We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stop over in Newtonmore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stop over in Newtonmore”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lovely and very comfortable B&B in Newtonmore, very welcoming hosts (Jacqui and Mike) and excellent breakfasts to start the day with! Rooms are a very generous size and the House (house is maybe an understatement here!) is set up and away from the main road..... a little dark when you're coming back after the pub, but that's what happens when you forget your torch! Will be back!

Room Tip: The house is well away from the road and has great views across the spey valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nandh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
213
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County CT
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

When we arrived my partner had broken a tooth and was very uncomfortable. Jacqui called her own dentist and she was seen in a few hours to her great relief. We had room two a comfortable king with two exposures and a view of hills sheep and cows. Everything is spotless. Jacqui wants you to be happy and was very accommodating. She is justly proud of her breakfasts and puts out a great choice, but her eggs and salmon or sausage or ham or kipper are magnificent. It is obvious she is quite choosy about her ingredients. Excellent base for the Cairngorms, Loch Ness circle doable. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newy0rkcitygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spent one evening here with my girlfriend in September 2013. Both hugely impressed with the guest house. Jacquie and Mike were very friendly and the breakfast was amazing. Best croissants I have ever tasted and then found out they were homemade. Would highly recommend and would stay again it doesn't disappoint. Seen photos on the Internet which were impressive but they don't do it justice when you arrive. We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was immaculate and huge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jstizzle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here as we neared the end of our Scottish vacation over a year ago (June 2012). Despite the tardiness of this review, our stay at the Ard-na-Coille Guest House remains fresh in our memory!! The hosts, Jacquie and Mike, were very welcoming and provided us with some excellent advice on where to dine in the area. This is a lovely House and our room was very tastefully decorated.

Breakfast did not disappoint... it was, in a word, excellent.

I strongly recommend this wonderful Guest House!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at this hotel in July. Everything was spot on, theres nothing we can fault about the place. The room was clean and luxurious with plenty of space. Excellent facilities, especially the full size snooker table in the lounge area. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

All of the great reviews of this wonderful B&B are accurate. Mike and Jackie are fantastic hosts, and very cheerful people. Everything about this place was just what we were looking for during our 2 nights in the highlands. The breakfast menu is delicious, and they even brewed our own personal coffee we brought with us for the trip. We had a King suite with a view of the pasture and mountains in the back, it was glorious. The town of Newtonmore is charming and quiet, and has a very peaceful feel to it. My only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend here. Cheers, Rob & Lisa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we stayed at this very nice place, in our trip to Scotland, we got a great wellcome, the room was very comfortable, and of course the excellent breakfast made by Jacquie and Mike, we felt like kings in this amazing place, who gave us great explanation of the place so we felt like at home, thank you very much, hope to meet you again in this great place.

nurit and kobi - Bet lehem haglilit Israe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
18.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Property: Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Address: Ard Na Coille Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ard-na-Coille Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing