We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUY BUENO!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed at the Grand Village section of resort- Superb beach and swimming/snorkelling options offered. Wonderful accomodations and extremely friendly and helpful staff (other than the grumpy front desk staff @ main lobby). Food throughout was very good, particularly the seafood. The layout of the Grand Village section is very well designed and offers a high level of privacy.

Some things to consider- Cuba is not run like a 'swiss watch' so be prepared to wait and have patience.. Vegetables are not as available but other great food is. The logistics between the Grand Village and rest of resort can be a challenge (1 mini-van only) so plan your main lobby trips accordingly or you'll eat up beach time fast. There is an obsession with bug control along the lines of 'agent orange' programs where they fumigate the entire resort with a 'back to the future' golf cart spewing white smoke (petroleum/deet mix)-if you see it coming.. run for your life and cover your face or dinner will taste funny for a few hours.. (generally early morning and dusk times..). For the Wi-fi crowd- this is a NEW service (i.e. 2 months ago) to this entire area.. the service is going to improve however, be prepared for old school dial-up type speeds and hit/miss availability (only from lobby area). Cell phones- Rogers apparently has the service relationship in Cuba..

If you're looking for the best beach/swimming/snorkelling in this island group and want privacy, this is the place! if you're more into ultra luxurious pampering, high end cuisine and the likes then you may want to look at other resorts in the area. Have a great trip!

Room Tip: Grand Village section (14+ adult only) will give you the most privacy and quick access to great beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yukonlangosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear yukonlangosta,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review about Grand Village. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Also we will increase our transportation service as soon as more golf carts arrive. Also I have sent a complaint to the company who provide us the lack of WIFI in order to improve it. We have should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,755 - 1,761 of 5,403 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Trip report for Iberostar Ensenachos (December 30th to January 6th...January 8th):
Booked from dec 30th to jan 6th, but because of a 53 hours delay, return on January 8th.

Flight & transfer:
------------------
I won't go in too much details about flights, else my review would get removed...But we had a 52 hours delay, spent 14 of these hours at the airport (from 2am to 4pm).
We got treated very badly and SunWing REALLY screwed up here and we will never flight back with them. This doesn’t go against the hotel, but people should be aware of how that airline treat its customer.

Now, the real hotel review:

Check-in:
---------
The check in was quick(everything was ready in an envelope) and with friendly staff. But, when we get to the room... it's occupied by others...
We ask the bell boy to help. He call the front desk and tell us we are lucky as we get an upgrade to a 2 story suite, where they will put 2 beds on 1st floor for the kids. Wow! that's cool and good recovery.
The bell boy was already busy unloading a full load of bags, so call another bell boys for us. 2nd bell boy shows up very quickly (about 1 minutes), and brings us to our room.
The room is a regular room, so I ask what happened to the 2 story suite we were told we would get. He tells me, that front desk change their mind and told him to bring us to this room... disappointment...
Note to customer service: NEVER give less than what you tell your customer you will do, you can give more but never less.

Grounds:
--------
The grounds are nicely maintained and have nice pathways to walk around the resort.

Beach:
------
This is the BIG thing for this resort.
The beach is very nice. Nice white soft sand, ideal for sand castle. Very calm see, no waves at all except for 1 very windy day (which was red flagged).
You can see many fishes at the Megano beach, don't even need to snorkel. The water is crystal clear. The Ensenachos beach doesn't have fish, but the sea floor is pure sand, with not rock to be seen.
Some nudity is being practiced on Ensenachos beach, but not on Megano.
Palapas are easy to get, even at 10:30, never had a problem here. And we were here at prime time (new year holiday).

Food:
-----
Food was OK, but very repetitive. But the buffet layout is really to be re-thinked.
The cook to order lines are right in front of the ready to be picked up food plates.
This makes it very hard to see and grab food from the ready to eat plates, and then some think you cutting the lines others don't know where the line starts.
It's clear that the buffet was designed when this resort was adults only and less people were going to the buffet at the same time.
This is where the resort REALLY need to improve, food and buffet setup.

Room:
-----
Room was good. Unfortunately, there is no nice views from the rooms(we got 3 different ones because of the delay(2 for very short time only)).
Bathroom was large and nice. Separate toilet from the rest of the bathroom. Large walk-in closet and enought drawers to store your stuff.
Small safe. If you have a laptop it would not fit, iPad fits, but that's likely the largest thing your can fit in. But, I will never bring my laptop for a vacation.

Pools:
------
The pool in the park section is very nice, and not very deep which is good for the kids.
The adult section pool is nicer and in 2 levels, not sure about dept as we only walked by late when not used (we didn't want to bother spa guest as we were not from that section).
Both pools have a pool bar.

Kids Water Park:
----------------
The kids water park is very well done and very fun for the kids. Another big hit from this resort. 1 large slide where kids can slide 3 at a time if they want. 3 slides that turns of different length and speed, plus 1 tiny shark slide for toddlers.
It also has a mushroom and a palm tree that spills water down all around. All this is very appreciated by the kids.

Check-out:
----------
Tried it 3 times (;-), and was always easy and quick.

Overall experience:
-------------------
We enjoyed our stay at Iberostar Ensenachos.
The beach and kids water park was what brought us here, and these 2 delivered what we expected.
We would have liked more food selection at the buffet and a much better buffet setup.

Iberostar Comparison:
---------------------
This was our 5th visit to an Iberostar resort, with previous visit to Iberostar Varadero, Bavaro and Iberostar Tucan and Quetzal.

We also visited other AIs, but those were mostly adult only (before we had kids), we can't really compare with them.
But I think it's fair to compare the 3 Iberostars to each other, I will make comparison between them (listed in order of quality):

Check in: Ensenachos, Quetzal(2012), Varadero, Tucan(2010), Bavaro
Front desk service: Quetzal(2012), Varadero, Tucan, Ensenachos, Bavaro
Grounds: Tucan/Quetzal, Bavaro, Ensenachos, Varadero
Beach: Ensenachos, Tucan/Quetzal, Bavaro, Varadero
Pool: Bavaro, Quetzal(2012, much warmer then previous visit), Tucan(2010), Ensenachos, Varadero
Kids pool/park: Ensenachos, Bavaro, Varadero, Tucan/Quetzal
Food: Tucan/Queztal, Bavaro, Varadero, Ensenachos
Room: Tucan/Quetzal, Varadero, Bavaro, Ensenachos
Mini-fridge refill (water and beer): Ensenachos, Tucan/Quetzal, Varadero, Bavaro
Room cleaning: Quetzal(2012), Varadero, Ensenachos, Tucan(2010), Bavaro
check out: Ensenachos, Quetzal(2012), Varadero, Tucan(2010), Bavaro
Value for money: Tucan/Quetzal, Varadero, Bavaro, Ensenachos

Overall experience: Tucan/Quetzal, Varadero, Ensenachos, Bavaro

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Joce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Joce 01,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed there for New Years of 2013. Friendly staff overall except for front desk. Unorganized and unfriendly and the WiFi situation is awful. The front desk staff would lie about not having WiFi up and running when it clearly was. We stayed in Block 2500 which is close to adult pool which is nice. However our bathroom sinked leaked onto the floor and was never fixed. Ovetall the beaches are nice and staff at beach are nice. The food is good and the seafood and Italian restaurant were great. This is a very large resort and we walked alot which was great. The rooms are spacious and clean. The gardens are wonderfully kept and a special hello to Jose for working so hard. Pack insect spray cause the flies are everywhere. I came back with tonnes of bug bites. The one HUGE complaint is the Sunwing representative(s) are awful and completely unavailable. Our flight was delay 48 hours and we were kept in the dark about flight updates. The hotel staff accommodated us us anothet nite but but the misinformation from hotel management and Sunwing was terrible.

Room Tip: Pack bug spray and after bite. Insect bites are crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kokonut2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear kokonut2014,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry about the delayed flights that we do not have the controlled of them. We try to do our best to accommodate the best possible and to give the information that sun wing sent us. Also we sent all the complaints to the company who provide us the WIFI service as it is not the one that they offer us when we sign the contract.
If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact our guest relation manager.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Ensenachos over the Christmas break. It was our first time in Cuba, and we truly enjoyed our experience. We had a nice large suite on the second floor in the Spa (adults only) section, which was convenient to the main building and a short walk to Megano Beach.

The pool area was great, plenty of chairs in either sun or shade, swim up bar and snack bar . True, there are some clever Grackles that have realized they can steal french fries easily from the buffet, so if you have issues with that, order food freshly prepared from the servers! The first day it bothered me...by day 4 i was admiring how subtle the birds were at getting a snack.
My favourite at the snack bar was the calamari, and my hubbie liked the spagetti. The fried chicken was also quite tasty, almost KFC-like.

The beach was beautiful white soft powder, with fish just feet offshore. Lots of palapas and chairs. A beach snack bar and satellite drink carts were very convenient. Watch for pelicans catching fish! Take a few cookies or bread to crumble around your feet and you will be swarmed by hundreds of fish about 50 feet offshore in 3 feet of water.

We had reservations at the Seafood restaurant twice, and enjoyed the seafood bisque and the surf and turf. We also opted to pay a small surcharge to have dinner at the Colonial restaurant in the grand villas section. The lobster thermadore was very nice! The steakhouse option was closed for renovation while we were there. We didn't particularly enjoy the buffet. Not that it was bad, and we certainly didn't ever get sick. The food is just very different from what we are used to eating, probably because they don't slather on butter, salt and sugar...we certainly didn't starve either. Really liked the fresh juices and the cuban coffee.

Having read other reviews, and complaints, I believe that the resort is truly trying to address any issues that guests mention specifically. When no fresh beach/pool towels were available for exchange at the clubhouse, housekeeping would drop by the room to see if new ones were needed for the next day. We experienced no problems with musty or mouldy smells, and the state of repair of the resort was fine. Apparently, pools had been temporarily closed recently to replace broken tiles. Our only issue was that several of the front desk people seem to have very limited English, which leads to miscommunication...for instance, we had purchased a wifi card ($5 for one hour access), but couldn't get on the wifi network...when we went to the desk to try to resolve why we couldn't get on with our ipad, the woman said "we have no wifi, only computers in the business center"....ok, so why would they sell us a wifi card if there was no wifi? she was mistaken, there was a wifi network, and the next day different people were able to help us get online...not sure if that was a language problem or lack of knowledge on her part.

Cuban people are sweet, fun, friendly, and have a great sense of humour. They are what made the trip worthwhile. Wish we could have brought them home with us!!!

Room Tip: spa section is adult only, quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear pbursey,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We have passed all the complaint of the WIFI service to the company who provide us the service as it is the worst I have been working with and unfortunately it is the only one in Cuba. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I am rather late in writing this review but better late than never as they say. I am very descriptive as I feel it is important for people that are considering to travel to this location be well informed and the only way for that is for reviews like these from myself and others that have visited this location. My review for the most part will be raving, there are a few things that were less than stellar for a five star but this is Cuba and I realize that. I came for an amazing vacation, beautiful sunshine, beaches, warmth and white sand and I got all of that and more.

I visited this resort in October 2013 for one week on a girls getaway with my sister and adult niece. We stayed in the adults only villa section. Well worth every penny! When we arrived to the airport everything went very smoothly and in no time we were on the bus and on our way to the resort. It is a 90 minute bus ride which is a bit lengthy but the guide on the bus makes it very informative and it gives you time to unwind from the flight. Before we knew it we arrived at the resort, we were the first drop off which was great. When approaching the resort it seemed very grand. We had been to Santa Lucia in Cuba before and it was a trip from hell so we were apprehensive visiting Cuba again but the difference from Santa Lucia to Ensenachos was like night to day.

The check in process was great! We arrived later in the evening probably around 10:30 and there was one other couple that got off the bus with us. It was low season and the resort was not busy at all which in my opinion is way better than going during the high season. You are given more personal attention and there are no lineups and don't have to share the pools and beaches with a lot of other people.

The bellman told us to leave our luggage and gave us a welcome glass of champagne. Then our own personal butler came to pick us up on a golf cart to take us to our villa. The adults only villa section is quite the distance from the main resort, 3 kms to be exact. We arrived to our villa and were very impressed however in the listing for the villa it stated that there would be two Queen beds in the room and there was only one king bed and a cot. Not a huge deal but the listing should have reflected that and they should have known that it was three females going as per our reservations not a couple and a third wheel. We were family so I just shared with my sister and it was all good we were just so happy to be on vacation. The beds are not that comfortable so be prepared. It was only for a week for us though so it was all good. Again, just happy to be there :)

By this time it was just after 11 pm and we had been travelling all day and were starving so we asked Diego who was our butler where we could get something to eat. We were not overly impressed with him as he was trying to rush around so he could get out of our room as fast as possible and he said oh this is not possible everything is closed now. Closed??? This is a 24 hr all inclusive resort right??? And with that he was gone. He did not spend any time really telling us about anything or how we were to get around. He quickly before he left explained about the restaurant that was for the villa patrons only but that it was closed.

So we were left to fend for ourselves. We decided to go for a walk to check things out. Thank goodness we brought flashlights! It was very dark. We found our way to the restaurant and lobby area for the villa section and there was a lady sitting at the desk so we asked her what there was to do around there. She did not speak a word of English. I speak a bit of Spanish but definitely am not fluent. So I asked her for the butler, she said he was gone home. I asked her how do we get to the main resort? She had to call for someone to come and pick us up on a golf cart. Finally someone came to pick us up and took us up to the main resort. That is where all of the action is. There is NOTHING that goes on after the restaurant closes in the villa section. If you're looking for entertainment over there you have to make your own or hitch a ride up to the main resort. We were very ok with that but some others may not. Some times it was a bit of a pain to try to find someone to take us back and forth on the golf carts...they seem to have issues with batteries being charged but we always managed to find a ride and had a lot of fun.

Once we got to the main resort that first night we took a walk around the lobby to check things out and found the buffet. The buffet was still open, I was right it is a 24 hr all inclusive! Although because it was low season they did not have much of a selection for that time of the night however they offered to make us fresh sandwiches and French fries which was awesome. So the butler Diego got a big strike that night for not directing us to the buffet but rather passing us off to be on his way. I understand that they work their butts off and I understand that their days are extremely long and if I were him I probably would have wanted to get going as fast as I could also however for the extra two minutes that it would have taken him to give us the proper information knowing that we had travelled all day and specifically asked questions that he did not provide us answers to would have led to a larger and many more tips however instead it left us with a dislike for him for the rest of the week when we had to deal with him again.

The rest of the week we learned as we went and had an awesome and amazing time. Ensenachos Beach at the villa section is beyond amazing. The restaurant at the villa section was so delicious and the staff were so wonderful. The food selection did change and they did offer room service albeit a different menu until 11 pm. All of the ladies in the restaurant there were fantastic and made our stay all the more pleasant. The pool and hot tub at the villa section were great and for the most part we had it all to ourselves. The drinks were yummy and there was a great selection of them. The bartenders that we had for the week there were terrific. Special thanks to Barbaro and Yosmel. Those guys can make some mean drinks! Very personable and friendly and they made you feel like you were family. After spending some time with them any time after when we would see them we would always get a big smile, hug and kiss on the cheeks. In the villa section there is no shortage of iguanas walking around which was a bit worrisome at first but once we discovered they were harmless it was ok. The grounds are nothing short of gorgeous. The gardeners do an impeccable job of keeping everything looking spectacular.

For the most part we hung out during the day in the villa section then in the evening we would go to the main resort for the action. We had our own personal hot tub at our villa but we only used it once and found that it wasn't all that great. Its small, meant for two people and it wasn't very hot so when we wanted to use a hot tub we just went to the pool area and went in the large hot tub there. We did find that our room had these tiny little bugs and they seemed to be attracted to everything. I didn't get bitten and I didn't see any in the bed but they seemed to be everywhere else. I brought this to the attention of butler Diego and his response was well it is Cuba. I mentioned it again to our butler Marshall (great butler!!!) the next day and he said they would send someone to spray but I don't think this happened because we still had them the rest of the time we were there. Along with a couple of gheckos in our villa but they are more scared of you than you are of them. They were pretty neat looking. We did have another butler that was really good but we only had him once and I forget his name. For the first few days we didn't have hot water which was a pain but to be expected of Cuba but the hotel was great and they gave us all a free massage voucher at the spa plus a bottle of premium rum. I thought that was a very kind thing and they had our hot water fixed quite quickly so that was nice.

We tried a couple of the a la cartes. One thing when you are booked in the villa section is that your butler books all of your a la cartes for you however we were not told this. We discovered half way through our trip that we had bookings and ended up going to only two of the a la carte restaurants. The Italian and International. They were both very good however a bit smaller portions so we found that we were still hungry leaving and hit up the buffet afterwards. The buffet was amazing! The quality and taste of the food every time we went was phenominal. Magdiel our server was amazing and we became friends instantly! He was always so attentive and looked after us all week at the buffet. I can't wait to go back and see him and the other friends that we made. The buffet always a large selection and it didn't matter if you went for breakfast, lunch or dinner it was always great. At breakfast there was an omelette station for fresh eggs any way you wanted, dinner there was always a fresh pasta station or grilled something or other freshly made in front of you exactly how you wanted it. I was more than impressed with the food as our last trip to Cuba the food was horrible so we weren't too sure what to expect in coming here. Very pleased to say the least.

Service all the way around be it in the villa section or the main section of the resort was always excellent. You were never left without a drink for long and someone was always coming around asking how everything was and if we were ok. After getting to know some of the staff we started to find out more about the resort and how to get around to places off the resort. There is a double decker bus that comes around every hour and for 1 peso you can ride on it and it goes by all the other resorts as well as goes to the market called Pueblo das Estrellas. There you can find all of your souvenirs and there are a couple of restaurants, a cigar bar and that's about it. Oddly enough it is at another resort but none the less it was a very neat place to go off the resort.

We had booked an excursion for a catamaran cruise with lunch and a visit to the Dolphinarium. We had to get up very early in the morning as it was a full day excursion. The bus to pick us up was over an hour late and then they drove us out to the marina only to have the people come on the bus and tell us that the excursion was cancelled because the ocean was too rough. I can respect that they cancelled the excursion but was it really necessary to have to make all the people go through that, could they not have called the tour company who in turn could have contacted the reps at the resorts so they could have told the people waiting in the lobbies for the bus that was an hour late anyways that the tour was cancelled? That was a bit unnerving but oh well. So they brought us back to the hotel and we had the option to reschedule for the next day or get our money back. We opted to get our money back and go to the Dolphinarium on our own as it was next door to our resort. My niece wanted to swim with the dolphins. We were very impressed with the Dolphinarium and would recommend that to anyone who is interested in swimming with or seeing the dolphins in Cuba.

We didn't really check out the live shows much. We went a couple of times and stayed for a little bit but we find that those shows are quite repetitive and it would have been nice if there was maybe some different type of entertainment other than just dancing. Not saying that if you like that sort of thing it wasn't good because it was it just wasn't our thing.

There apparently is a beach party on Saturday nights that we had no idea about and it would have been nice if someone had told us about it at some point so we missed that but I'm sure it would have been a blast. We did go and check out Megano beach as one of our favorite bartenders worked there, Yosmel, and found that the beach there is really calm and beautiful, I still preferred Ensenachos beach but Yosmel made Megano beach worth visiting!!

There are different characters walking around the lobby and sometimes coming in to the buffet area that are dressed up or do magic tricks for you etc. they are looking for tips but they deserve them because they are quite comical and do a great job. Aside from that we didn't find that there was too much in the way of activity at the resort but I don't know if that's because we were poorly informed and just didn't know about it or because there actually wasn't much in the way of activity. None the less it would not deter me from visiting again because I enjoyed myself thoroughly and had a fantastic time.

I'm sure that I'm probably forgetting some things but I think that I have written enough and nothing short of a short novel already :) Basically, even with the few complaints I would not give going to this resort another thought, I would go in a heartbeat! The staff that I mentioned all make it worth the while and would be my reason for returning. I think that I will make it my yearly October trip as the resort was not busy and I loved having the attentiveness of the majority of the staff and the amenities mostly to ourselves. I would recommend this resort to anyone that was thinking about going. Any time you go to a poor country which comprises of the majority of the Caribbean you need to remember where you are going and that you are not in your home country. The food will be different, the accommodations will be different, the people will be different but that is what you sign up for when you decide to book your holiday in the sun. If everyone would just remember that and go on their vacation with an open mind you would have an amazing vacation no matter where it was. If you want all the luxuries, comforts and foods from home, stay home because then you won't be disappointed. :) If you have an open mind, love the sun, beach and beautiful people then come to Iberostar Ensenachos, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank terryzgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear terryzgal,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Village Iberostar Ensenachos for your so valuable vacations. Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff. Just as highlight I want to let know that all our GV one bedroom have only a king bed therefore when are coming not couples guests we have to add an extra bed. Also the restaurant at the GV close at 11 pm but our main buffet restaurant we do have the snack from 11 pm till 4. 30 am for our late arrivals, however I will check with Diego why he did not gave you all the information and the way that he behaved.
Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed our trip. The staff was amazing. Thank you to Angel and Alberto at the pool in the spa section.
We had an issue with the air conditioner in our room when we arrived and we were moved to another room immediately.
Overall it was a great vacation. Beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: Spa section - rooms 2222 or 2302 are great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbodine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear jbodine50,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I stayed here from 12/25 to 1/1. It's a 90 minute bus ride to and from airport. We had a good time because the weather was good and the beach is beautiful. We went on the catamaran and pedal boats and did some snorkelling ( bring your own gear). My biggest complaint was the food, but I knew going to Cuba that the food would be average at best. We only went to one show and it was excellent - the Michael Jackson show. The New Year's Eve festivities did not include fireworks! We mostly ate at the main buffet restaurant. We tried the seafood restaurant once and it was awful. Getting fresh beach towels every day and even bathroom towels was a difficult task. The people are very nice. Would I go back to this resort? The answer is no.

Room Tip: Go for weather and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wiseguy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Wiseguy15,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to express your opinions and thank you for letting us know. Our clients’ comments are very important to us and we sincerely value them. They will assist us in better serving our guests in the future. I will make sure that these comments get all the departments at the resort. However I will like to make a highlight ion regards the fireworks as we never advertised, as they are not allowed in the country.
We apologize for all your inconveniences and we appreciate all your comments. We do hope to have you again among us, to provide you the service you deserve.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range: $192 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing