We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cottage in serene setting”
Review of Beach Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beach Hideaway
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage in serene setting”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

A pretty, spacious comfortable, one-bedroom cottage with modern touches in a serene, somewhat isolated location. It's about a 12 minute drive south of Punakaiki, in Barrytown. There are no restaurants or other services in Barrytown itself. The cottage has basic cooking facilities, but no oven and some of the pots and pans were in sorry shape (see the attached photo). At the prices they charge (we went in high season), they can afford to get a new frying pan every few months or so. Luckily, we brought our own frying pan (as we live on the South Island), but overseas visitors can't easily do this.

There's an enclosed hot tub on the grounds, but we did not use it. There were many sandflies around. Also, the beach was a lot farther than we expected. There was a charge for the Internet. The cottage had Sky TV.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassarinhoAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
18
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was one of our favorite hotels in our 22 night NZ vacation. Great value, and beautiful views. Kudos to the owners for keeping this place up so well. Loved the private hot tub with the view to the ocean. The night sky is filled with stars and the trees with cicadas. We didn't want to leave! Take groceries to cook your own meal in the well stocked kitchenette to maximize your time here. We also bought fresh eggs from a sweet lady 2 kms down the road toward the pancake rocks & blowholes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoTourBusPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

These two beautiful little chalets are about 10 mins from Punakaiki heading South towards Greymouth. Gorgeous setting. We spent one night in the two bedroom chalet with our kids ages 5 & 9. The chalets were warm, tvs in lounge and both bedrooms (with Sky). Spotlessly clean. Beds were so comfortable. We sat in the hot tub and watched the sun go down - fabulous. We ate dinner at the Rapahoe Hotel about 5 mins south of Beach Hideaway. They did amazing burgers, fish and chips and whitebait fritters. The pub is a real jewel with fire inside and beautiful beach across the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesireeD758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was one of 5 places we stayed on our travels to NZ. The garden and the views are amazing all by themselves. We took a walk down to the beach (which was through a grassy/ bush area) and we were able to collect NZ greenstone on the beach. There are two cabins and we were in the two bedroom and it was minimal but comfortable. If you need/want internet I would definatley recommend paying the additional money for it as it worked really well for us (there was only one other place that had great internet during our 10 days) If you plan on staying here, make sure you bring groceries with you as it is a 30 to 40 minute drive to Greymouth and only one tavern about 20 minutes away. We didn't get a chance to use the hot tub, but it did look quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
346 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a one night stop near Punakaiki and I chose this as the address was actually Punakaiki, Barrytown. But it is south of Barrytown with a 15 minute drive to Punakaiki.
The place would be wonderful for a peaceful week's stay. It was fine for our one night, though it rained heavily during our entire stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

If you want a getaway and dont want to be seen or heard by anyone then this hideaway is for you. It took us a while to figure out that this place was about 15mins south of punakaiki in a place called Barrytown. Litterally not much to do other than read a book or walk to the beach and slap yourself stupid with all the sandflies. Its self contained but honestly there is no shops around to buy food and if you want to have dinner the pub is your best bet and you cant have a few drinks due to having to drive home.. I personally didnt enjoy the seclusion but it might be for you.. 3 out of 5 is generous I think.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at Beach Hideaway for one night after a long drive from Christchurch. When you arrive, there is a phone near the cottages that you can use to call the owner and receive a code to get into the cottage. We checked in and immediately went to the lovely spa hot tub outside -- enclosed to keep out the pesky sandflies, but with a view of the ocean! The cottage itself is well-appointed and comfortable. Make sure you plan ahead if doing your own dinner / breakfast because there are no stores near Barrytown. We did our own breakfast and did not do the catered breakfast option. Our only complaint about the experience was that the shower curtain didn't keep the water from the shower from spreading all over the bathroom, so it was a bit wet on the floor after a few showers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrytown
9.6 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
11.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
10.7 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hideaway

Property: Beach Hideaway
Address: Glen Rd | RD1, Barrytown 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Barrytown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Barrytown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing