We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Mike and Jacquie are the prefect hosts nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are really spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts are to die for, ideal for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

Visted Newtonmore with my wife and mother in law last and stayed at the wonderful Ard Na CollieGuest House. I had read all the previous good reportsbefore booking and thought it sounded quite good. It was even better than expected, it was top notch.Jacquie + Mike have a beautiful , extremely comfortable home in a wonderful setting and were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.The breakfasts.........Oh the breakfasts were to die for ( and I know a thing or two about a good breakfast),the choice was amazing ,the quality was first class and Jacqui's presentation beautiful. This is what '5' Star should represent. Thanks Jacqui + Mike for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing. The proof of how much we enjoyed our stay was when none of us wanted to leave.....We will return. Oh! loved 'Little Eric'.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAHAYRSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Ard Na Coille proved to be an ideal location for Skiing and was a short walk from the village. Jacquie & Mike did everything possible to make our say enjoyable. The breakfasts were lavish and we highly recommend the eggs benedict. The rooms have wonderful views. The house had an interesting history.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish_MacGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We went to Ard-na-Coille to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We only booked a week before we went and we chose Ard-na-Coille because we had read some excellent reviews. We weren't dissappointed.

Because of the amount of snow around and the road closures, we were a little concerned about getting there but a couple of e-mails to the owners, Mike and Jacquie, soon put our minds at rest and it meant that we were already on first name terms with each other before we arrived.

They assured us that the roads were kept clear by snow ploughs and that we would be able to get there ok. We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived and were met by Mike and Jacquie on the lovely drive. They are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet and were on hand to cater for our every need. They have their own living accommodation within one part of the house so were there to help when needed without being intrusive.

As they are fully licenced, we were able to enjoy the large plasma tv and full sky package in the lounge along with the full size snooker table as we drank a bottle or two of wine.

The view from our room was stunning. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. (My husbands very fussy about his pillows and even he was pleased!) The fridge in the bedroom had complimentary water, along with a jug of fresh milk. Good quality tea and coffee were also provided. Our bathroom had a lovely double shower, and the Nutrogena toiletries were great.

Breakfast was amazing. Orange juice, full cooked breakfast with only the best quality ingredients, the eggs benedict are fantastic and must be tried, there's also croissants, toast and pastries all served with real coffee or a pot of tea.

Mike and Jacquie are amazing hosts and I can't wait to go back. We're telling all of our friends to go there and I just hope it doesn't get booked up before we book!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIDDLYDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My partner and friends satyed here for one night at the end of February and all of us thought it was excellent. Both Jacqui and Mike are excellent hosts and have thought about everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable. The breakfast is one of the best I've tasted and perfect to set you up if you heading up to the slopes for the day. It was so lovely, it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer1977Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at Ard-na-Coille for three nights as a romantic getaway for Valentines. Upon arrival we were greeted with a beautiful house in a quiet location. Mike and Jacqui were there to take our bags and get us settled. We felt very welcome and they are great hosts. We had the four poster bed room which was absolutely gorgeous, amazing views of the mountains, spotlessly clean and a lovely bathroom. We were delighted. The breakfasts were out of this world, made to your liking by the wonderful cook Jacqui. The service was second to none and the delicious breakfasts meant we were set up for the day. We ended up booking an additional night as we liked it so much. I highly reccommend this hotel to everyone, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

“We had a wonderful 5 night stay in February 2010 and could fault nothing. Mike and Jacqui are the most hospitable hosts we have come across and made our stay very welcoming. As has been said many times before, the breakfast each morning was superb with wonderful views across the Cairngorms; a fantastic start to each day with fresh fruit, pastries etc and breakfast cooked to order covering all tastes. It was the small touches that also made a real difference though such as a fridge in the room with bottled water and fresh milk in a jug each day for making tea and coffee; good quality TV and DVD player in the room. Everything was catered for and the place was meticulously clean throughout our stay there. Location wise couldn’t be faulted either, Newtonmore shops and pubs are a pleasant walk from Ard-na-Coille and Kingussie a 5 minute drive, as is the A9. Unfortunately I never had time for the snooker table but maybe just as well I didn’t :-)"

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-JMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
315 reviews
1 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Address: Ard Na Coille Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: $112 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ard-na-Coille Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing