We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location - but needs improvements..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Iberostar Ensenachos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location - but needs improvements..........”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Oct 21-28 - during the time of Hurricane Sandy, so unfortunately only had two beach days before the rain and winds literally took the beach away, a lot of damage to beach area and palapas washed out to sea. The beach was beautiful, but was dissapointed not to see the calm clear water as in photos, as it was wavy all week. We spent the days that it was not raining at the main pool, which was nice, although we would normally not spend any time at the pool, we are beach people.

Staff was GREAT all around, waiters/waitresses, bar staff and animation team all work very hard and are very friendly for the most part - special mention to Yulie and Yunexy in the buffet and Andy and the animation team. The food was okay - a lot of repetition , and although you can always find something to eat, I found the choice of fresh fruit and salad items disappointing. They had lettuce only a couple of days, and ran out of chicken on a few occasions. Drinks were good, didn't care for the red and white wines available - but the sparkling cava both rose and white were good. We went to only one a la carte - the mediterranean - and although the service by Eduardo there was great - the food was not, so we opted to cancel other reservations made.

There are many areas that they are working on improving, and I certainly hope this continues, as there are issues. The lighting on the main walkways at night is terrible and dangerous, many of the lights are burnt out - an accident waiting to happen, especially when it was raining. Many areas are in need of paint which would go a long way to sprucing the place up, the mens washroom missing toilet seats, and the auditorium where they have the nightly shows is very nice, but has broken seats which is also dangerous - it wouldn't take much to fix these things. On a positive note, the grounds are kept immaculate- the gardners work tirelessly to keep it up. There is also much wildlife around, crabs, frogs, hummingbirds, lizards, cats and resident hotel dog Rosie - who is very friendly and makes herself at home there - following guests around and hanging out at the pool and lobby.

The rooms are kept very clean - no problem there - stayed in the Park section in building 41 - great location close to Megano beach and pool. Maid always left towel art and will change beach towels for you - as other wise you have to go quite far to the tennis court area to change them - not convenient - there should be an area at the main pool to change them. Fridge is stocked daily with water, beer, and soda.

All in all, despite the few days of rain, we had an enjoyable vacation. The evening shows were some of the best we have ever seen and both house bands are excellent. We enjoyed the staff very much - it is usually the Cuban people that keep us coming back - this was our 5th time in Cuba - Although we realize it is a family resort, we found there were too many young kids for our liking - strollers everywhere and lots of crying at mealtimes - not very relaxing, so would not likely return, unless we upgraded to the villa section. The spa section is for ages 14 plus but kids still share the same buffet, lobby, and beach, so probably not worth paying the extra for those rooms. The gym is quite well equipped, and very clean, and there is a spa right next to it - didn't use the services but prices seemed reasonable.

Room Tip: Building 41 and 42 close to beach - try for upper floor - 4109 has kind size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojitomama10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,308
    1,741
    701
    276
    129
See reviews for
1,491
2,716
82
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We just returned from a one week stay at the Iberostar Ensenachos. We were a group of two families with young children. We stayed in the Park section.

Arrival: We arrived at 10pm after a long day of travelling. We were told to leave the suitcases with the bellboys and make our way to a conference room to get our check in information. We got our room keys and headed off to the rooms to put the kids to bed and to order something to eat. When we entered in the rooms, we noticed that there were no cribs as requested via email weeks before our arrival date. We called the reception and the head of entertainment was in charge that night. He tried his best to help us, however, no one could find apprpriate cribs for our infants. We had to sleep with them in the big bed, which caused everyone a little hassel and a terrible nights sleep. As well, in our friend's room there was a nice surprise in the toilet! Not quite what you expect to see from a "five" star resort, but most importantly in a room that you are checking into! We also noticed that the chain lock was broken on the patio door, which poses a huge safety hazard as we have children in the room who could open the patio door. We then called room service at around 10:30 to order food to the room after a long day of travelling. Well, surprise, surprise, they were closed (they are supposed to be open until 11pm). We were told to go to the buffet that opened at 11pm. Not a great start...

Rooms: As mentioned, the patio lock was broken, the tv "locked" three times during our stay and we needed to call to get it fixed each time. We found baby socks (that were not ours) behind the curtains, old pistatio shells under the bed (again not ours). The rooms are in need of a little update (paint, refreshed linens). The patio of our friends was not cleaned and a dirty ashtray sat there for days. We also requested an umbrella as it was ranining a lot when we were there (hurrican Sandy), finally we had to go to the reception and one was provided to us. On the plus, turn down service was done each night, and fresh towels replaced used beach towels. Housekeeping was very friendly, but I just dont think the cleaning was a priority. The room however was quite large- the washroom was very spacious and for a family of four there was plenty of space.

Staff: The staff were very kind and friendly. People did try their best to help us when they could. I think the highlight of the trip were the staff members.

Food: We didnt starve, but the choice is a little repetitive. Main buffet- Breakfast had a decent selection of cold meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, omelets to order, pancakes, etc.. Lunch was quite repetitive: paella, salads (limited veggies), fruits, etc. Dinner was decent: lobster tails (a little overcooked but good), meat and fish cook to order, desserts, cold meats, etc. Beach Restaurant- for us, this was the worst restaurant. Pizza, hot dogs and hamburgers were all that they had. Hot dogs and hamburgers did not look appetizing and the pizza was under cooked. Staff mentioned to our friend that the appliances dont work well and it takes too long to cook things. Pool Snack Bar- was ok, we realized expectations needed to be lowered. Ordered the strangest club sandiwch I have ever had (bread, eggs, ham, huge chunk of chicken, tomatoes). Fried squid was decent as were fries. Once we went and our friend was told there were "Food shortages" and there was nothing left.

Bar: the drinks were good- namely the mojitos and the chocolate martinis. As well, the staff would always whip up some kid friendly drinks for the young ones.

Beach: Unfortuntately we were there during hurricane sandy (no fault of hotel!). So we only had one beach day, the beach is lovely and its too bad we werent able to go more. Sand was so soft and water nice and warm. After the hurrican the waves were quite strong and unfortunately all of the palapas were knocked down.

Pools: nice, water temperature was perfect, a little chilly after all the rain, but all in all no complaints! The kids water park was fantastic. Our kids really enjoyed it. Only issue was other peoople's roundy children unsupervised! (no fault of hotel!!)

Kids show: my kids loved it, kept them entertained. Staff tried their best to keep them all happy! Ledi (I think is her name) is great and the magician was quite good!

I am not quite sure what has happened since Iberostar bought this hotel. Property is quite run down. Mould all over buildings (on tiles and main building needs a good paint job, as do fountains). On the walkway to the beach there was a piece of the railing missing (hazard for kids) and at La Pirata restaurant a piece was missing as well. In from of La Pirata restaurant there is a large cement planter that I am guessing used to be filled with flowers, that now is just dirt and sand. Its quite sad actually to see how run down the hotel is. As well, the couches and chairs in the lobby has staples coming out of the sides and the upholstery was coming apart (another hazard for our young children, little fingers just love finding things to pick at!).

The last issue we had was at checkout- there was a 10$ charge on our friends account for a telephone call that he did not make. We had to go to the front desk to resolve it. They did remove it in the end.

I will say that the staff are amazing- even the manager tried to make it up to us and sent us some chanpagne to apologize for the issue we had our first night. However, it just seemed like there were non-stop little issues, which makes for a stressful holiday.

I would reccommend this hotel if you get an amazing deal. Also if you go with an open mind and definitely do not expect 5 star amentities/service, then you will have a good time.

Room Tip: building 31 and 32 are great if you have small children. you are close to the water park, pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank canada514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just returned from our holiday at this resort. We stayed October 21 - 28th during Hurricane Sandy. The resort itself is beautiful. We stayed in the main family section, in building 32. The rooms were spacious, with a walk-in closet, a huge bathroom and a private patio. There was a very slight mildew smell in the room, but nothing overpowering and nothing a little Lysol didn't take care of. Beds were comfortable enough and we always got a good night sleep.
The staff at this hotel are generally speaking wonderful. The bartenders at the main pool bar were super friendly. Someone often went around taking drink orders and collecting empty glasses. The gardener could often be found near the pool area and was happy to get a coconut or two for whoever asked.
We traveled with children and they very much enjoyed the children's program at the resort. Ledi, the main children's program organizer, is wonderful with the kids. My girls both loved her and could not wait to see her every day. There was a kids' mini disco every evening in the main auditorium where the kids danced, learned some new songs and celebrated the day's winners of various games that took place around the resort. One evening the children got to perform in one of the evening shows. Another couple of nights there were magic shows for the children after the mini disco. It was fun for kids and adults alike.
The adult shows in the evening were very entertaining and well done.
The restaurant staff were kind, and made our dining experience enjoyable. The food was OK, not quite 5*, but we never went hungry and could always find something. Our favorite meal of the day was breakfast, were we usually had made-to-order omelets, fresh cheeses and breads, yogurt and OJ. I found the meats to be generally speaking tougher than I'd normally like. One thing that I wish there was more of would have been fresh veggies and fruit. Not sure if it wasn't season for it, or another reason, but there was a surprisingly small selection of fresh fruit and veggies. I would have loved to load up on more fresh veggies and less meat.
Overall, however, we loved our stay at this resort. Even though we were there during Sandy's wrath, the staff worked very hard to keep guests entertained in the lobby with games and activities. We are looking forward to staying at this resort once again.

Room Tip: Building 32, 33 are very close to the kids' water park and the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ajsj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to this resort last Christmas, and are very excited to be returning this year! The staff and service were fantastic and friendly, and the managers were always on hand to prevent and address any problems. The Lobby Bar makes the best cappuccinos, and the piano player who performs in the evenings is not to be missed. In addition to all this, the maids always surprised us with great towel art in our room.

The grounds are carefully maintained and beautiful, and the beaches are some of the best in the Caribbean! If you are looking for activities and fun, head over to the Megano beach, but if you want a peaceful, serene experience, try the Ensenachos beach. The snorkelling there is good, and the fish always swam with us.

Go for the seafood/fresh fish at the buffet, there is always a great selection of fruit, pastries, and other foods there. The only problem we had was that the variety of vegetables available was scant. The other restaurants were generally good, and there are snack bars by the pools.

Remember that this is Cuba, so you're not going to have many channels on the TV, or good Internet access, but, if you want a secluded, warm resort which has helpful, enthusiastic staff, great beaches, great entertainment, and decent food, then try the Iberostar Ensenachos.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FifiGLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to this hotel from October 19th to the 26th and we stayed in the Grand Villas Section.
I would highly recomment the villas if you are travelling as a couple. Te Grand Villas section is located approximately 2 km's from the main lobby of the hotel. So if you stay in this section, you will need to take the shuttle / golf karts to get to the main lobby / restaurants etc.
In the Grand Villas section, you do have your own little lobby and a the "El Colonial" Restaurant to which you can eat there for breakfast - lunch and dinner. Being in the Grand Villas section, you can eat there every day and for ecery meal. You will need to reserve for dinner but breakfast and lunch, you just show up and they'll sesrve you. This restaurant is "a la carte" only and it is pretty good. You can enjoy lobster for lunch and dinner every day during your stay if you wish...

The Villas section also enables you to reserve other "a la carte" restaurants of the whole resort and there is no limit to your reservations. Being in the "main area" you can only reserve 2 or 3 a la carte per week. There is only 1 buffet on the resot and it is in the main section. If there is one place i would imrovement, the buffet is it. Yes there a lot to choose from but i have a seen a lot more variety in some 4 stars hotel like the Melia Las Dunas or even the Barcelo (now HUSA) in CSM.

The beaches are very nice, the one close to the Villas don't seem to get cleaned out every day but them mains ones are. The beach section close to the villas is very quiet. The most people i have seen at the beach at one time was 10 or 12 people. I don't have to ttell you that tehre is no line up to get yourself a drink at the beach bar and most times, the barman comes to see you to take your order cause he has nothing else to do, which is great!

You also have your butler / concierge: Diego, Yandry and Marsahll. These 3 guys will do anything they can to help you out. They'll make youself a nice hot bubble bath while you are having dinner. You want a some wine, they'll bring you a bottle. It is surprising to see how far they'll go to make you are fully satisfied. Just ask and you'll see.

The rooms: There 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom suites. You have 2 fridges per room, 1 in the bedroom and one in the kitchen and a freezer in the kitchen. You even have an oven and a microwave in the kitchen. You have 2 bathrooms (only one has the bath + the shower) you have 2 tv's 1 living room and 1 table for 6 for dinner. ON you patio, you have 2 lounging chairs, 1 table and the chairs and... a nice jacuzzi for 2. Taking a jacuzzi after a day at the beach while sipping your favorite cocktails while have a view of the ocean is quite enjoyable.
Note that there are only 2 rooms per building and there no rooms on the second floor unless you get a 2 bedroom suite.

I need to say that we stayed during Hurricane Sandy, it was pretty rough for 2 days but the hotel people didn't seem alarmed by this as it was passing like 400 - 450 km's east of our location. Lots of big winds and we had like 2 days of rough weather.
This is not the resrort's fault... it's nice to travel in October and save money and you gamble with the weather as we did, sometimes you win sometimes you loose... we did not win this time! LOL

So overall, we had a great vacation and would definitely return there but only at the Grand Villas section. If i were to g to the main section, i'd rather go back to the Las Dunas and get better value for my money, better service and better buffet!

Villas section all the way... ask for buildings # 70 - 71 or 72. 72 has the best view of the ocean and is the closest to the villas lobby (and shuttle depart point)

I met a person who had booked a normal "park suites" room and upgraded to the villas once at the resort. The cost per day was 50 CUC for the upgrade. (so 25 per person) so he upgraded his 7 day trip for 350 $CUC. The surcharge per person when booking in advance (as we did) was 235$ CA per person - 470$ for the 2 of us VS 350$CUC... If you are to try this and wait to save the 120$, make sure that they have villas left for your arrival otherwise, you will stick to the Park suites which i would not want ot pend a week there.

Nicolas Robillard

Room Tip: Buildings # 72 - 71 AND 70 have ocean view (at no extra cost) teh best ocean views a in the order i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My fiance and I traveled quite a bit to Cuba (we visited the Paradisus Rio de Oro, and the Buenavista last year among other hotels, just to give you a perspective)

This time we chose the Iberostar Ensenachos. We travelled as a group of 3, my Fiance and I along with my sister, we're all adults and so I listed it under "Friends" instead of family. We booked a "Villa" in the grand villas section, we had a two level two bedroom villa which had an extra guest bathroom. There was a living room, dining area, a small kitchen and small balcony with a hottub. It's was very spacious and would fit 4 people or more, we felt very comfortable!

Our only issue with the room was that the toilet upstairs did not flush but they fixed this promptly, also the battery in the safe in the upstairs bedroom died and they were going to send the repair man out but it dragged on for a few days and they said he came while we were out (though we were in the room pretty late) I told them to just cancel it as I didn't want to spend my vacation in the room waiting and so we moved our belongings and valuables and crammed them in the safe downstairs (which was ok, we had a lot of cameras/equipment)

We travelled to the main lobby on a daily basis in the little van (the drivers are sooooo nice, we had two and they alternated every 2 days or so) and spent time at the Maygano beach and dined at the buffet every morning, lunch and nearly every evening (there was a large selection and satisfied our different tastes)

Food: My fiance is allergic to fish, and there was a lot of seafood there but at dinner they separated the meats (beef/chicken..etc) to the back grill and had the seafood at the front which was good for him, (too bad they didn't do that at lunch) and they did have beef there. Would also have been nice if dishes that contained fish were placed in one area, quite often the 4 trays would be along the lines of rice, fish, vegetables and meat, since the serving spoons are placed on the counter there is alot of cross contamination of people using them for all the dishes which was a problem having a fish allergy.

Breakfast was always great, lots of variety, everyone was happy, I enjoyed the breads, cheeses and sliced veggies as this is my main breakfast everyday. My sister and fiance are more picky in general but they were always satisfied and happy at the buffet (which is why we ate there more frequently)

The waiters and waitresses at the buffet are SO NICE and sweet!! We loved Maivelys, she's a blond, vibrant, amazing lady, we always sat near her station and were so sad to leave. She made us promise to return so we are definitely considering this hotel for next year.

We booked 2 of the a la cartes and I cancelled the seafood one last minute because I wasn't feeling too well (which I was going to alone because my sister doesn't like seafood and my fiance is allergic) That night at the buffet they had grilled lobster and I enjoyed that!

We went to the Italian which to be honest was not memorable. We were looking forward to the Asian Teppanyaki restaurant but unfortunately it was under construction, hopefully next time we'll get a chance!

We did try the grand village gourmet restaurant for dinner on the first night and it was ok, we had lamb, beef and chicken dishes and all were pretty good. Once we ordered the chicken nuggets off the room service menu as a snack in the afternoon while sitting near the pool on the restaurant patio and they were very kind to make it for us, it was delicious and high quality. As a food blogger and foodie, I will say that I really enjoyed the food!

We frequently saw the two Spanish chefs walk around and they were always kind and courteous saying hi to us and making sure we were happy, they constantly checked on all the dishes in the buffet to make sure they were up to their standard.

Beach: The water is great on both sides of the beaches and it's very shallow with some fish coming right up to the shore. We enjoyed our time at the Magyano beach, and it's a very family friendly vibrant beach.

The Ensenachos beach is also nice, especially on the opposite side (not the one near the villas) because there are some rocks and if you walk up to them you will see tons of fish!!! (no need for snorkling equipment)

We did snorkle with Tony (who is a star friend at the grand villas, he resides near the pool and takes people on snorkle tours at the beach behind the grand villas lobby)
I'm a new swimmer and my sister is still learning how to swim (it's her first time in the water) but Tony encouraged us and guided us along the shallow areas.
I even had a phobia of breathing with the snorkling equipment but he let us practice in the pool and supported us until we got over our fears.

We saw lobsters, star fish, fish, snails, all kind of amazing things in the water. It was fun and I highly recommend this.

We had a great week, I've always had issues at other hotels, but this week was really amazing and stress free which is just what we needed!

If you're going to the grand villas and want to take a gift for Tony, I think he needs a new pair of sunglasses as his old pair broke while he was sitting with us near the pool playing cards.

Room Tip: Book the spa suites if not travelling with children, try to get the best rate you can when booking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DewyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I’m writing this to voice my dissatisfaction with the resort. We stayed at the Iberostar Ensenachos from October 13, 2012 to October 20, 2012. I will start at the very beginning so that I may paint a clear and accurate picture of this experience. Upon booking this resort through our travel adgent, we attempted to place my husband and father in law and myself in the same room with our 10 month old daughter, however we were told that this could not happen as we had an infant and the hotel rules were such that triple occupancy was not permitted with the infant. Understandable, so we instead asked our travel agent to request an adjoining room, so that my father in law may be right next to us as he is 73 and has been having some health issues and he was not comfortable being alone. I was told that it would be requested but to also mention it once we checked in. At this point all was fine ad I presumed we would have no problem being in adjoining rooms. In an effort to secure this request I called the resort directly on Wednesday October 10, 2012. I spoke with both the front desk staff as well as the “Customer Relations” office whereas I was told that they would put a note in my file and ensure that the request was reported to the front desk manager. Once again, I was under the impression that this would not be a problem, as at this point I had no reason to believe it would be.
Upon checking in, I once again mentioned the request that I had made and I was directed to speak with the Manager in the morning because there was no record of my request. I wasn’t too concerned as my husband wasn’t scheduled to get in till the following evening. On Sunday morning I went to the front desk and again mentioned the adjoining room that I was supposed to be in as the room that I was assigned (3207) was not an adjoining room. It was at this point that I was told that there was nothing available. Understandably I was getting quite tired of this ordeal. I requested that they look a little harder as I was promised an adjoining room. The receptionist then asked why I didn’t just book the 3 adults with the baby in one room. I told her that we tried but that it was not permitted when we were booking the vacation. Apparently it is allowed. I’m not sure if it was the resort at the time who wouldn’t allow the booking or Air Canada vacations. The lady that I was dealing with told me to come back later in an hour and she would try to find something. This occurred twice, where she kept telling me to come back in an hour. By the third time I was done with it. I wanted the room that I was promised. When I asked to speak to a manager as this was becoming quite tiresome, I was instructed to go to the “Customer Relations” office, as apparently they were the only ones who might be able to help me. I once again explained my situation to “Tammi” in said department (who in all fairnes was trying to be helpful). After about an hour of trying to find me a room and coming up with nothing Tammi said there was only one other option available. It was the Disability Handicap room (3208). She sent me to go take a look and let her know what I wanted to do. The room was exactly that a Handicap room complete with hospital bed, at this point I had no choice but to take the room as it was the only thing available even remotly close to what I wanted. Tammi requested that I sign a paper stating that I was ok with the change. In all honesty I was not ok with it but what other choice did I have? Had I known all of the issues that the room had I would never had agreed to it.
When I first entered the room there was a distinct smell of mold, which I was told by the house keeping lady was “normal” because the room had to be “aired out”. I left both the sliding door and front door opened for over 4 hours, the smell never left our room. When my husband and his father checked in they came to the room and tried to turn on the air conditioning where upon we discovered that it didn’t work. We called front desk and they sent a maintenance man about an hour later after numerous calls back. When he arrived all we were told after he looked at it that, was that it wasn’t working. He said someone would have to look at it in the morning. When we called back in the morning they once again sent someone out who told us the same thing. At no point did anyone actually fix the problem. As you can imagine this was very uncomfortable with a 10 month old. Being that when it was 42 degrees outside it was the same in our room and it did nothing to aid in trying to put a tired baby to sleep as she was (and we were) very uncomfortable. Apparently this mattered very little to the staff as nothing came from it. Our whole stay the air conditioning was never fixed and I’m quite certain it probably won’t be fixed. Another concern (of many) we had with the room was that the chain on the sliding door was broken again this was never fixed. Our television in the room gave 10 channels of “snow” and nothing else. We could never put the baby on the floor to play as the floors were never mopped or properly cleaned. This we know as a fact because we were always in the room when the cleaning lady came. This was also a known complaint amongst other guests. This pretty much sums up the room. On Wednesday October 17, 2012 my sister went to “Customer Relations” and spoke with Tammi. She requested to speak with the General Manager as the whole experience was just getting worse and I remembered when I was looking into Trip Advisor for this resort he seemed to respond to peoples complaints, so we figured he would of some assistance to us. Tammi left a message, no one got back to my sister. Two additional requests to speak to the General Manager went unanswered. I find it pretty sad when you can’t get a hold of any management to assist you. Although, I'm somehow certain he will responde to me on Trip Advisor. Another problem that we had with the resort was that we were never able to get any reservations at the restaurants. We would go first thing in the morning to make reservations and there was never anything available. Yet when we would speak to other people who had frequented the restaurant they stated that they were empty as was the case when we lucked out with reservations one night at the Mediterranean restaurant. There were 3 tables including us. This is completely unacceptable. When a resort offers a service such as additional restaurants you can’t constantly turn patrons away for any good reason. Again this was a frequent complaint from various guests.
The resort itself is nice. I would say it was gorgeous. Its an attractive resort till you start looking alittle deeper. There are many things around the resort that are in need of repair. At night the resort is very poorly lit. There are light post around however, they are either shut off or burnt out not sure which as all I can say is they were not on. The entertainment at night is pretty good but like with the whole resort alot of the costumes that the dancer wear are in dire need of replacing. However, they are fun enough shows. The food much like the rest in Cuba is not the greatest but surely not the worst. The crepes at breakfast were pretty good, The staff are friendly, however alot of them were either over worked or maybe a little past their experation point because they werent the happiest. Again this was only a handful and you cant bunch them all together.
The most frustrating part of this whole ordeal is that we paid good money to attend this resort, and I feel completely slighted. My husband and I are not wealthy by any means; we saved for quite some time so that we could all go on vacation. We expected to have a great family vacation and ended up completely disappointed. This was our first “family” vacation with our 10 month old baby and instead of a memorable trip this became the trip that you never want to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank BryanKelly1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Greetings from Iberostar Ensenachos.
Thank you for your review. I would first like to apologize that your stay was not up to the standards that you had expected before your arrival. I would like to point out however, that we do have a limited number of adjoining rooms, and as each request is made, we are never able to 100% guarantee that this will be available as it is determined upon the time of arrival. I also apologize that the air-conditioning in your room was not fixed immediately. Usually maintenance is quite good at responding especially with things concerning the status of the rooms. I will also be speaking to Tammi regarding the reservations at the restaurants and meeting with you. I did not receive any message that you were looking for me and I apologize again as I would have liked to hear first hand what you had to say in order to hopefully be able to fix everything on the spot. I can only offer my most sincere apologies that your trip was not to your expectations and wish you the best of luck in your future travels.
Regards,
Stefano Baratelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Ensenachos
6.2 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,344 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Property: Iberostar Ensenachos
Address: 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometers of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Ensenachos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing