We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For Easter we decided to do something different and head out to the Gemfields for some fossicking and much needed R&R.
We were greeted by lovely hosts upon our arrival, and my expectations weren't huge as Rubyvale is a place out of regional centres, and I was certainly surprised.
We stayed in a one bedroom self contained unit and it was spotless. It had all the comforts of home; air con for the hot days, washing machine and dryer (because you're bound to get filthy fossicking), I even had a nice set of Sapphire earrings waiting for me on the table. The ameneties were fantastic and it was only a couple of km from the pub, but the courtesy bus services the area so there was no stress.
It was a great couple of days staying in serene surrounds and even saw a wallaby or two.
We'll be back for sure!!

Room Tip: The self contained units, have a fully working stove, as well as the normal fridge, microwave etc so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShinyNewCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubyvale, Owner at Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are pleased you had a restful break and look forward to you joining our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
54
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had planned to stay here for one night but decided to stay for 2. The unit was airy,spotlessly clean and had a lovely spa bath. We were lucky enough to be visited by the local lorikeets on the first morning, and the lorikeets and cockatoos on the 2nd.
If you have time take the option of checking out the observatory, Michael ( the host)is very knowledgeable! I was so thrilled to be able to see the stripes on Jupiter!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Rubyvale, one tip tho... if you do go to the observatory take a torch to get back to your unit! It's a very dark world without streetlights!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubyvale, Owner at Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for the review. We provide an enjoyable, relaxed and comfortable experience with the aim to get you to stay longer!! We are now providing torches in each unit should guests wish to visit the observatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
269 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We discovered the Rubyvale Motel and Holiday units as we were told it is the best lodging in the area. After 2 years and going on a third one soon, I must agree.

We rent a two bedroom unit for a week every August. It is always spotless, everything works, sheets are clean and we can use our computers with their wi-fi. Just sitting on the terrace watching the birds and kangaroos and wallabies was thrilling. It really is a little piece of paradise out there.....And we love it. The kitchen is also perfect with Microwave and fridge and stove etc. We stock up on Groceries in Emerald and then drive it all out to Rubyvale 50 minutes away.

Michael and Jane sell sapphires and make beautiful settings. This quiet little, scenic location has captured a part of us. We cannot wait to return. You cannot go wrong staying here...it is lovely. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A wonderful homely stay at the best surprise in the gem fields. Very spacious well appointed and very clean rooms, and so comfortable beds. Hosts are terrific people.
Many thanks.
Peter and Gillian

Room Tip: Three back units
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom unit whilst visiting Rubyvale last week, we only stayed one night but wish we had gone here first 'cause we would have stayed 2 nights. The unit was was perfectly clean and had everything we could have wanted. We had air con in the bedroom and in the living area. We had real bath towels and face washers (so many places don't give you face washers). It was great to have the use of a free laundry and our own line under our carport to hang our clothes out. The Taylor's are knowledgable and friendly and more than happy to spend time talking to you about the area. It was a beautiful and peaceful place with stunning sunsets and sunrises.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miseemooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our short stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful and apartment was nice. Great place to stay while gem fossicking.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blinkypossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this 7 unit motel. Our room had a microwave, fridge, coffee and tea making stuff, a few plates, knives and forks, cups and saucers. We were able to use the communal gas grill and made ourselves dinner both nights using the microwave and the grill. Breakfast was also no problem as we had the fridge and also could make coffee etc. The motel provided even a bottle of milk. The bed was comfortable and everything was of high quality and clean. As the motel is almost at the end of Rubyvale ít is very quiet. The only minus was the fact that we were in a middle room (the only one) and sounds carried from the neighbouring rooms..so ask for an end unit which anyway has a small kitchenette. The owners were always on site and extremely helpful and pleasant. Both Rubyvale and Sapphire have only 1 small expensive local store each and very few restaurants so it's best to bring your own cooler and supplies and enjoy your dinners outside around the wonderful pool or the nearby grilling area.

Room Tip: End rooms are quieter and larger with kichenettes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units

Property: Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units
Address: 35 Heritage Rd, Rubyvale, Queensland 4702, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rubyvale
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Rubyvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star luxury in the bush. Centrally located on the Sapphire Gemfields.Private, quiet and immaculately clean. Set amongst 3 acres of landscaped gardens complete with kangaroos and the peaceful sound of the bush and the birds.A great stop for the inland traveller. Deluxe Spa Units and Self Contained Units are available. Fossick for a Sapphire straight from nature or browse the many Gem and Jewellery Shops, see how the miners find the precious gems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Rubyvale Motel and Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing