We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Highlander Hotel(Newtonmore)
$120
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Balavil Hotel(Newtonmore)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crubenbeg House(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clune House(Newtonmore)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coig Na Shee(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glen Hotel(Newtonmore)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
261
6
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
6
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseggs benedictfour postersmall fridgeposter bedfresh milkrabbits runningroll top bathb bsnothing is too much troublea lovely staylovely roombreakfast was amazingwarm hospitalitysecond to nonekippersfriendly hostswalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 270 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our second stop at a Highland B&B so we didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to find an elegantly appointed guest house run by our new best friend who's a gourmet cook.
The views from the room are great (see attached) and the area is lovely. There are pubs in Newtonmore and Kingussie to visit, both places within walking distance, if you're so inclined. Both villages have interesting historical features.
Jackie can clue you in, however your taste run, from trail walks, working dogs, wildlife park, the forest sculpture trail....

Room Tip: The house is surrounded by lovely views, you can't wrong. The hosts advise bringing a car. Check out Practical car & van rental website.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this place to stay. We had a weekend here at the start of may and it was lovely. Great views. Such a warm welcome from Jaquie and Mike. We were made to feel very welcome. I loved the small touches like the strawberries on arrival and the chocolates beside the bed and the robes in the bathroom. Good selection of teas and coffee in the room. The bedroom was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good! Lots of selection and Jaquies freshly cooked eggs benedict with bacon was extremely tasty. In the evenings it was enjoyable being able to use the sitting room to have a drink and play snooker. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We would recommend Ard-na-Coille guest house without hesitation. It is spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. Jacquie and Mike are very warm, welcoming hosts and very friendly. Breakfast is an absolute treat - everything cooked to perfection and of a very high quality. The mountain views from all the rooms are delightful. The house is in an elevated position so there is no road noise and it is very peaceful. There is a lovely long drive up to the house.

We stayed for 4 nights from 2 - 7 May 2013 and would love to return one day.

Thank you

Christine and Patrick

Room Tip: We had the four poster room and it was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent 4 wonderful nights with Jackie and Mike everything was perfect so much better than some 5 star hotels. The rooms are so comfortable, clean and with the best views you can
Imagine. When it comes to breakfast well, just image your best breakfast ever and it is better than
that. Their attention to detail is amazing we just loved it.
Lesley Mccarthy

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we had rooms 1 and 2 these were big and had wonderful views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Somehow we knew when we entered the driveway which led to Ard-Na-Coille that we were in for a treat. We stayed for one night on the 29th of April 2012 and it turned out to be the most luxurious place we stayed in our 5 week tour of the U.K. It's a mansion, not just a house and the surrounding scenery is spectacular. Ard-Na-Coille is just a few minutes drive out of Kingussie so we had magnificent views of snow covered mountains out of our bedroom windows.
Jackie and Michael are wonderful,warm hosts and have won many well deserved awards for their establishment.Not only are the bedrooms luxurious,so too are the billiard room and lounge room which are available for guests to relax in.
Jackie is famous for her scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which we enjoyed but there is also an enormous array of other delicious food to choose from,all set up in the beautiful dining room. Service was top class and we will definitely be going back in 2014 because one night in Ard-Na-Coille is not enough!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews