We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pie!!!”

Birch Grove Restaurant & Take-out
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Saint George
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chamcook
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pie!!!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have recently moved to Chamcook nb. This great restaurant is only a ten minute drive. Twenty minutes from St. Andrews by the sea. This restaurant has the worlds best pie! They have a great variety of seafood, roast turkey and many more choices. But, whatever you do save room for pie! It is so yummy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Augusta16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Better than Average Seafood and Excellent Pies.”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The area round St George is not notable for fine dining etc., but the Birch Grove provided better than average seafood - not the usual mountain of heavily battered orange stuff - and a wonderful selection of home made dessert pies. We visited twice in five days, and enjoyed both visits.

Also the restaurant is open until 9.00, at least in summer, whereas many similar restaurants in the area close at 7.00 or 7.30.

There is no licence for alcohol. Soft drinks only.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Save Room for the Pie”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Yes, the local and fresh seafood is superb and an excellent value, but I confess that it is the homemade desserts that keep us coming back. The fish sandwich and scallop burger can be ordered either pan fried or deep fried - both are consistently delicious. I think it is the owner's mother who makes the desserts. We have tried all the desserts and all are good, but it is the pies that are out of this world. The pies are better than my Grandmother's (and she thought she was a good pie maker) and they are better than any I have had in fancy restaurants. We stay in this area for several weeks every summer and eat here often. We have not had problems with our bill.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mbw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ample serving size!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is good comfort food. The fish and chips and seafood platter were delicious. The homemade pies are very good also. Very busy place but the servings are plentiful and the service is fast.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisgoodincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Decent food but check bill carefully”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We ate lunch at the Birch Grove on a recent Sunday while traveling in New Brunswick. I'll say up front that the the food was OK for the price. The Birch grove appears to have a following of 'locals' as well as tourists-it's right off the new section of NB1. We were seated approximately 10' from the cash register & noticed approximately 4 parties having difficulties with their bills during our 45 minute visit. When our bill arrived, we saw that one of the charges was for a $12.95 turkey dinner as opposed to the $6.95 sandwich that was ordered. When brought to the attention of the manager/owner (?), the reply was something to the effect of 'That's this machine' referring to the register. But there was no apology, etc. Since we were not the only ones with issues, apparently this is a fairly common experience but I seriously doubt that 'the machine' made all those errors. If so, then it should be repaired or replaced. We also felt that in our humble opinion, there didn't seem to be any issues with those who appeared to be 'locals' but that was just our perception and could be wrong. So, just check your bill carefully before paying.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tfp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Grove Restaurant & Take-out also viewed

Saint George, New Brunswick
Saint George, New Brunswick
 
Blacks Harbour, New Brunswick
 
Saint George, New Brunswick
Saint George, New Brunswick
 

Been to Birch Grove Restaurant & Take-out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing