We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ever!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best ever!!!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic !! My wife and I are just home from the most luxurious night away we've ever had! We have stayed in some of Scotland's best hotels and guest house's over the years from St Andrews to glen eagles but none of which have a look in on ard-na -coille house! On first arrival driving up the long drive and seeing the beautifull house and surroundings was breathtaking then ringing the bell to have the nicest welcome from jacquie who took the time to show us around the house, where we'd be having our breakfast, the snooker room and lounge I must also add in her slippers which instantly made us feel as if we were at home! Our room was absolutely stunning with its four post bed and beautiful antique furniture.One of the most important things to my wife and I is cleanliness when we stay away and we just could not fault the whole house its immaculate from top to bottom and the edition of jacquie and mikes own invention called TOTALLY FLUSHIES a very simple but completely ingenious antibacterial toilet seat cover which most people will admit can be a big issue when staying away from home!! After a fantastic nights sleep we got up to probably the best breakfast I've ever had! Jacquies own eggs benedic I can honestly say I've never tasted anything like it and quite understand why it was awarded five stars . Genuinely can't wait for another reason to come and stay again and have to thank both jacquie and mike for making our anniversary one to remember for ever! Thank you Simon and Marie

Room Tip: No mater what you pick you'll be very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
213
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just come back from a six night stay at Ard Na Coille. This is our fourth visit. We stayed in the four poster room which is extremely comfortable. The luxury of having a silent fridge with fresh milk daily is wonderful. Jacquie's breakfast are second to none. The choice is amazing and they are well cooked and nicely presented. Jacquie and Mike make you feel right at home and always go the extra mile to make sure all your needs are met. Missing it already and can't wait to go again later in the year.

Room Tip: The four poster room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Utterly brilliant. This is such a gem of a find. Mike and Jacquie are the nicest people we have met. We arrived to be greeted by a smile and lemon drizzle cake. The room was lovely, warm and incredibly comfortable.

The bed....what can I say....I went to bed (after a brisk walk into town for dinner) and before my husband came out of the bathroom, I was fast asleep. It was the best nights sleep I have had all holiday.

The whole hotel is exquisitly decorated, the views are magnificent and if I could buy this place I would!!! Jacquie's breakfasts are beyond incredible. Her take on eggs bennedict is something out of this world and was the best thing I had eaten all holiday, its not surprising that she has won awards for this.

This really is a warm, friendly, welcoming, homely guest house, and I truly wish we had stayed longer, this is fantastic value for money too. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this guest house. They should be given 6*'s.

Thank you Mike and Jacquie we will be seeing you again very soon.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, but we had room 1 and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in Feb while skiing at the Cairngorns. It's a 35/40 minute drive from the slopes but was the nicest place we could find in the area. The room was one of the smaller ones but as we weren't in it much, it was fine. Breakfasts were lovely and plenty of it. Nice comfy bed, big flat screen TV, biscuits and fresh milk in the fridge.

The only downside is the location - it's a 20/25 minute walk into the little town which we did each night for diner. There's lots around which you can drive to but if you like a drink or two then you have to walk. It's a straight, we'll lit road into town so not the end of the world.

All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely consider it again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30sHelpfulhints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had booked in for two nights and the whole stay was just superb! The hosts were fantastic; the rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated; the location is fantastic; Jacqui is a brilliant cook/host; the place was spotless and the attention to detail was so refreshing - we can't recommend this place enough! This is exactly how a guest house should be run! We're looking for any excuse to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms are an excellent size; decorated and displayed beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently booked a stay at this remarkable B&B with Jacqui and Mike as we wanted to explore more of the Cairngorms and didn't want to stay in the more touristy towns such as Kingussie or Aviemore. It turned out to be a really excellent choice because of the very high quality of this B&B. Our room had a lovely bucolic view out of the front of the house, and absolutely everything one could possibly want on a break was provided for; a fridge with bottled water, tea (including herbal and fruit), coffee, fresh milk, little chocolates every day etc. The room was splendidly large and comfortable, the bed was firm and the bathroom was a very decent size. The toiletries provided were also of a high quality which goes to show how much effort the owners have made to make this a first class place to stay! Wi-fi internet provided in the rooms was also fast and reliable. The breakfasts provided were also well above par (try the eggs benedict, of course), with interesting pastries baked by Jacqui on an almost daily basis. All in all, this was a really first-rate experience and we will not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody. (And Robbie was adorable!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemisworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathclyde
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

You would really have to stay here to appreciate the beauty of this house! Mike and jacqui could not have made us more welcome and the eggs Benedict are to die for! My husband asked me why on earth I had booked a B & B but was massively surprised when he saw the quality of the property. Looking forward to next years visit already! Thank you guys for sharing your beautiful home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V3NAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.9 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
2.4 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
203 reviews
18.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
2.0 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Property: Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Address: Ard Na Coille Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ard-na-Coille Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing