We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and comfortable, wonderful hosts, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classy and comfortable, wonderful hosts, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Yarrandabbi Dreaming is made for a dream getaway. It must be South-East Queensland's best-kept secret. We found Yarrandabbi to be the ultimate B and B - great accommodation, first-class facilities, fine food (and wine) and to top it off the most gracious, interesting and helpful of hosts, Yvonne and Trevor. All this - and more - at very reasonable rates. Great value!

Sue and Bruce

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
chch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you wanting a quiet retreat, amazing breakfasts and great company then this is the place. Trevor and Yvonne are wonderful hosts. Thank you for the fabulous breakfasts - I have put on a kilo in the 4 days we were with you!!! Organising our trips and dining options and most of all for your wonderful hospitality. It is without a doubt the best B and B we have stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddieChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YarrandabbiDreaming, Owner at Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Many thanks for your kind remarks. We really enjoyed your company too! Thank you for choosing Yarrandabbi to host your stay in Australia.

We wish that the weather was more pleasant. We sorely need rain but those showers and the wind weren't helpful. Sorry, we have no control over the weather, but, our Queensland slogan is "beautiful one day, perfect the next".

Maybe next time you are in need of rest, relaxation and guaranteed, not too hot and humid weather you may think of a winter sojurn here? Then we would guarantee the most perfect weather; great fishing, sunny, warm days and cool nights for cuddling up. Then you could also take our spacious canoe out on the tranquil waters of our bay!

We hope your trip to China was a success and that you have happily returned to your home life and children now, with satisfied memories of cycling, swimming, eating great fish from the Naked Fisherman's shop, and of course, going fishing on Sean's Moreton Bay Charters boat.

We did enjoy having you stay and look forward to one day having the opportunity to say "hello" if we make a trip back to the South Island next year.

Warm wishes to you and your family for your happiness and prosperity.
Trevor and Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Trevor and Yvonne are wonderful hosts. They are gracious and sincere in every way. Their B&B will resonate and not disappoint those who want to celebrate a bit of fine living from a bygone era. Their B&B epitomises the following quote:"The art of living lies in a fine mingling of letting go and holding on." Yvonne and Trevor offer the best of modern day creature comforts (best bed I have ever slept in, luxurious spa bath, quality pillows), yet at the same time they have managed not to let go of the best of yesteryear living either: from linen tablecloths and linen napkins, to silver serving ware with freshly picked anthuriums on the table, through to Trevor's 5-star slow-cooked breakfasts.

To those who love spending time with people who can enrich their knowledge of all things magical and magnificent on this earth and beyond, Trevor and Yvonne will not disappoint either. Their joint and several interests range from topics as diverse as: the wonders of the English language, to clivias, to the King Protea, to stone curlews, to eastern curlews, to wines, to the magic of Macleay Island itself.

One thing we forgot to do before leaving was throw a coin in the Trevi fountain (pun intended), to ensure our return to Yarandabbi Dreaming.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanc498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YarrandabbiDreaming, Owner at Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We so appreciate that you found your stay at Yarrandabbi Dreaming to exceed your expectations. We do try to offer superlative accommodation, ammenities, and if it is wanted - superlative service too. Finding the balance between being attentive hosts, entertaining hosts and unobtrusive hosts, (when people just want their privacy and to be alone) and being sincere, is important in the hospitality industry.

Joan and Trevor, we did enjoy your company and conversations and it was so good to reminisce about South Africa too! We truly hope that you will return and perhaps bring your family? Please keep in touch.

We wish you every success in your new vocations and prosperity in your new Australian lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Yvonne and Trevor are the ultimate hosts! We felt so spoilt and indulgent that we will be back! Totally relaxing and what beautiful surroundings. Thanks again for making our weekend so special. You could never be disappointed.

Jo and Cam

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoyingmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found Yarrandabbi Dreaming a great getaway for busy people. Trevor and Yvonne are superb hosts, Trevor's cooked breakfast is scrumptious, one of the best we have ever eaten, from the bircher muesli and fresh fruit salad to the traditional big breakkie topped off by champagne its hard to beat.
Yvonne arranged ferry transfers and booked the Bowls Club for dinner on Saturday.
We didn't take advantage of the kayak or bikes but its all there if you want. Great weekend or week stay, the downstairs is now self contained so if you wanted to cook for yourself you can and it would be a wonderful week for a family, great big pool, large yard and an easy island pace.
Thanks Trevor and Yvonne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCURIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you love birds, and spectacular water views (with Stradbroke Island as a backdrop) while you enjoy a gourmet breakfast, then you'll love Yarrandabbi Dreaming. Nature will do its bit, then hosts Trevor and Yvonne will do the rest to ensure your stay is a perfect getaway. They know the Island intimately and give expert advice about what to do and when. Rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable,and kitchen facilities are readily available. Trevor runs a nice bar for champagne breakfasts and pre-dinner drinks. The gardens are a pleasure to stroll around and attract a variety of bird-life, especially in the mornings. You can do as much or as little as you like and have a great time doing it. Be sure to enjoy the dining deck, meet the pets, and swap a story or two with your wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Yvonne and Trevor are the ultimate hosts! We felt so spoilt and indulgent that we will be back! Totally relaxing and what beautiful surroundings. Thanks again for making our weekend so special. You could never be disappointed.

Jo and Cam

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annoyingmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macleay Island
16.3 mi away
Stradbroke Island Beach Hotel Spa Resort
12.2 mi away
Allure Stradbroke Resort
Allure Stradbroke Resort
#2 of 4 in North Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
16.0 mi away
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
Manta Lodge & Scuba Centre
#5 of 10 in North Stradbroke Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seminara Apartments
Seminara Apartments
#2 of 2 in Coochiemudlo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
16.3 mi away
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
Whale Watch Ocean Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Point Lookout
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
15.4 mi away
Couran Cove Island Resort
Couran Cove Island Resort
#2 of 2 in South Stradbroke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort

Property: Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort
Address: 10-14 Weeroona Ave, Redland City, Macleay Island, Queensland 4184, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Redland City > Macleay Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Macleay Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic getaway or couples retreat, just 1 hour from Brisbane, is set on a private beachfront on Macleay Island, in a tranquil, natural environment teeming with bird life! Delicious 3 course cooked breakfasts are included in the tariff and are served on the Dining Deck with spectacular views over the 12 meter Pool and Bay. The Hosts offer friendly hospitality, 3 spacious, beautifully furnished bedrooms (1 Super King/Twin, 2 Queens) all with ensuite double spa bathrooms, RC Aircon, large flat screen digital TV/DVDs, glass sliding doors to private patios, separate entrances and views over the bay from all rooms. Guests' own comfortable lounge, dining area and well equipped kitchenette with large fridge, microwave, toaster & tea/coffee making facilities provides great convenience as does the superb BBQ and relaxation deck overlooking the pool. Enjoy Free use of WIFI, pool, 6 good bikes, Canadian canoe, fishing gear & Golf Clubs. We offer excellent hosted accommodation with as much friendly contact that you prefer. Please note that this resort/B&B is designed for adults and mature children only. We are a SMOKE FREE property. Also available as Macleay Island Holiday Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yarrandabbi Dreaming B&B Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing