We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed for one night in March 2010.

We had intended to go for a walk around Newtonmore after check-in but the bed was so big and comfortable that we just lay around watching the TV and reading until our bellies reminded us it was dinner time.

Superb breakfast, excellent location, lovely hosts (human and canine). Can't think of a single fault. Hope to return sometime in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpangleMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 147 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed in Eagle View this weekend on a trip to see family. We normally go for 4* hotels for our trips to the Highlands, but because we were going for a brief stay to see family, we just wanted something cheap and cheerful that was clean and hopefully not too expensive.

But my God, I've stayed in FAR worse 4* hotels! Eagle View is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean, and the owners are great, friendly people.

We were actually due to stay last weekend, but had to postpone because of the snow and icy conditions. I phoned Moira to explain, expecting the usual "cancellation terms and conditions" conversation. However, she was 100% understanding and advised me NOT to travel unless we were totally happy, and provisionally booked me in for this weekend *IF* we could make it. I am very grateful for this; many hotels and B&B's would be tricky about it.

We stayed in room 4, the best room in the house, and it was far better than many 4* hotel rooms i've stayed in. It is a suite with a completely separate bathroom and small wardrobe room with an entrance hall. It's not huge, but it's very tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and unbelievably comfortable.

At breakfast we chatted with the owners and had a superb hearty meal. I happened to mention that I love dogs, so the owners' 3 dogs were allowed in to see us (only because there were no other guests at the time). We were also allowed to take one of their dogs, Sassy, for a walk on both Saturday and Sunday morning. She was just beautiful, calm, and very well trained.

Unless the owners know you are happy with it, they won't let the dogs anywhere near the guests' part of the house, but if you love dogs, you won't fail to be won over by the beautiful colllie-cross, Sassy.

I can't recommend Eagle View highly enough, and I really feel that the cost of the 2 night stay was highway robbery on our part. We felt so grateful for the warm hospitality we received that we bought the owners a bottle of wine, and the dogs some doggy treats. And we don't do that for every place we stay in, I assure you!

#4 in Newtonmore?! This place has gotta be #1, surely?

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this B&B in February 2009 for 4 nights to have a "winter holiday" and luckily the conditions at nearby Cairngorm mountain were good enough for a couple of decent days skiing too. Newtonmore is a nice little village with a couple of pubs, convenience store and restaurant. It's set in an attractive wide valley near the highland mountains including the Cairngorm range and less than an hour from Inverness.

Our room was spotless, had a beautiful large bed with soft sheets and loads of pillows and slipper bath in the bathroom.

The hosts John and Moira could not do enough for us. There was a very tricky situation with a badly-behaved fellow guest but they handled it beautifully and it didn't affect our stay at all.

The breakfasts are excellent - try John's spinach scrambled egg! For a supplement John and Moira will cook high standard evening meals. We particularly liked the large dining room/breakfast table which encourages conversation with fellow guests, and the guest's sitting room with comfy sofas and fire.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Clean & comfortable individually decorated rooms + Great breakfast + Good location + Friendly hosts = 5 Star accommodation

How a Guest House SHOULD BE!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briandveeTeesside_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this most beautiful guest house in Newtonmore. Ryan gave us a warm welcome and both he and Moira entertained us whilst we ate the most delicious food Moira prepared for us.

The guest house is luxuriously furnished and is warm and welcoming. We loved our bedroom and the fact we had a CD player and a DVD player - with a huge selection of DVDs for guests available in the guest lounge.

Moira prepared us home made mushroom soup, delicious salmon and sticky toffee pudding for a very reasonable £20. We provided our own wine and Ryan provided a corkscrew!

Our Jack Russell was warmly welcomed and he enjoyed being fussed over!
We loved our stay here and can't recommend this guest house enough!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiversideGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed here on way back from the far North West
Comfort is the by word here - luxury king size beds, egyptian cotton sheets, bath robes all those touches of a high end boutique hotel in a B+B
great recommendation for dinner at Blasta and then delicious breakfast - try the scrambled eggs and spinach
hosts very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wedderburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Two nights in a quaint Newtonmore B & B, John & Moira very helpful, friendly, lovely brekkie.
Rooms clean, with DVD & TV in queen ensuite room. Free wi-fi.
Sassy & dogs an added bonus!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newtonmore hotels
0.1 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
314 reviews
1 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#7 of 13 in Newtonmore
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dower House Newtonmore
Dower House Newtonmore
#6 of 13 in Newtonmore
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View Guest House

Address: Eagle View Perth Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: $78 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eagle View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle View Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing