We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic find great for families”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy!
Beautiful Highland house, just a few hundred metres from the stunning Glen Banchor Looking down Glen Road to Netherwood - plenty of off road car parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Enjoy!
Beautiful Highland house, just a few hundred metres from the stunning Glen Banchor
Looking down Glen Road to Netherwood - plenty of off road car parking
The imposing wood floored hallway
Lounge with real fire and seating for 10 and Sky TV
Modern kitchen with AGA - well equipped with 2 ring hob and microwave
Lovely large room to the front with a kingsize bed
Beautiful double room with views to the front
Tastefully furnished twin bedroom to the back of the house
2 x 2 adult bunks - ideal childrens room
Captain's bed and cot for the younger members of your party
Gravelled area to the from of the house with outdoor table and chairs  - barbecue available
Front view of the house- with Alphie the plaster cat on the porch roof
The first cattle grid at the entry to Glen Banchor
Crossroads in the Glen between Calder  river walk , Wildcat trail etc.
Local hill Craig Dubh - meaning Black Hill but not so black on a lovely sunny day!
Looking back to Craig Dubh with the Calder river in the foreground
The Glen car park which is 25 minutes walk from the house and start point for local Munros climb
Dog fun! We accept well behaved dogs. Maximum 2
Looking through Glen Banchor. It is a lovely walk through the Glen to the Laggan Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IDent2013
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic find great for families”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The house is perfectly situated for a family get together lots of things to do with the kids in the surrounding area and they just adored the swings and garden. The house was well equipped (kitchen especially) and the rooms are all very big so felt very spacious even with ten of us and a dog. Would highly recommend this place to anyone who enjoys walking as there are many walks you can do from doorstep. Very peaceful and we even saw a deer and some hares from the front garden. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2018
Thank you very much, Isobel for your very positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the house and had a lovely time.We hope to welcome you back to Netherwood sometime in the future.
DTB Partnership
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C
1 review
“Welcoming and relaxing for All Ages”
Reviewed June 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I don’t usually write a lot of reviews however, I feel compelled to on this occasion. I have not long returned from my stay at this property and genuinely wished I had booked more time. I would most definitely book this property again in the future.

The communications from the owners was excellent. They provided us with all the information we needed for our stay and were extremely pleasant to deal with.

The house itself is lovely and easily accommodated our party of 6 adults, 3 children, baby and 2 dogs. Our stay was extremely relaxing. The children loved the swings on the property and also loved the grounds. The grounds are fully enclosed so are ideal for both children and dogs. We were fortunate with both the weather and the lack of midges so we’re able to dine outside one night. The house is also very well equipped...particularly the kitchen. At no point during the stay did we wish we had something which wasn’t there.

The location of the property is better than we could have hoped for. It’s very easy to get to and there are a multitude of walks to go on. The walking routes are as simple as stepping out of the door and walking into the hills. It was a joy for some of our party to be able to just go off walking and not require a car.

In short, I would love to return to this property in the future and can only thank the owners for having us and ensuring the house was in such good condition.

Thank you,

Gordon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love the house and know it’s good points and we try very hard to keep it up to standard for our guests. We would be very happy to welcome you back anytime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornaf196
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed May 30, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

8 adults, 4 children (ages 3-6years). Whole family holiday and we couldn’t have asked for more. House was clean, spacious and in great location. It was very well equipped with everything required to accommodate our group. As stated in the description, it comfortably sleeps 8 adults, with adequate beds for 4 children. Bedrooms are very spacious, so children’s beds/cot can be moved about to suit.
I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in a holiday rental with such an array of kitchen utensils, crockery and cutlery.
The garden is secure and spacious for kids although I would say is not really suitable for toddlers due to the fairly steep slope from the raised patio area. We were lucky to have amazing weather and sat outside every evening till bedtime using the old log fired bbq to keep us comfortably warm. The owners have just purchased a new bbq.
Perhaps the patio furniture could do with replacement, as the table, although painted, is beginning to rot.
We spent a day at the highland folk museum which we all enjoyed. The men had a tasting session at Dalwhinnie distillery (£20 for 6 whiskies and handmade chocolates- great value). We walked uphill from the house to Glen Banchor- stunning views, possible to drive up and take a picnic. Wished we could have stayed longer as much more to do in the area. Would love to return especially if the same weather could be guaranteed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2018
Thank you, Lorna for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found the house well equipped etc. Can I assure you that we are currently looking to replace the outdoor furniture but have the dilemma of whether to buy a set which is maintenance free or another wooden one which probably fits in better with the rural garden. Hopefully we will see you return to Netherwood in the near future, DTB Partnership
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to Netherwood in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matthew R
1 review
“Awesome Property”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Brilliant property, very clean, warm, plenty of space, great location, helpful owner, everything better than expected. Will definitely return if back in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2017
Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to Netherwood in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardingP...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

12 Friends decided to meet up and it was fantastic! Spacious enough for us! Bars and pubs near by are friendly! It's big and spotless when we arrived!! Had an amazing time! Would recommend!! We are already planning our next visit to Netherwood house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElloPrinc...
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Netherwood House for a family celebration, it is a gorgeous home from home with everything you could possibly need and plenty of room for everyone (7 Adults + 2 small children). Kids (and adults!) were kept entertained by the great games/playroom and swings outside, Newtonmore town is about a five minute walk from house and lots of places a short drive away to go explore, we went up the Cairngorms on the Funicular and braved the elements, the warmth of Netherwood's AGA was a great welcome home afterwards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house was never cold :-)
Liked least: can't fault anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing