We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you're in the area, camp here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Cow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotsburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Cow
Save
You added The Mermaid & The Cow to your Saves list
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you're in the area, camp here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I don’t usually seek out LGBT venues but found ourselves at the M&C on a holiday weekend having a most fabulous time! With its pastoral setting this campground is a true getaway that revealed itself to be a productive birding spot as well.

And if you enjoy meeting interesting people, spend some time with Jane. She is a fascinating woman with a passion for life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nle272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful LGBT friendly campground, this is an excellent destination. Not LGBT? Not a problem. Jane and Susan invite all LGBT and LGBT-friendly campers into their multi-hectared living room and treat everyone to that famous Maritime hospitality the whole time you're there.

The campground is clean and well maintained with spacious sites throughout. It features a number of amenities including hot showers and a big old "gayzebo" to hang out in if the weather isn't to your liking or if you are just looking for a place to chill, watch movies or play one of the board games in the toy box.

There are special events, theme weekends and never a dull moment. And, if you order in advance, you might even score a dozen fresh eggs laid by the hens who hang around the house.

I have had only one experience at the Mermaid & The Cow, and it was a wet weekend indeed. That, however, didn't dampen my spirits for even a moment. It would take more than a bit of inclement weather to take away from the magic.

I have no hesitation in giving this campground a five-star rating all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We've been going to the Mermaid & the Cow to camp for 10 summers. It is a uniquely magical place, where you can pitch your tent under an apple tree, watch the moon rise over the mountains, relax and spend time with friends (or make new ones!).
In our view, it's the best of both worlds - you can enjoy the fun of sleeping in a tent under the stars while having access to hot showers, flush toilets, ice and firewood that you just stack and light. Voila! Instant campfire!
But the best part is the feeling of community and warmth that hosts Jane and Susan create for their guests. You can certainly spend your time on your own, but if you want to chat or just need to borrow some sugar...this is a place where you can just drop by your neighbours' campsite and strike up a conversation. After all, we probably already have something in common!
If you're lucky, you'll experience the delight of spending a couple of nights on your travels in this lovely setting.
But if you're as fortunate as we have been, you'll make friends that will become part of your life through the winters and summers that follow.
I appreciate the efforts and investments that Jane and Susan have made to continuously improve the campers' experience - like the screened-in gathering place (the "gay-zero") in which you can BBQ, play cards...or dance the night away. And I guess that making wi-fi available was inevitable - but I still tell folks that I'm "out of range" when I'm at The Mermaid & The Cow. Why ruin it by checking e-mail?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had planned to tent camp here one night on our 10 day maritime road trip. We ended up not getting there till late, so we upgraded to the cabin instead and were delighted by Jane's hospitality and facilities. I slept on the futon on the screen porch watching the stars and my travel companion slept in the loft. We were amazed by the sky from the picnic table - more stars and shooting stars-than I've ever seen in my life.

Only thing we wished we had done differently on our maritimes trip would have been to stay here longer as a home base for day trips, as it is centrally located to most of the maritimes.

Jane is an excellent hostess and has a great rustic spread.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Camped on the July long weekend. Met many quality people. Jane and Susan are gems and very accommodating. Fantastic weekend, great dances!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotsburn
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
6.5 mi away
Smith Rock Chalets
Smith Rock Chalets
#1 of 2 in Scotsburn
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
13.8 mi away
Train Station Inn
Train Station Inn
#1 of 6 in Tatamagouche
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
0.0 mi away
The Zzzz Moose Camping Cabins
The Zzzz Moose Camping Cabins
#2 of 5 in Englishtown
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
14.5 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#1 of 1 in Tatamagouche
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Cow

Property: The Mermaid & The Cow
Address: 1370 Scotsburn Rd | West Branch River John, Scotsburn, Nova Scotia B0K 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Scotsburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Scotsburn
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm and forest destination campground situated in the middle of an operating hobby farm that includes a legacy forest of white pine and hemlock. Learn about farm animals and enjoy beautiful walking trails. Ten RV sites with 20 amp elec and water, and 25 spacious tenting sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Cow Scotsburn, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing