We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”

Dolphinarium Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The whole experience was fun but the photo's really were not that good. We never tried the food but heard it was good. We did the more interactive show which we are glad we did at a good value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scarvey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    93
    36
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

So cool! I have never swam with dolphins before, it was amazing. the staff and facilities were fantastic, clean, and the pictures were a great deal!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TorontoPrincess11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Walk-in visit”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We didn't want to swim with the dolphins as we have a 3 year old but we wanted to visit. We took a taxi from our hotel (Iberostar Ensenachos) which was about a 3 minute ride; you can take the double-decker bus as well. We paid either 2 or 3 CUC per adult to enter and our child was free.

We spent about an hour at the dolphinarium watching people swim with the dolphins and looking at the sea lions. There was no show during the period we were there (it was morning and we had heard that it may happen at noon). We walked back to the Iberostar which was about a 20 minute walk.

All in all, a nice visit, but not that exciting. It was a bit smaller than I expected. I believe they are going to put in some fish but only the dolphins and sea lions were there when we visited.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank phladun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lifetime Experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The food was amazing, the dolphins were treated very well, and we had an experience of a lifetime. Thanks Peppe!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent for kids (and adults)”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

As part of out Catamaran cruise, we stopped off at the Dolphinarium for lunch, dolphin show and interaction with the dolphins. Although some of the other dolphin trips offered the chance to actually swim with dolphins, we thought that this would be a better introduction for our kids, since they had never encountered this sort of thing before and was wary of spending a lot of cash, for them to say that they didn't want to do the swim, when the time came.
On arrival at the dolphinarium, we were escorted into the little grandstands to watch a brief show with a couple of the dolphins. After that, we then headed down to the enclosures and had then waded into the water onto a platform, which took the water up to about waist height. We were then introduced to our dolphin Pepe, who allowed us to pet him several times, before getting the inevitable kiss from him. We had a little more interaction with him dancing and singing and splashing around. Our kids really enjoyed the experience andf hopefully it has given them enough courage to possibly try the dolphin swim and the next occasion.
After the interaction, we headed up to the little restuarant for either lobster or chicken lunch. I had the lobster and surprisingly I was quite surprised of how good the lunch was. The staff were very attentive to our every need and it was a very pleasant lunch.
After collecting our family photo, that we had taken holding Pepe, we headed for the car park, where our coach was waiting to take us back to our Hotel.

Very good trip and one the kids (and the adults in our party) thouroughly enjoyed!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AyeReady1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinarium Cayo Santa Maria also viewed

Cayo Santa Maria, Villa Clara Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey Archipelago
 

Been to Dolphinarium Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing