We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Cuba, very pleased with the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time for me and the whole family to Cuba and we were not disappointed with the Iberostar Ensenachos.

Gorgeous place, first impression with the entrance and lobby is amazing. Check in was fast and the people behind the counter were very nice despite our arrival hour.

Rooms were fantastic, size was perfect for our family of four (roomy) and very clean.

We had a room in the family area of the resort. Everything was near, 5 minutes walk maximum to reach all the destinations : beach, pools, lobby and restaurants. There is a lot of animation in this area. They keep the kids occupied and there's also contests for the parents.

There is 2 beaches you have access to : Playa Megano and Playa Ensenachos. If you are looking for a DREAM BEACH, flour-like sand, PEACE AND QUIET, post-card aqua-blue water, the Ensenachos beach is for you.

Staff is very discreet and nice. No one to harass you on the beach. They're always happy to see you and greet you with a smile.

Food was good and the selection changed every day. The a-la-carte restaurants were delicious and not crowded, best of both world.

I would definitely recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Martin M,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,398)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Ensenachos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 5,398 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort is absolutley beautiful. The property is extremly lush with breathtaking pools surrounded with full, green lush tropical vegitation and palms. There are 2 beautiful beaches: Playa Ensenachos and Playa Meganos that are BREATHTAKING.

THE SERVICE:
Amazing staff everywhere you go. They are always looking after you, very kind hearted and amazing people. AT ENSENACHOS BEACH BAR: YULE and her student NELSON are the most amazing people. I fell in love with them and they treat you like close family. They are the most sweet and most beautiful people i had ever met.

We never had to wait for anything weather it was food, drinks, or service anywhere on this property.

PS: YULE AT THE ENSENACHOS BEACH BAR IS THE BEST BARTENDER IN ALL THE CARRIBEAN.

ALL ALCOHOL IS ALWAYS FROM THE BOTTLE

THE PROPERTY AND BEACHES:
When we arrived it was during low season and it felt like we were on a private island with private service. Always a palapa available in any area of the property all day long. ENSENACHOS BEACH is so quiet during the day with only a few people on the long stretch of BEAUTIFUL clear waters as far as u can see. It is quiet and peacful. MEGANOS BEACH is where the snack bar and entertainment is but you will still always find a palapa in a quiet spot on that beach as well. THE POOLS ARE BREATHTAKING ASWELL.

ROOMS: are clean and very spacious with large areas And patio.

FOOD: EXCELLENT

OVERALL: THIS PROPERTY IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY IN ALL THE CARRIBEAN AND MEXICAN PROPERTIES I HAVE BEEN. DO NOT LISTEN TO NEGATIVE REVIEWS AS THE PROPERTY, BEACHES AND MOST OF ALL THE CUBAN CULTURE AND PEOPLE WILL TAKE YOUR BREATH AWAY.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JustinLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Nancy AD,

On behalf of all our staff at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are glad to know that we were able to make your days with us wonderful and that you had a good mememory on behlaf your 30th anniversary among us. We hope we can welcome you back in the future, I am sure we will meet again.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just a quick shout to all the wonderful staff who made our holiday one to remember, there are loads to mention but special thanks to Andy and Junior - entertainment, Renne - lunchtime waiter at the pool bar restaurant, Elexi - seafood restaurant, Aramis - Buffy waiter - not to mention Andy Williams who makes the best cup of coffee I have had - Night buffet and many more apologise If I have forgot you.
The beaches at this hotel are out of this world, especially the Ensenachos, Food was great and there was plenty of choice for all tastes. Hotel room was ample for the three of us and always kept spotless by our cleaner. We have no complaints about this hotel and would strongly recommend it for a relaxing holiday. Great people make great holidays.
Mick, Yvonne and Lydia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsterdamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Amsterdamers,

On behalf of the staff I want to thank you for giving us your comments about your experience at Iberostar Ensenachos. We are pleased to have given to you a great holiday and encourage us to keep improving our services. We will congratulate all the staff that you have mentioned for helping you to make your holiday special. We hope to offer you again our hospitality whenever you decide.

Regards,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is fantastic: we spent a splendid week!

STAFF
The staff are excellent, always in a good mood, always friendly, and for this reason we gave good tips as thanks.

ROOMS
The rooms are roomy, clean and very well decorated in a pleasant environment with lots of vegetation around.

FOOD
Many options of restaurant, the main buffet always varied and with a delicious food. The a la carte restaurants (we went to three) have good options and exellent food. Also we ate at the buffet Megano beach which was also great.

BAR
Many options of bars in the two pools and the lobby bar was amazing. During the evenings there was always a musician playing at the lobby bar.

ENTERTAINMENT
SENSATIONAL daily shows are presented in the theater at night, so we do not lose one single day. The dancers and costumes made it a perfect presentation.

BEACH
Two spectacular beaches, Megano and Ensenachos, both of them were never crowded in our stay (Sept. 21 to 28 of 2013).

We only suggest three small things:

- fix the beach shower at Megano beach near block 42 access;
- the hotel can offer cold coconut water at the bars and at the beach;
- fix the lamps in the ways from lobby to blocks, some nights it was soo dark to get to our room.

In summary, we passed one of the best vacation and for sure next year we'll be back in Cayo Ensenachos.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FFrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear FFrare,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Ensenachos for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

First time on Cuba visited between 8th - 22nd September 2013 with my wife and we loved every minute. The hotel is big and beautiful and staff can't do enough for you!
We arrived and check-in was very quick and efficient. Staff took us on golf cart straight to our room. Hotel grounds are huge and very well maintained, the gardeners work very hard and do an amazing job.
Buffet was nice with good selection of food with fresh pizza's and meats... it can get repeatative but we never went hungry. Staff in buffet Yunior especially can't do enough for you.
The International a la cart resturant was lovely beside the pool but our favourite was the Seafood resturant. Highly recommended.
We visited the Gourmet resturant at the Grand Villas for 25cuc extra per person but didnt think the extra cost was worth it as the Seaford resturant was better quality.
The Entertainment team were excellent Rafael, Andy and Junior keeping us entertained in the afternoons by the pool.
We visited the Spa and were impressed with the service, so relaxing and nice way to wind down after day in the sun!
The two main selling points to the hotel are the two stunning beaches! Ive been to many countries and these beaches are by far the nicest i have ever seen. Magano beach is more lively with music and games but Ensenachos Beach is perfect for relaxsation. Photos don't do it justice!
We had one problem whilst there with the lock on our room door breaking and were unable to get into our room for a number of hours but when resolved we recieved a personalised letter from the General Manager Brenda apologising for our experience and gave us a free massage at the Spa. Excellent customer service.
We meet some amazing people and had an amazing time. I would highly recommend this hotel and we would definately return!
Tip: Bring a small torch as pathways at night can be quite dark and also good for looking at the hundreds of crabs.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MconorL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear MconosL,.

On behalf of Iberostar Ensenachos we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your vacation also we will forward your review to our animation staff that you have mentioned they will feel proud to read their names and knowing that they helped to make your vacations better.Once again I do apologize about the lock problme in the room. If we can be of any further assistance please contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Cordially,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Clear water and white sand beaches that go for miles.Good food, great friendly staff and nice spacious rooms that are clean. Went with a couple that was returning for a second time. We were four couples that all enjoyed our relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadatravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Canadiantravelbugs,

Thank you very much for this nice review. I will pass your words to all my staff. Yes, we have a lot of changes as you mentioned and it is an ongoing process that will never stop. We are glad that you had a good time and let me tell you that whenever you decide to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just came back from a week at Iberostar Ensenachos. Out 3rd time there.

We saw a lot of familiar faces at the resort and we were happy to talk to them.

Flight: WestJet, duration 3hrs and 29 min. No complimentary meal, but some cookies and water, juice, coffee.

Arrived at the resort by 4 p.m. we were greeted by a smiley faces, glass of champagne and quickly sent to our rooms.

Resort: well, on the outside it needs and uplift and a coat of paint. On the inside – rooms are better but the quality of inside and luxurity of them has slipped since our fist time there in 2009 under Royal Hideway name. Still better than most resorts in Cuba.

Ground: Spectacular. Lots of lushy greens, hard working gardners like Lito, Celtso, Albert are taking care of things. Please bring them some cold soft drinks.

Food: a hotly debated topic. O.K. some of the food stations were closed due to the low season at the moment, at the remaining the food choice was limited but tastier than the last time. I am neutral on the food this time, was more positive last time.
Do not get me wrong – you will not go hungry, there always something to eat.

Staff: hard working, especially … well, everywhere. This is the reason we go to Cuba, the people. These hard-working people bring the repeated guests, not the management.
They have to be remunerated better.

Entertainment: not as good as the last time. We recognized a lot of the animation team’s dancers.
Very talented young people, but the choreography and the choice of the music, songs, dances leaves a lot to be desired for. This can be fixed easily with better choreography.

Beaches: this is the strength of this resort. Both Megano and Ensenachos beaches are outstanding. Megano beach is livelier. Ensenachos is unmatched. Outstanding.

Excursion: we went to the “Speed boat” excursion. 3 hrs duration, cost 32 C.U.C. per person. Bus ride for 10 min to the marina, hop on the speed boat for 45 min, then snorkelling for another 45 min. Back to the resort by 12:30 p.m. Good trip.

Weather: 7 days nothing but blue skies, temps 32 to 35 Celsius. Not a drop of rain.
By the way all the internet weather sites were predicting thunder storms and heavy rain for at least 6 days. They should close their web sites down because of the sheer misinformation about the weather forecast.

Go there and enjoy it.

Iberostar Ensenachos is still an excellent resort.

Vacation is what you make out of it. We had a very good time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jabatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear jabatama,

All the staff and Management team at Iberostar Ensenachos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy our services, specially the staff and the beach. I will forward your review to opur Executive Cheff and he will take you comments into consideration. We hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Best regards,

Brenda Correa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,615 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,665 reviews
2.1 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range: $162 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing