We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and peaceful piece of heaven in paradise”
Review of Ti Kouka House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barrytown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ti Kouka House
Ranked #1 of 3 Barrytown B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely and peaceful piece of heaven in paradise”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Sandy and Russell made really a great job in building such a lovely and perfectly furbished B&B. The room was not huge but fantastic and the breakfast superlative. But is not just about this. We felt ourselves at home, we shared experiences and point of view, we talked talked and laughed, making this break like a family reunion or just a dine with old friends. Thank you guys!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MatteoSTefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a fantastic stay.Sandy and Russell are the perfect hosts(plus the collie dog) very friendly,great raconteurs.This is a super place to stay on one of the best parts of the west coast.
The breakfasts were good and if you have an evening platter you will find it outstanding.
What a find.

Room Tip: End room has views on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We chose this place deliberately to be in the peace and quiet of the coast away from the bustle of Barrytown and were not disappointed. Ad other reviews have said, the rooms were interesting with a mix if old and new fittings, which blended well. The breakfast was excellent and the advice on where to go, very helpful. We decided on a round trip on the first part of the Inland Pack track and back to Punakaiki via the Porarari River gorge and Sandy offered to follow u in her car and take us to the start of the track so that we finished back at our car, saving us a couple of k's of walking back along the highway, which was very thoughtful and much appreciated. I was also able to use the WIFI in the house, although not in our room, but Sandy and Russell, were happy for us to share their living area. My title reflected the fact that it was a cloudy day when we stayed, so didn't get a chance to use the chairs out on our private patio to watch the sun set over the ocean. Sandy keeps chickens, so don't miss out on the fresh eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a lovely new B&B that we where told about to stay along the South Island's quiet West Coast . Hosts Sandy and Russell are very gracious, providing friendly conversation as well as a scrumptious feast of a breakfast. We was only sorry we only spent 12 hours here due to a late arrivell. The room was very nice you had a door that you could go outside and take in the Tasman Sea. The only down side was the lack of internet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjdigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

This is a lovely new B&B that we happened upon while searching for a place to stay along the South Island's quiet West Coast (in May, anyway!). Hosts Sandy and Russell are very gracious, providing friendly conversation as well as a scrumptious feast of a breakfast. Ti Kouka blends antique materials with contemporary architecture in a fascinating way, with three lovely, en suite rooms, each with a view of the ocean just across this quiet, very rural section Highway 6. The B&B is located about 20 kilometers south of Punakaiki and 20 north of Greymouth, just down the road from Truman's Track and Punakaiki's Tasman Sea-carved blow holes and pancake rocks, all of which make for great exploring and "tramping." Each of Ti Kouka's rooms is spotless, comfortable, and decorated in a way that reflects the hosts' warmth and hospitality. We will not forget our stay there nor our lovely hosts.

  • Liked — The hospitality, breakfast, and rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet access
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrytown
10.1 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
12.5 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Hideaway
Beach Hideaway
#1 of 3 in Barrytown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ti Kouka House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ti Kouka House

Property: Ti Kouka House
Address: 2522 Coast Road, Barrytown 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Barrytown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barrytown
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along one of Lonely Planet's most scenic tourist drives, we are a purpose built Bed and Breakfast with sunset views from every window across the Tasman Sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing