We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were first time visitors to Cuba and to the Iberostar Ensenachos. May wife and I, along with 50+ guests, went there for our sons wedding. The location, food, rooms, staff and weather were all perfect. We had been advised not to go to Cuba and expect outstanding food but to our delight, the food and selection was superb. The staff, in all areas of the resort, were excellent, helpful and very courteous. Although we had hoped to stay in the Spa area of the resort, we end up in the Park Suites and couldn't have been happier. The room was large, clean, well maintained and close to all major areas of the resort. The entertainment in the evenings was superb. On our first night at the resort we tried out the newly opened cigar bar and returned each night thereafter. The main entrance way was a wonderful place to meet and greet those you knew and those you didn't. The feeling of the resort was one of relaxation and enjoyment and the staff made every moment special.
The beach - best I have ever seen; end of story.
Now I did say we all went there to participate in and attend our sons wedding. The overall location is superb. Our son and now daughter-in-law selected the gazebo by the sea-food restaurant as the wedding location and where the reception and dinner was held. Both outstanding choices. If you are considering having a wedding at the Iberostar, realize that although a resort coordinator may be assigned to you, be ready to do everything yourself / on your own. We were provided very little support by the coordinator even though promised full dedication. We found that it would have been better not to have a coordinator and therefore not to have to incur the frustrations and disappointment.
This being said, the wedding was wonderful, the staff at the restaurant were super, the meal was really great and everyone had a superb time before, during and after the wedding. Now that we are back home, we are having withdrawal issues and long for the beach, the food and the staff at the Iberostar Ensenachos. We highly recommend this resort. The bar has been set very high by this resort and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vance_millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Vance_Millar,

All the staff and Management team at Iberostar Ensenachos wants to thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us and other readers. We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy our services. I will forward your review to our Sales Department; they will take you comments about our wedding cordinator into consideration. We hope we can welcome you back again some day.

Best regards,

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    1,719
    692
    274
    128
See reviews for
1,467
2,675
81
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner and I elected to write this review to share our experience with other people who may be thinking about purchasing a package with this particular resort, as we wished we had been informed of the gross misrepresentation of this resort being a `5 star` hotel. We stayed at this resort over the 2012-2013 Dec-Jan holiday season. We encountered problems from day one namely:
1. Check in at the hotel was disorganized and we were shuffled into a room without any direction or assistance from staff, nor were we allowed to check into our rooms or store our luggage while waiting until 3:00pm
2. Upon entering in our room, we noticed how dirty it was (i.e. stains on towels and bathrobes), holes in the sheets and stains on pillow covers. We encountered problems with the airconditioner not working, not being able to open the backdoor to the balcony, the shower head constantly falling, and the key cards persistently failing to work to let us into our room (thus having to work a long distance to get help back at the lobby)
3. Food: going in with an understanding that the food is not outstanding in Cuba, and having been to other Cuban resorts - this particular resort, handsdown, was horrendous for the food. Poor quality, no refills when buffet items were emptied by customers, speciality restaurant menu items were not often available (i.e. Italian restaurant we were limited to penne noodles and red, white or rose sauce only-when we ordered this only option it came undercooked). Very little options, and speciality restaurants simply presented the same food found at the buffet but in different presentation. Very little seasoning or savory for food lovers, and desserts were exceptionally bland.
4. Lack of staff washing their hands with SOAP-this was observed at the buffet-often times staff would simply run the water over their hands-very unsanitary as well as the SPA did not contain filled soap dispensers and I had to carry my anti bacterial hand cleanser with me at all times. The staff near the pool even asked us on one occasion to bring back our coffee cups from our room because they did not have enough cups to give to others. When we did this (to our shock), we witnessed the staff simply rinsing out the cups under the tap-again NO SOAP USED.
*This is particularly concerning given the spread of viruses on resorts therefore I would not recommend this to anyone who believes in the principle of sanitary practices as it relates to health and food.
5. When the bed sheets were placed on the bed, they consistently contained dirt in them (as though they hadn`t been washed) and the mattress had springs that could be felt digging into your back while sleeping.

The only positive thing worth mentioning is the beach as well as the pleasant disposition of the some of the grounds staff (not so much the front staff at the lobby). However, my partner and I would not return to this resort simply for the beach as we feel that part of experiencing a great vacation at a so called 5 star resort is to feel at a minimum, the surrounding which you are living in during that period of time are clean, hygenic and that the food is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Peter K,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to express your opinions and thank you for letting us know. Our clients’ comments are very important to us and we sincerely value them. We apologize for all your inconveniences and we appreciate all your comments, because allow us to improve our services and we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. But I will like to highllight some point as the chceki n time it is 3 pm as check out is noon that it is estipuloated in teh contract with te tour operators, if we have availability we always try to accomodate our clients as soon they arrive but not always is like that. As perthe lck of sopa I will have to supervised that issue as it is very important. Laundry is an external service and unfortunantely was broken per 2 days of cosrse we try as hard as possible to not affect our costumers in house, also we have reported to that company the way that are giving us the linnens and towels as we have them in leasing and they are taking care of this.
We hope to have you again among us, to provide you the service you deserve.

With my best,

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went for a week at the end of February. The staff said the resort was at full capacity, but we happily found it to be really quiet all week. We stayed in the adults-only section, which we found worth the extra $. Spent most of the week at the Ensenachos beach since it was quieter, very few kids around (compared to Megano beach), and overall more beautiful. In terms of food, we went with low expectations based on various comments about Cuba food, and we were pleasantly surprised. We're relatively picky eaters and found good food all week; the buffet food didn't change a lot, but was decent quality and good options (other than not having butter the entire week). The catamaran excursion was good in terms of afternoon snorkeling, but the first stop at the small island was pointless, and the 3-hour stop at the dolphinarium was not worth the time/money (especially since you can swim with a wild dolphin in the afternoon snorkel). We also paid a few dollars to have one of the nautical center staff take us out on the mini-catamaran for a while and did some snorkeling on our own. The only downsides of the entire week were the poor service of the front desk staff, the long lines at the currency exchange (and they only exchange cash), and the lack of towel exchange every day. One other frustration was the Air Canada Vacations rep, who was rarely available (compared to the other reps), and tried to convince us to take the "VIP" lounge package at the Santa Clara airport, saying it was the only place at the airport to get food during our departure day. This was a lie, as the airport has a cafeteria and duty free with food in the departure terminal.
Overall a gorgeous resort; this was our first time to Cuba and had the nicest beaches & water we've seen from our trips (Mexico, DR). The buffet/restaurant/bar/groundskeeper staff were excellent. Our room was clean, spacious, and had water pressure & hot water all week (unlike horror stories we heard about the Husa that week). Good snorkeling right in front of the resort. Also great pool in the adults section. Normally we don't use the resort pools but couldn't pass this one up :)
Highly recommended resort for those who want a peaceful vacation with perfect beaches.

Room Tip: If you're not visiting with kids, and you want a quiet stay, book in the adults-only section (ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gmckendr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear gmckendr,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home.however we will going to work out in the customer service at the front desk, as there are other factors that run out of our hands as the laundry that provide us the service was broken per 2 full days and ouf course the butter that we can not controlled it. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the resort (Villas) Feb 28th to Mar 7th. This was our 4th visit in 5 years. In those 4 trips we have stayed in what is now the Park Suites, the Spa section and twice at the Villas. The first 2 trips were under the Royal Hideaway banner and the last 2 Iberostar. Last year I submitted a review noting a few shortfalls which I am happy to say have been addressed. One was the shortage of carts for transporting guests to and from their rooms, ala cartes and the villas and the other being the snack bar at Megano not being open.

Before listing the pros and cons of our latest visit I would like to say that both my wife and I are low maintenance and never sweat the small stuff - we travel with the intent of enjoying our break from winter not for the purpose of finding fault or nitpicking every minor problem.

Pros:
staff - one thing that has not changed in all our visits here is the quality of the staff. Without exception all of the staff we met, maids, waiters and waitresses, gardeners, front desk, butlers, bellhops etc. were friendly and genuinely welcoming. We have never felt pressured to tip to receive good service and when we did (which was often) it was truly appreciated. A special thanks to our butlers Diego and Marichal and to Tony from the animation team.

buffet - both my wife and I enjoy going to the buffet as it allows to pick and choose what we want rather than ordering from a fixed menu. We found with this trip that the salad selection had improved immensely with a great variety of items to select from. We also found that the dinner selections were more varied than in previous trips with choices ranging from lobster, fish, suckling pig,beef, chicken and pork, mixed vegetables, potatoes, rice etc.

beaches - still as great as ever and the Megano grill serves the best chicken and pizza at the resort

entertainment - we found that the quality of the nightly shows and entertainment in the lobby to be greatly improved from our earlier trips - well worth going to see

atmosphere - even tho the resort now welcomes families we in no way found this to detract from the charm of this resort, sure there were young kids running around in the lobby but we never encountered any problems with ill behaved children during either meals, at the beach or relaxing in the lobby in the evenings.Still as peaceful and relaxing as ever.

Cons:

palapas/lounge chairs: I know the resort suffered significant losses of palapas from the hurricane there are way too few available and even insufficient numbers of lounges which was a first for us. During the week we were there we did not see any attempts at increasing those numbers. While I can appreciate that the lounges in all probability have to be imported the palapas are all made from local materials which raises the question as why there are shortages.

ala cartes - we ate at the steakhouse, international, seafood and colonial at the Villas. With the exception of the international we found the food to be inferior to the buffet especially when compared to what we had received in prior visits. In fact we had to send our soup back at the colonial as it was cold and the entrees small to the point that we ended up at the buffet to get our fill. I obviously have to qualify my comments here in that what we were served at the ala cartes does not in anyway imply that it was the same every night as we heard from others we met while there who thoroughly enjoyed their meals.

Villas - while the villas are still quite spacious and well appointed there are some issues that need to be addressed.
maid service - although we were delighted to find a different "towel art" creation every day in our room (none the previous year) it appeared that no attempt was made to clean or even sweep the floors. By way of example one of the bathrooms had a dead moth and other bugs on the floor in plain view when we first checked in. They never changed position during our entire stay. A minor thing to be sure but still not really acceptable. For what its worth coming back from breakfast the maids were just entering our friends villa so they came to ours for a brief visit returning back to theirs less than 15mins later to find that the maids had departed.

appliances/equipment - there are no longer any coffee makers in the villas which was somewhat annoying but again not a great issue - we used room service. In our villa the microwave did not work and at our friends they did not have a remote to control the AC until day 4 of their stay, the hotub on their back deck was drained of water and inoperable and there was no umbrella in the room which became an issue on the one day we had rain. All of these concerns were conveyed to the butlers at the earliest opportunity however with the exception of the remote were not addressed apart from apologies.

safety hazards - the elevated walkway leading to the beach at the villas no longer has stairs at the end and as such there is about a 2' drop to actually set foot on the beach. While not an issue for us I was concerned about the potential hazard this could be for those with mobility problems or at times of darkness. I also noted that around the pool there were 4 spots where pieces of rebar were sticking up about 1 inch. Given the dim lighting in this area in the evening one could easily trip and injure oneself if not careful. For the sake of a few hours and little cost to reinstall stairs and cutoff the protruding rebar I have to wonder why these things are tolerated by the resort operators.

Odours - both our villa bathroom and our friends had strong septic odours which were exceptionally strong if the door was closed for any length of time. Similarly the smell in the men's bathroom beside the theatre was so overwhelming as to render it unusable.

Conclusion - while I am sure that some will take exception with this review and disagree with the observations I have noted this is just one person's opinion based upon what was observed and experienced during a 1 week stay at the resort. Would I discourage anyone from traveling to the Iberostar? - not at all - between the beaches, staff, entertainment and food there is a lot to recommend however with the issues that were encountered during our stay I cant help but feel that the resort is gradually falling into disrepair. I hope that I am proven wrong and look forward to reading upcoming reviews to show just that very thing - I was wrong and it is well worth coming back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank danpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Dan Paul,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. I will check what happened with the cleaning and the amenities missing during your vacations. Yes, at the Villas pool we have a problem of tiles that are broken and we are going to fixed them as soon as we the season finished as we have to closed the pool per somedays so we do not want to affect our guests.We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were there from Feb 28 to Mar 7. We loved this resort. The grounds were very nice, lush plants and well kept walkways. The golf carts were a little bit of a pain as they are always coming and going and you have to move off to the side to avoid them. We walked everywhere we went .A flashlight is a necessity until you know your way around.
If you want a palapa you have to get up at the break of dawn to get a spot although the resort was almost full,so probably not always a problem. This seems to be true no matter where we go.There was a shortage of shade at the beach.Plenty of shade at the pools. The pool area at the park section was so busy and loud. There were kids everywhere. We ventured to the pool at the spa section for our 2nd pool day and it was so quiet you almost wanted to whisper. What a difference..
The entertainment in the lobby and at the auditorium was very professional. A+ for that.
The staff were excellent, each and every one of them. Every gardener, maid,star friend,waiter,waitress,desk staff. They all smiled and were helpful for everything you asked for. The waiters and waitresses on the beach were fantastic. My drink was always refreshed before it was even gone they were back to offer you another one.. I didn't have to leave my chair at all if I didn't want to. The wait staff in the lobby during the evening were also excellent.. I recommend trying a spanish coffee.

The ala cartes were very good as well as the buffet. The cooking stations were very busy around 7 o clock but if you went a little before or after it was not so long a line. There was plenty of variety and I think it was the best food we've had in Cuba. There was no butter or white wine when we arrived. there was still no butter when we left although the wine did arrive the 2nd day we were there. I did take peanut butter and ketchup with me as I did expect not to have these condiments as there has never seemed to be any anywhere we go in Cuba.. I did miss butter on my bread..not a deal breaker, we always expect a few inconvienences.

It was very nice to not have any people pressuring you to buy anything. Not one person approached us on the beach or on the resort grounds. This is the first place in any country that we have not had to deal with pushy salespeople. A+ for that..

I most definitely recommend the VIP lounge at the airport.. What a treat, Comfortable couches and drinks and food served to you.. They escort you out to the door and the front of the line when time to board your plane.. VIP is in our future now that we have experienced it..

We would definitely return here again for a nice stress free vacation.. A word of caution, if you are looking to do activities outside of the resort there is not really much available to do in the area... The dolphinarium is about it.

I emailed a week before we left with my room request which was met to exactly what I requested. I also booked my ala cartes by email which was very convienient. If you do this you still have to go to guest services to get the slip of paper you need to present at the restaurant. By doing it this way I got exactly the a la cartes I wanted at the time I wanted.


We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NovaScotiaJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear NovaScotiaJellybeans,



First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Ensenachos for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully


Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We where there from Feb 27 to March 6!! Realy nice hotel big lobby great staff, food was good but the a la carte restaurant (Italian) was bad even the service!! Beach was awesome staff there are all great, Yosmel, Angel(1) and Angel(2) Raoul where all super nice guys!! At night in the lobby they have great live music. The only negative thing about this resort is the water sport area is too far and no one is there most of the time!! They should be on the beach(megano or Ensenachos). Pools where nice staff where great what can I say more!! Thank you for a great time we miss you guys already!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pier69sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear PierSun69,

On behalf of the staff I want to thank you for giving us your comments about your experience at Iberostar Ensenachos. We are pleased to have given to you a great holiday and encourage us to keep improving our services and of course I will keep an eye on the staff of teh aquatic sports. We will congratulate Yosmel, Angel 1 + 2 and Raul, for helping you to make your holiday special. We hope to offer you again our hospitality whenever you decide.

With all my best,

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Travelled to Ensenachos week of Feb 22 - Mar 1 2013. Booked through West Jet out of Toronto, as always a pleasure. Joel our Rep was fanastic!
This was our second trip to Cuba, having stayed at Playa Pesquaro in Holguin 2 years ago. (which I loved and almost returned to)

Prior to arriving I had emailed Brenda the manager, requesting room location and a cot for our 7 year old. She answered me promptly and all my requests were made :) Thanks Brenda!!!

The trip from the airport was nice....good scenery. You could buy beer at the airport, bathroom on the bus :) Trip took about hour and half.

Arrived at hotel, taken to a room where we were given Champagne and a form to fill out. Once filled, we were given an envelope with room assignment and keys. I have to say this was the most efficiant way of checking in I have ever experienced, anywhere!!! Took about 10 - 15 mins tops!!! Excellent!

The grounds are very beautiful and lush. Very well manicured! Kudos to the ground staff.....try and tip these gents, as I am sure they are over looked. They always have a smile for you.
You will notice a smell that to me was constant. I think the fact the this resort is built on swamp land is the culprit. Some days it smelled like sewage.....I got past it.

We stayed in bungalow 39 in room 3923. Now it says noone has an ocean view....well I looked over the balcony to my right and there is Megano Beach with ocean view!!! Awesome :)
Rooms were very nice for Cuban standards. Large, bright and clean. We had clean towels everyday, fridge restocked with beer and water daily. *WARNING* If you have small children don't let them start the shower themselves....the taps are very toucy and that hot water is HOT!!
Our maid Meylaina (hope I spelled that right), was very nice.

As said before this resort is very large! With small children be aware of all the walking. Bring your stroller if you have one. I have a seven year old and after walking to the buffet 3 times a day she got a bit tired of it. There are golf carts that will go by periodically so you can hitch a ride.

**NOTE About the golf carts*** They share the same narrow walking path. They can be driving a little too fast. We were actually on a golf cart when the driver ran over a guys foot!!! Actually he stopped on the guys foot. He was screaming and yelling. My husband got off and lifted the cart over. (to the older couple who just sat there and didn't move off the cart or get off at all to assit, shame on you!!!) My husband ran to get ice and had issue with getting it from the pool bar. I think the guy was okay, we saw him the next day. So from that day on whenever a cart came by we would say "Watch your toes!!!"

The beaches - Are very nice...think Wasaga Beach ,(for you from Onatrio), of the Caribbean. Long white sandy beach very shallow. The snorkelling was just okay. Nothing really to see at Ensenachos beach other than the odd star fish. Megano Beach had better snorkelling off the the left. If snorkelling is a big part of your vacay then this is not the place for you.
If you want a shade spot you have to get up earlier than 6am. There are no Palm trees so you need a palapya. LOL I went down one morning at 6:15 thinking for sure I would get one this day! Nope, all gone. Instead I grab the only spot I could find with possible shade.....inbetween piles of seaweed and debris left over from Hurricane Sandy.

The Pool - We only went to the family pool. It was fantastic! The water park for the kids is great. Water was warm lots of kids which was good for my only child to make friends. (this is where she wanted to be the whole trip) The pool bar was awesome, staff friendly and quick. Give them a tip and they will keep the drinks coming!!

The Food - Bring your own ketchup if you and the kiddies like. We did and had several requests to borrow! I am sure ppl would have paid for it! LOL We also brought peanut butter.
As said in previous posts there was no butter for the week we were there, which is really not a big deal.
I myself didn't like the food much. What I did like to eat, (the pasta and fresh grilled meats) were to much of a pain to wait in the real long line ups. The staff are friendly but someone really needs to reorginize how the food is laid out and served. The pasta chef....doing I bowl at a time while there is a line of 20 ppl??
The Pizza Chef - EXCELLENT!!!! We would order our own pizza and he would bring to the table every night. Don't know his name as he didn't have a tag, but Good job!! :) My daughter loved the pizza.

Didn't do any excursions so I can't comment on those.
Lobby was nice. Entertainment was entertaining. Coffee was good, cocktails good.

The kids club with Lety was fun for the kids....maybe a bit more variety is needed, as by the end of the week was getting old.
Bring a flash light and go down to the beach at night and look for hermit crabs!
Bring your own beach towels....4 days before we got new ones and you do this at the family pool at small hut. Bring your own snorkelling gear.
Enjoyed our stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Canadiangurl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Canadiangirl42,

On behalf of all our staff at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations. We are glad to know that we were able to make your days with us wonderful. I will forward your review to our animation team & service., they will be happy to know that you remember them and their services. I would like to thank you as well for your nice words about my assistance. Also I want to make a higlight of somethings as the snorkel gear, yes it is better to bring yours, ketchup, butter still without and waiting an aswer of the Cuban Gov., the laundry was broken x 2 days that it s why we get soem problems to change the, and last but not the least the carts, yes they know that they are not in the INDI circuit and accidents could happend if they do not take care and put attention and beside they could lost the job the most important it is that they can injure someone.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future, I am sure we will meet again.

Cordially,

Brenda Correa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Property: Iberostar Ensenachos
Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing