We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a beach”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I could talk all day long about the great time our group (three families-12 people) had at the Iberostar Ensenachos Especially when factoring in and understanding the challenges these people face when giving you a first class vacation for a next to nothing price. Why you should go and why we will return to the Iberostar is for the incredible beaches and aquatic experience and for the amazing people that keep this resort running as best they can with the resources they are given. We made our first visit because of recommendations from a number of our colleagues that have gone to this resort annually for years. The beaches are spectacular, however, you will probably not see American travel writers rank them with Maui's Waimea or Kaanapali beach, but, in my opinion, they are as good and better in many aspects. The snorkeling from the beach is very good. Go in the morning, high tide is best. The sand is so fine and cool. The water clarities and color is amazing. Take a free sail with one of the staff out to the break water or walk out at low tide to the sunken ship. Walk or run down the full length of the two beaches playa ensenachos and playa mengano. It was very hard to leave this place after only one week and the memories are lingering long. Although the resort's food and alcohol were not one of our top priorities it was extremely interesting and refreshing to see how food tastes without the influences from the American big sugar companies, over salting, artificial flavoring...... Our group of twelve had not one complaint. It was no problem being seated together and the service for our large group was flawless. Our rooms for the little time we spent in them were very comfortable and the pool features and service were great. One of the most memorable hangouts for us was the evenings spent in the piano bar. Take the time to get to know the pianist. She is incredible. We could not stump her with probably over twenty song requests from the kids and the adults. It was also fun trying the many fancy tropical drinks serve. If you are put off by minor power outages, computer systems that seem slow and archaic, maintenance repairs that either seem make-shift or take some time to compete, food that does not taste like the food at home then it is safe to say you have not taken the time to get to know the cuba people and understand and appreciate the situation you and they are in. There is a good reason why the man you will see everyday running a 15yr old Honda leaf blower needs to start the engine of it using what looks like a broken shoe lace. These people make do with what they can find. They work long and hard hours. They put up with things we can not imagine - and they are the lucky ones. If you do not take the time to get to know at least one of them, then you are really missing out on an amazing Cuban experience. I highly recommend this resort. It is in an absolutely beautiful and unique location and is full of amazing staff that deserve much respect and gratitude.

Room Tip: Bring good shoes lots of walking. Bring lots of tip money - think about how you tip at home and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank phil_rie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus amables comentarios y celebramos que les haya gustado las instalaciones y el destino en su conjunto
CarlosV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,308
    1,741
    701
    276
    129
See reviews for
1,491
2,716
82
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

For those backpackers reading this review, no you are away from Cuba, stuck between Canadian tourists complete detached from the real Cuba. But hey give yourselve a retreat, let your kid(s) enjoy the wonderful kids club and enjoy the berst beach in Cuba.

Whilst travelling around Cuba for 3 weeks, we gave ourselves a little retreat to this resort. The best feature? The beach. In June during low season the crowds are very managable, and for all-in resorts the food and drinks are high-standard.
The staff is friendly and the rooms were clean. I would rate the rooms as upper middle-class compared to European city hotels. The staff service as high-end.

We were clumsy enough to forget our tablet computer in our room. A phone-call the next day made clear that the maid had found it and brought it to receiption. The hard part is to get our iPad back or send. As not the service hotline, nor the facebook page, nor the email adress I was given via the facebook page, nor the contact form on the Iberostar is responding to my emails. If you haven't booked via an agency there appears nothing the Iberostar chain is able or willing to help you in lost and found. So look after your belongins closely.

Room Tip: The grounds of the resort cover a huge, huge area. We stayed in block 41, which walks you straight t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanL1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos sus comentarios y lamentamos las molestias. Daremos soluciones inmediatas y procuraremos modificar la página electrónica
CarloV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

A very nice property with wonderful, attentive staff that will do it all to ensure you have a great stay. That's how I want to start this review. We had never stayed at an Iberostar property and had heard nothing but good things and we were not disappointed. The resort itself was well laid out and an email to the resort with a wish list (location, bed preference etc.) ensured a great location close to all amenities. Food was very good by Cuban standards and by that I mean that selection and quality are always a topic of concern for food on the island. Every meal was good and the beach snack bar was great for lunch.
The resort itself could use some repairs in areas and Wi-Fi is a new concept in Cuba so we went off grid for the 2 weeks but really didn't miss it. Water pressure in the shower was also not great but that's where the negative ends.
The beach is awesome the pools were great and the staff were truly great. They work hard to keep us happy and they would be the reason that we would return. The property is a good 2 hours from Santa Clara so we really didn't do any visiting during our stay. We just walked the gorgeous beach and enjoyed the beauty of natural Cuba. Also a surprise was a resort gym where all of the equipment was in good working condition. This is due to the work of the young man working in the gym that spends his day tending to the equipment and making sure the gym users are hydrated by bringing water and towels without fail.
Building 21 in the Spa section is close to everything. Gym, Pool, food/lobby and the walkway to the beach.
In short, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort to anyone. All of the people we met on the property seemed happy with the resort as well. You have to have an open mind in Cuba as the island itself just doesn't have the same advantages as other holiday destinations. If you can do this as a traveller, you'll love this place like we did.

Room Tip: If travelling without the kids, spend a little more and opt for the adults only Spa section of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G4Sguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service.
Best Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just came back from here. There are some things that I feel this resort can improve on. Check in took too long and some waited with kids for several hours. Please, I hope you improve this, with more computers and scanners for the passports.
One night we had booked Italian at one of the places for fine dinning. When we arrived the doors were closed , and several others also were waiting. Please, have a note on the door. or someone in customer relations to let us know at the premise it is closed. We stood there and wondered.
Several people had a problem with the extending the checkout of the hotel. An appointment was arranged with a Manager and I felt it was not handled well when we were all English speaking and she spoke Spanish in front of all of us.
It is a beautiful place, the beach is amazing like no other. The wait staff is exceptional and the theatre performers are outstanding. Please go. Recommendation for more promotion, a larger more well placed signs for the performances, that these outstanding individuals give each night to delight us of Cuba.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAngelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking your time to express your opinions and thank you for letting us know. Our clients’ comments are very important to us and we sincerely value them. They will assist us in better serving our guests in the future. I will make sure that this comments get all the departments at the resort.
We apologize for all your inconveniences and we appreciate all your comments, because allow us to improve our services and we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us, to provide you the service you deserve.

Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I honestly don't know where the negative reviews for this hotel are coming from. Typically, when I go on vacation, I'm looking for a good time, not to nit-pick every possible detail. So keep that in mind while reading this review I suppose. We spend two weeks at the resort and loved every minute of it! Our room was great (a typical room for an all-inclusive), the food was excellent (beyond what we've had in Mexico), and the staff we incredibly friendly and took the time to get to know us. The resort is in a great location - the beach is simply incredible. I've never seen anything like it, truly. If you're considering this vacation but are on the fence - just go!

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a more private villa, but keep in mind that this will put your further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brandon133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have spent a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service, if so, do not hesitate to contact Mrs Lisbet Perez our Customer Service Manager, email: jefe.rrpp@ensenachos.co.cu
Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just spent a week at the Iberostar ensenachos and we had a lot of problems from the beginning. Including very little water to shower in our room, broken mini fridge, so could not drink cold water in the room and poorly functioning AC in the room. They also did not respect my special room request and I was told that "just because you request does not mean you are going to get." Wow, great customer service!! This seemed to be there favourite line because we heard it often. The buffet also had no AC for 3 days, so we had to eat our meals in the scorching heat. We were a group of 14 people and were all disappointed by the resort. However, the beach was quite spectacular and the food at the buffet was better than the restos.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nads2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time and write about your recent trip to Iberostar Ensenachos. We regret we didn’t fulfill your expectations. Please, accept my deep and sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay at the hotel, we will make sure that does not happen again. Pls, don’t think we don’t want to please all our guest room request, sometimes it gets really difficult, because this is a thing attach to availability at the time of guest arrival.
If you decide to visit, please let us know and we assure you that we will offer you the service you deserve.
Once again thank you very much for writing about your experience at Iberostar Ensenachos. Your suggestions, as well as other customers are very important to help us improve our services.
Regards
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our second time to this resort. Last time was one year ago and we had a great time with our 2 kids. Bus ride a bit long but real view of Cuban culture on the way, check in easy and quick. Room good, spacious and clean - good AC. Safe not working on arrival, but fixed same day. Food was above average for Cuba, and no stomach sickness last year (contrary to every other Cuba resort we have been to). This year same thing, food was good, large selection, but this year the wife and I had a bit of stomach trouble for a couple days - kids did not. Again, I think this is likely unavoidable to some extent - have just come to expect it on tropical vacations. All the booze probably doesn't help. Service was excellent. What really helps with the service is not necessarily tipping, but just being polite and appreciative. Actually goes a long ways, and the staff are very friendly, and helpful which resulted in me tipping more. Happy cycle I would think. A la cartes were very good. Love the Surf and Turf a la carte, and the Tepenyaki was very nice (new since last time we were there). Entertainment was very good - better than any other Cuban resort I have been to. I am not a big dancing kind of person, so I would sometimes just head to bed early so as to get up early for breakfast and the beach. The shows I saw were very good - dancers very in sync, clean dancing, good vocals - impressive I thought. Beach is awesome - I think everyone here agrees. Chairs plentiful. Ensenachos beach is a bit "prettier" but a bit of a hike and no snack bar. Resort looks good, well kept grounds. A few things were a bit run down and could use repairs - some of the public bathrooms for example - often no paper towels in the bathrooms but some had blow dryers - but so what. Walk out of the bathroom and look at the palm trees, beach etc, grab a beer and enjoy yourself. Thanks to the resort for another good holiday, the staff for great service and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundog354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos V, Director General at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,
All the staff and Management team at IBEROSTAR Ensenachos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that overall you were able to enjoy our services, especially our beaches. We hope we can welcome you back again someday, if so, do not hesitate to contact Mrs Lisbet Perez our Customer Service Manager, email: jefe.rrpp@ensenachos.co.cu
Best regards,
Online Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Property: Iberostar Ensenachos
Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing