We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Ensenachos
Nearby Hotels
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Memories Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$183
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Golden Tulip Aguas Claras(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
$103
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Perla Blanca(Cayo Santa Maria)
$280
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$246
$132
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sol Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
$205
$78
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Cayo Guillermo(Cayo Guillermo)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,793)
Filter reviews
5,793 results
Traveler rating
2,623
1,941
775
304
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,623
1,941
775
304
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafooditalian restaurantmain lobbysanta claraa la carte restaurantspiano bargolf cartspa areasurf and turffamily sectiondvd playerbeautiful resortadult poolbring a flashlightchickenlow tideother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 5,793 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have the privilege of staying at the grand villas this spring and will definitely go back. The beach is pristine the pool spot less and the grounds are keep immaculate even though they were hit hard by a hurricane last fall. All the staff were super friendly and helpful. I misplaced my I pad and one of the house keeping staff found it and turned it into the front desk. Marichial especially took the time to make our stay so pleasant and there was a new butler that helped us a lot but I’m terrible with names. We looked forward everyday to too see the smiling face of Augustine at the beach bar. ( not saying we drank a lot). I cannot say enough about this treasure we found in Cuba and highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: April 2018
4  Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director A, Gerente at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took to let us know about your experiences while staying with us.
Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent vacation at the IBEROSTAR Ensenachos here in tripadvisor.
There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our Iberostar Ensenachos hotel; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community.
We are proud to have a spectacular resort located in one of the most beautiful regions in northern Cuba where all the facilities have been specially designed to provide guests with few days holiday on their dream vacation.
On the other hand, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our resort and installations and are grateful for your highlight on the kindness of our staff, their professionalism and genuine helpfulness are indeed one of our main strengths and we will not fail to share your kind comments with the entire team.

Hope you visit us again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Village section of the hotel for 1 week in January, this was our 10th visit at the hotel our ninth at the Villas. Accommodation was excellent as usual and the Ensenachos Beach is a site to see. Best of all was the fabulous service provided by all the staff who work so hard to make one's stay better than the time before. The concierge Butlers make you feel like you are the only client at the hotel, they are all very personable and sincere in your dealings with them. My favourite is Marichal ( probably because we share a passion for soccer) he can be quite a joker but always professional. My wife favours Yandry, he is always the consummate gentleman and also professional in his work.

Let's not forget Augustin the beach bar barman, I think there's not a drink he can't make, he is always friendly and personable too.

For my wife and I the Iberostar Ensenachos is a 10 out of 10 whether you stay in the main section or the Villas, special mention to Geysi and Katia in the customer service department below the main lobby who go above and beyond in their client service.

Going back again in November for two weeks, looking forward to it already so we can catch up with all our Cuban friends who we consider to be like family to us.

Robert and Davina Cullen

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank tartanspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director A, Gerente at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the staff at Iberostar Ensenachos we want to thank you for choosing us as your preferred destination in Cuba.
Thank you so much for sharing with us your excellent vacation at the IBEROSTAR Ensenachos here in tripadvisor.
There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our Iberostar Ensenachos hotel; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community.
We are proud to have a spectacular resort located in one of the most beautiful regions in northern Cuba where all the facilities have been specially designed to provide guests with few days holiday on their dream vacation. We thank you very much for your comments about the Grand Village, it is our pride to count with a section that satisfies the most demanding requests from our guests.
We deeply appreciate your comments and feel very proud that our hotel met your expectations. It is our ambition to provide exceptional service and your very kind words are encouraging and much appreciated by all of us.

Hope you visit us again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Iberostar Ensenachos May 12-19, 2018. We had previously stayed at an Iberostar resort in Montego Bay so we knew to expect lots of grandness in details. This was our 4th trip to Cuba, having previously stayed in Varadero, Holguin and Cayo Coco.

We arrived around 1030pm and the main check in was a gong show. How can you not staff appropriately when you know beforehand how many people would be arriving late? After 30 mins waiting in line to get our room, we were told to take our luggage out to the bell boys. The wait to be bused to our room was just as long.

We had asked for an upper floor room away from the main lobby, preferrably any villa near the pool. Our envelope with keys had a room number crossed out (38) with our new room number on it (43) = ground floor room in villa closest to the main lobby.
Our safe was locked, and our phone didn't work to call anyone so off to the main lobby we went to advise. In line again. We decided to ask to change rooms at this point and although we were told there wasn't anything else available, after some persistence were given keys to a new room in building 36. Upper floor near the pool. Now we had to get our luggage from villa 43 or villa 36. We called the main reception to advise we would like to take the new room and they did offer to move our luggage for us. We walked back to villa 43 and waited.... and waited.... and then finally decided to walk our luggage ourselves.

This is where i tell you about the size of this resort. We knew it was spread out, we heard there was a tram that runs from the lobby throughout the resort sections, but it runs so seldom you're better off just walking. You WILL get your step counts in!! Bring a flashlight or your cell phone with flashlight for walking the pathways at night. It is very dark in spots and there are large crabs everywhere at this time of year. The walk from the lobby to our villa took about 10-15 mins and at night, in the dark, i was very thankful to have a flashlight.

Finally into our new room at 1230am. Starving. Room service ended at 11pm. This is where we walked BACK to the main lobby to enquire about food. They had left the buffet restaurant open for late snacking. There were luncheon meats, salad items and fruit available. We checked it out but it looked like it had been sitting out since their dinner time and we didn't want to chance eating any of it.

When in Cuba we usually prefer the Buffet for dinners over the a la cart restaurants. Not only due to selection, but usually because we don't like to be tied down to a reservation time, and like to stay late at the beach if possible. The Iberostar Ensenachos buffet has to be the worst buffet we have ever experienced. We are not ones to complain about food in Cuba! We know what to expect. We've always found something to eat and been happy. Not so here. This is truly a two star buffet. At previous resorts in Cayo Coco and Holguin there have been fresh pasta, rice or pizza stations where they would make up a plate with your selected ingredients. Although they did fresh omelettes/pancakes at breakfast, at lunch and dinner they only had meat grilling stations. Pastas and pizzas were all sitting out under heat lamps, and did i mention the flies?

We did two nights at the Japanese Teppanyaki restaurant. This was a lot of fun, very well done and excellent food. We wanted to try the Cuban restaurant but it was only open two days during out week and fully booked.

The beach grill at lunch was horrendous. We'd wait 45 mins in line to get food that was either partially cooked (pork / fish), and toppings/salads that have been sitting out in the heat /flies/birds. Suggestion, throw on a bunch of hamburgers and hot dogs prior to opening and have it all ready for the crowd when they gather around. No one wants to stand in line for half an hour waiting, and have people budding in line because someone they "know someone at the front".

Highly recommend the pool snack bar for lunch. Civilized and fast service.
The beach was one of the only redeeming quality about this resort. It truly is the MOST beautiful beach we have been to. We snorkeled every day, right off the beach. There are so many fish right in shore, a lot of coral and even a sunken ship off shore which you can swim or walk to easily. There is no need to book a separate excursion for snorkeling here!

The other only redeeming quality here was the people. They are hard working, kind and willing to help you without expecting tips in return. The beach drink servers and chair staff work their butts off in the hot sun daily and always with a smile and a willingness to help. Yaima in the buffet was always happily finding us a table in her section and getting us anything and everything we might need to make our meal enjoyable.

While we would love the opportunity to see Cayo Santa Maria beach again one day we will not be choosing this resort again.

Room Tip: Upper Floor if possible, not sure it makes a difference. Bring a flashlight!!
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank siouxtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityMCuba, Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant time in our hospitality at Iberostar Ensenachos and want to thank you for sharing with us.
Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensures that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome the ideas of our guests because they can only help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. Therefore we would like to apologize for the delay in helping with your luggage when you were moving to the new building. Our staff is very devoted, and it took us a bit more time because they were serving other customers as well.
It is regrettable to hear our buffet was not of your liking, mainly because our chefs create daily a wide assortment of different options to please the most discerning of palates and in addition follow a regular menu rotation. Reading that you thought our food quality and variety were under the expected makes us feel that we are not doing a good job but with the possibility to do better which we promise you we will endeavor to do wherever possible.

The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration.
Again we thank you for this review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel to this resort twice yearly because the beaches are amazing, the facility is beautiful, and most importantly, the people are wonderful.
We always enjoy a perfect vacation at the Grand Village. Pampered and treated like family every time we return.
Yandry, Marichel, Dismar, Michel, Yan, Dulayvis, Jaqui, Anier, Yuneisy, Yani, Alicia, Agustin, Jaime and the rest of the kitchen staff, Janet are wonderful hosts at the Village. Every one of them eager and willing to satisfy any request.
Diana at guest service is an angel.
The bellboys who deliver us from the lobby to the village are friendly, and helpful as well.
We did notice an improvement in food quality at the Colonial restaurant this trip, as the hotel was preparing for a tourism festival the week after our stay. We hope it will continue!
We have made too many friends over the years all over the resort to recite here, but every time we return we are greeted by all with a smile and a hug.
We will be back this Fall.

Room Tip: Villas 67 to 72 have ocean views.
Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
4  Thank D0ugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director A, Gerente at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the staff at Iberostar Ensenachos we want to thank you for choosing us as your preferred destination in Cuba.
There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our Iberostar Ensenachos hotel; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community.
We thank you very much for your comments about the Grand Village, it is our pride to count with a section that satisfies the most demanding requests from our guests.
We greatly appreciate your comments about the friendliness of our excellent staff, which is one of the strengths of our hotel and our Iberostar chain.
Once again we thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Hope you visit us again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where to begin? Iberostar Ensenachos (formerly Royal Hideaway) has been the choice destination for my husband and myself since 2007 when we're looking for a relaxing, tropical getaway. After 16 visits (the majority of which were 2-weeks), we will definitely return in the very near future, provided the hotel staff remains consistent.
Our most recent holidays at Iberostar Ensenachos, in the Grand Village were December 2017 for Christmas & New Years and March 2018 for my 40th Birthday. We were also married in the Grand Village in April 2017.
There is so much to praise about the hotel: the breath-taking beaches, the wildlife and nature, snorkeling, walking trails and the beautiful sunsets. We have recommended the hotel to so many of our friends and family and they have all loved their vacations & many are repeat guests.
The fortitude of the Grand Village (and all of Iberostar Ensenachos) lies firmly on the shoulders of the kind, dedicated, and honest staff. We have never felt more safe while travelling and appreciate the familiarity of the staff we are able to see over and over again. No unreasonable request is ever denied; there is always plenty of bottled water, towels, car service and when it's not too busy; maybe a game of dominoes or cards in the GV lobby.
To name every employee who have made our vacations so special would be excessive, so I hope to not omit anyone. First & foremost; Yandry Gonzalez, Reinaldo Marichal, Michel Toyos Diaz and Dismar Vizcaino, who are all fantastic concierge and make our stays so comfortable and relaxing. Alicia Carrillo Heredero, Yaquenia Caceres, Yan Garcia, Yuneisy Perez, & Dulaivys Vazques in the El Coloniel restaurant. Taking care of the bars are Augustin Perez, Junior Luis & Amery. There are so many other wonderful staff, but just to name a few; Maya and Yansi in the Grand Village; Yuri, Adolfo, Yanet, Lester & Chino on the beach. All of the staff at the resort is fantastic, but several who stand out are Alexis, Angel, Coqui, Elvis, Jesus, & Roberto who are on duty as bell-boys/porters 24-7. Also, the main resort staff at the bars and beaches and front desk; Javier, Yadima, Alexander, Rudy, Gustavo, Daykar, Orlando, Diego, Zhulma, Jose Luis, Zailey, Zaidy, Juan, Camilo, Jorge, Amuri & Yoly. Customer service is wonderful; Diana and Katia are so kind and helpful. Rachel Martinez is an amazing wedding coordinator, and she did a fantastic job for our wedding!
Provided the overall staff of the resort does not change, we will return in a heartbeat with our family and friends. Thank you Grand Village Ensenachos for more wonderful vacations and memories this year.

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SPFZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director A, Gerente at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and the staff at Iberostar Ensenachos we want to thank you for choosing us as your preferred destination in Cuba.
There is nothing we love more than reading that our guests felt well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of their stay at our IBEROSTAR Ensenachos hotel; we are very grateful for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction with the travel community.
We are proud to have a spectacular resort located in one of the most beautiful regions in northern Cuba where all the facilities have been specially designed to provide guests with few days holiday on their dream vacation. Service, gastronomy and location being the prime pillars of our company, we are thrilled that these aspects contributed to an enjoyable holiday experience among us.
We greatly appreciate your comments about the friendliness of our excellent staff, which is one of the strengths of our hotel and our Iberostar chain.
Once again we thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.


Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews