We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, but a bit tired”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waihau Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihau Bay
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but a bit tired”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Oceanside has had some lovely reviews and I think in it's heyday it was very good. The owner was easy to deal with and the lady that she has managing the place was lovely as well. Unfortunately the owner is not there much anymore, and the downstairs unit is starting to look a bit tired. It was also very cold in this unit as it doesn't get much sun due to the big veranda upstairs. The setting is very peaceful and rugged if you want to get away from it all. It was quite expensive for what it was. We were a little bit disappointed that some of the things still advertised on the website are no longer current and maybe this should be updated to portray a more accurate picture. It was a comfortable stay but I am sorry to say didn't really live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Car0lyn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night during a 4 week road trip. The Accommodation is in a peaceful and stunning location with a quiet beach just the other side of the road. The rooms were nicely decorated and well equipped & our host served us an excellent evening meal and superb breakfast. This is a perfect location if you want to go to Hicks bay as we did to see the sunrise first anywhere in the world. Overall, an excellent stay with very hospitable hosts & very good value for money. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the back unit (separate from the owner's house) and had a large and bright apartment to enjoy. The beach is just across the road so could enjoy both evening and morning strolls easily. We requested the hot breakfast (not included in the rate) and it was delivered to our room piping hot and was substantial. Would be happy to stay at this location again. It offered everything we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Afficionados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

After finding this lodging on Trip Advisor we bookedfor one night after driving over from Gisbourne - it was so worth while and we regret not planning on two nights there. We could have ventured out with our picnic from. there and returned Although Jan was away Maureen cooked us a wonderful snapper dinner and made us feel so welcome. .
The walk on the beach over the road was great and the water so clean and blue. A very good stop over point going east or coming back the way we did. Unit was fully equiped and good to have a clothes line ,so clsoe. We would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donnekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This stay had a little of everything from a plumbing issue and issues with the TV reception to a fantastic location and absolutely wonderful meals (dinner and breakfast). At the time we visited, the owners were away and there was a substitute manager. She tried to correct the plumbing issue without success.

The location was great allowing us nice walks along the beach before dinner and again before breakfast. Both walks allowed my lovely wife to add to her collection of shells. If you want peace and quiet, this is a great place.

We definitely would return here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

It was further east than I expected. We didn't arrive til rght on dusk but unpacked and were very comfortable for the night. Enjoyed a lovely walk along the beach before heading east after breakfast. One small problem with the shower plumbing not draining but host let us shower upstairs in her home.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

This area was one of the most scenic and least crowded places we visited. We loved it. However, there are few tourist facilities. Take your food and other necessities with you. The unit was not luxurious, but it was very clean and well furnished.

Let Jan cook for you as much as she will! She’s a better cook than you are. We ate at some of NZ’s nicest restaurants, and the best meal we had was the one she served.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YaYa5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Apartments

Property: Oceanside Apartments
Address: State Highway 35, 10932 | Via Opotiki, Eastern Bay of Plenty, Waihau Bay 3199, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihau Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Waihau Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the remote and beautiful Eastern Bay of Plenty, near East Cape and Cape Runaway, Waihau Bay is a lovely white safe and sandy beach ideal for swimming, fishing, diving and Kayaking. Our apartments are large fully self contained, with everything supplied for a comfortable stay, including TV, DVD, BBQ and outdoor furniture. Enjoy awesome beach and ocean views with a complimentary drink or take advantage of fresh seafood from our kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanside Apartments Hotel Waihau Bay
Oceanside Apartments Waihau Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing