We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect break in the Highlands! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagle View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect break in the Highlands! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I booked Eagle View as a break away for both my boyfriend's birthday and valentines day after seeing the amazing reviews. It certainly lived up to my expectations: friendly owners, large comfortable room and a very cosy, relaxed atmosphere. The owners, John and Moira, greeted us on arrival and are genuinely friendly people who are willing to help out in any way they can to make the stay even better. The guest house itself is spotlessly clean with modern interior and the room i booked with the slipper bath was the nicest out of any guest house I've been in. Breakfast in the morning had a homely feel as it was again made very welcoming by the owners. In the evenings there is not much to do around the area although this was okay as there is a communal sitting area in the guest house with a selection of books, dvds and a fireplace to relax around. I would recommend Eagle View Guest House to anyone going up North, even if it's a planned trip to aviemore, as the guest house is situated only a 20 minute drive away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catt-Mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
85
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are looking for a first class and very comfortable Guest House then the Eagle View is the place.Our group will be returning for the 10th year at new year.John and Moira are exemplorary hosts who make all guests most welcome.Bedrooms ,lounge and dining room are very warm and inviting and you feel very much at home.The quality of food is excellent and cooked to perfection.Moira provides a first class hogmanay dinner before we take in the annual torchlight procession and firework display at midnight.

We always look forward to celebrating the New Year with the perfect hosts John and Moira.

Jim and Pat.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We travelled the highlands for four days and stayed in 3 B&B Guest Houses, but this one stood out, really, really cozy. The beds were amazing, and the room overall. The hostess was real nice and lovely. And the breakfast... yummy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guðný Ósk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place was so beautiful and the laird and lady of the house were so nice and welcoming. They serve a great breakfast in the most beautiful dining room ever. The rooms were nice and cozy. The beds were comfortable, and the wifi worked great! We were there for 2 full nights, and I would love to come back for a visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOnlyLiza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunnebostrand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We arrived to Eagle View Guest House in the evening, somewhat tired.

When we drove up behind the Guest House and saw the building I said to my wife: I really hope that the rooms are better than the exterior. And it was!!

The house from 1880´s, had 4 wunderful double rooms and 1 single. Small, but clean and very personal. The bathrooms are new and very nice.
The owners, a wounderful couple, made our visit very pleasant.

If you want something very personal, friendly and a wounderful breafast, you should stay here.
The price, £75 for a double room, including breakfast, is a bargain!

But where is the view?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice and cosy B&B. Excellent breakfast and very nice staff.
The rooms were big and beds of very good quality.We stayed for one night, because we had made plans to move on but we tried to get another night because of the good standard but it was already booked.
From the hotel it is very near to walk in the Highlands.
/Eight friends from Sweden

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin6003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have stayed for 2 nights at this lovely b&b. Room was perfect, breakfast excellent. Thanks to Moira we have made an amazing trip through the Highlands. So close to Newtonmore, in a walking distance of just 15 minutes, you can explore the real wilderness of Scotland. No tourists just locals. We walked the whole day and met just one person and her dog. Newtonmore is perfect to explore The Highlands and don't forget the the little shops like The Harris Tweed Highland Shop and restaurant The Letterbox. We travelled by train to Newtonmore and everything was in walking distance. A lot of thanks to Moira and her team!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 737anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#1 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View Guest House

Property: Eagle View Guest House
Address: Eagle View Perth Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eagle View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle View Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing