka We all work hard to make you welcome and ensure you have an enjoyable stay when you visit Central Otago and the Southern Lakes Regions. Your hosts are Yvonne and Graeme We are a member of ASURE Accommodation Group with properties throughout New Zealand. ASURE Loyalty Programme: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Gold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing