We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here one night but I wish it had been more. The received a lovely welcome from Mike and Jackie. We stayed in the four poster bedroom which was spacious and airy. There is also a very high standard of cleanliness which would put a lot of four star hotels to shame. In fact this is a very high quality B & B. There was plenty of tea or coffee in the room with a selection of biscuits with water also as an option. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast next morning was again of a very high standard. I would highly recommend this B & B and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived, Jackie & Mike were the most welcoming, friendly & attentive hosts. The b & b is immaculate, no stone s left unturned to make it the most pleasant of places to stay. We stayed in the room with the four poster bed which was lovely & spacious, the mattress on the bed was so comfortable too! Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay as perfect as it was, and it was clear that this is exactly how all guests are treated. A review of Ard-na-Coille would certainly not be complete without a mention of Jackie's delicious eggs benedict, her pride in her star dish is fully justified. A wonderful place, cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My family and I booked 3 rooms, for 1 night, at this outstanding B & B in June 2013. We were welcomed by Jacqui, who was a delightful and attentive host, and shown to the 3 rooms. Each room was quite unique, beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. All rooms had fantastic views over the surrounding hills and countryside. The rest of the house was just as tastefully decorated and clean. Jacqui also recommended a local pub for dinner which served wonderful food. Breakfast, the next day, was delicious. Lots of choice, from oatmeal to eggs served whichever way you liked. Nothing was too much bother for Jacqui who made all of us feel so welcome in her home. All of us can't wait to return to this little gem of a B & B.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4 poster bed room - fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A beautiful house, lovingly restored. Every detail has been thought of....down to soft dressing gowns and a perfect breakfast. A completely attentive host! Comfortable and secluded. A real treat at a very reasonable cost

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wished we'd stayed longer than 2 nights! We had a lovely welcome from Jackie. Room 1 was delightful: large comfortable four poster bed and spacious room with wonderful view. Spotless and very tastefully decorated. Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed at the Ard Na Coille with friends, we have stayed before and wanted them to experience the place, we were not let down, absolutely beautiful room with a 4 poster bed
the lounge area is lovely, and the breakfasts are to die for (eggs benedict)
nothing is too much trouble, even to the extent of Mike driving us to the Letterbox restaurant.
you are both a credit to Newtonmore
went horse-riding and enjoyed the whole weekend very much

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, we liked room 1 with the table to sit at and the 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanaholic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'll be quite un-original in my review of this place. It seems everyone already put an excellent rating... but I will have to follow the trend... this was simply an amazing stay!

The first impression is that of beauty: you drive up the path to the house which is something like 10m above the road. You arrive as this beautiful guesthouse, where Jacquie welcomes you in her home. Jacquie was s sweet and helpful during our stay, doing all she can to make your stay amazing.

So for the rooms: a big room, a nice bed, tea and coffee and a big box of cookies. Not to forget the milk that Jacquie brings to your room so you can enjoy it with your coffee or tea :-)

However we felt compelled to go enjoy the living room. Imagine this beautiful room. At the back a huge snooker table (I had not clue about the ruled but Mike gladly provided a quick explanation.

In the main part of the living room, great sofas and chairs, with a small gas fireplace, giving it such a warm feeling. Just ring the bell (a real one :-) ) and you can ask for a nice drink, sitting and relaxing, enjoying the warmth of this place.

So simply thank you Jacquie and Mike to have made our stay a great stay. Our only regret is to not have stayed longer here!

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms are great :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 23 in Kingussie
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Eagle View Guest House
Eagle View Guest House
#5 of 13 in Newtonmore
147 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#2 of 23 in Kingussie
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Address: Ard Na Coille Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: $111 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ard-na-Coille Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing