We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Two night stay with family. Received a very warm welcome. Rooms beautiful, beds extremely comfortable, breakfast lovely with lots to choose from and freshly made. Great attention to detail in both ambience and service. Hosts very kind and thoughtful, nothing too much trouble. Thanks - we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarvoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We only stayed for a couple of nights, but we really couldn't fault it.
The proprietors we both very friendly, helpful and down to earth people, who are only to happy to help you with any questions or problems.
The room was huge, with an enormous king size bed and very practical en-suite.
The breakfasts are enormous (if you opt for the Scottish fry-up...and you'd be daft not to !), and even my wife, who has special dietary needs, was well fed.
If you stay here, be sure to visit the Newtonmore Highland Folk Museum, a real gem of an outdoor museum.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyfromalnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed for one night in March 2010.

We had intended to go for a walk around Newtonmore after check-in but the bed was so big and comfortable that we just lay around watching the TV and reading until our bellies reminded us it was dinner time.

Superb breakfast, excellent location, lovely hosts (human and canine). Can't think of a single fault. Hope to return sometime in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpangleMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmorlie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed in Eagle View this weekend on a trip to see family. We normally go for 4* hotels for our trips to the Highlands, but because we were going for a brief stay to see family, we just wanted something cheap and cheerful that was clean and hopefully not too expensive.

But my God, I've stayed in FAR worse 4* hotels! Eagle View is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean, and the owners are great, friendly people.

We were actually due to stay last weekend, but had to postpone because of the snow and icy conditions. I phoned Moira to explain, expecting the usual "cancellation terms and conditions" conversation. However, she was 100% understanding and advised me NOT to travel unless we were totally happy, and provisionally booked me in for this weekend *IF* we could make it. I am very grateful for this; many hotels and B&B's would be tricky about it.

We stayed in room 4, the best room in the house, and it was far better than many 4* hotel rooms i've stayed in. It is a suite with a completely separate bathroom and small wardrobe room with an entrance hall. It's not huge, but it's very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and unbelievably comfortable.

At breakfast we chatted with the owners and had a superb hearty meal. I happened to mention that I love dogs, so the owners' 3 dogs were allowed in to see us (only because there were no other guests at the time). We were also allowed to take one of their dogs, Sassy, for a walk on both Saturday and Sunday morning. She was just beautiful, calm, and very well trained.

Unless the owners know you are happy with it, they won't let the dogs anywhere near the guests' part of the house, but if you love dogs, you won't fail to be won over by the beautiful colllie-cross, Sassy.

I can't recommend Eagle View highly enough, and I really feel that the cost of the 2 night stay was highway robbery on our part. We felt so grateful for the warm hospitality we received that we bought the owners a bottle of wine, and the dogs some doggy treats. And we don't do that for every place we stay in, I assure you!

#4 in Newtonmore?! This place has gotta be #1, surely?

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this B&B in February 2009 for 4 nights to have a "winter holiday" and luckily the conditions at nearby Cairngorm mountain were good enough for a couple of decent days skiing too. Newtonmore is a nice little village with a couple of pubs, convenience store and restaurant. It's set in an attractive wide valley near the highland mountains including the Cairngorm range and less than an hour from Inverness.

Our room was spotless, had a beautiful large bed with soft sheets and loads of pillows and slipper bath in the bathroom.

The hosts John and Moira could not do enough for us. There was a very tricky situation with a badly-behaved fellow guest but they handled it beautifully and it didn't affect our stay at all.

The breakfasts are excellent - try John's spinach scrambled egg! For a supplement John and Moira will cook high standard evening meals. We particularly liked the large dining room/breakfast table which encourages conversation with fellow guests, and the guest's sitting room with comfy sofas and fire.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Clean & comfortable individually decorated rooms + Great breakfast + Good location + Friendly hosts = 5 Star accommodation

How a Guest House SHOULD BE!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briandveeTeesside_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this most beautiful guest house in Newtonmore. Ryan gave us a warm welcome and both he and Moira entertained us whilst we ate the most delicious food Moira prepared for us.

The guest house is luxuriously furnished and is warm and welcoming. We loved our bedroom and the fact we had a CD player and a DVD player - with a huge selection of DVDs for guests available in the guest lounge.

Moira prepared us home made mushroom soup, delicious salmon and sticky toffee pudding for a very reasonable £20. We provided our own wine and Ryan provided a corkscrew!

Our Jack Russell was warmly welcomed and he enjoyed being fussed over!
We loved our stay here and can't recommend this guest house enough!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiversideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
19.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View Guest House

Property: Eagle View Guest House
Address: Eagle View Perth Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eagle View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle View Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing