We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
437
49
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
437
49
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hazel cottage log burner douglas fir cedar cottage games room basket of logs excellent cottage fantastic week walled garden stunning scenery french doors perfect location dalwhinnie distillery milk in the fridge highland holiday bedroom cottage new owners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 489 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

If you're staying in the Highlands you simply must stay here. Beautiful cottage, gorgeous surroundings and very helpful yet not intrusive hosts. Red squirrels and red deer in the grounds as well as some nice walks, great for dogs and well placed for local attractions and wildlife/walks. Already planning out return visit next year!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank thaivol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISE M, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We’re so delighted that you guys had such an enjoyable time, and thank you for your lovely feedback. We really are quite spoiled with the local wildlife, the red squirrels are particular favourites of ours, we could watch them eat nuts for ages on the .

Really looking forward to welcoming you back,

Best wishes

Lily and Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

We have just came back after a fabulous week in these amazing highland cottages. 5 star for us. So peaceful and very comfortable.
Every visit we see more special changes Lily and Jon make for guests comfort.
Our granddaughter Emma and dog Sam loved playing in the walled garden. Also there's great walks around the area and a good central point to drive around the Highlands.
There's a fab steam train trip from Aviemore and the folk museum in Newtonmore is free!
We mostly ate out in Newtonmore, lovely meals in the hotels. We found a menu for Balavil hotel we'd never used before and the food was great. Also use the Glen a few times, always good.
Our best meal was a takeaway from Mehmoods Indian, who delivered to the cottage, it was amazing.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISE M, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Hi Marilyn,

We’re so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful week, even though the weather was a little dubious. !! It’s extra special when our return guests come back and love the place every bit as much as before and also recognise all the little changes we are trying to make.

Thank you for your lovely review, and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future!

Best wishes

Lily and Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

One word for me sums up this place and it’s the word ‘Fabulous’
Fabulous views, fabulous cottages, fabulous owners, already booked to return in November.
Wonderful, clean, snug beautifully appointed cottages, with many homely touches and an amazingly comfortable bed.
Had such a great week there

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cassiafistula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISE M, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2019

Hi Adam and John, we’re so delighted that you guys enjoyed Birch cottage and managed to relax; you guys have been working so hard, so it’s great to know that you had a little bit of r and r! We’re really looking forward to welcoming you both back in November, the weather will be a little different then I think! But it’s so perfect for nights by the fire .
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. See you soon . Lily and Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

This review is overdue as we stayed in June 2018, but it was absolutely wonderful. The cottage (Douglas Fir) was charming - well appointed, very clean and plenty of space. Although they are attached, they feel private and quiet. Beds are comfortable. We enjoyed having the a full kitchen as well private outdoor space for dining. Kids liked the the children's play area and pond. I also can't say enough good things about the owners, Lily and Jon. They were very friendly and helpful - answering all questions about the area and the property, and even helping to get a birthday cake for us. It was absolutely perfect! Many thanks for a fantastic stay. We hope to return!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcase01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISE M, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We’re delighted that your whole family enjoyed your break in Douglas Fir and that both the cottage and the surrounding area met your expectations. We hope to see you all again the near future.

Best wishes

Lily and Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Thank you so much Lily & Jon, we had a week at the fantastic cottage called Hazel, fully fitted for 6, everything we needed for our stay, amazing toiletries and all the firewood, starters we could need. Anything we wanted, we just asked and had very friendly responses. The cottage was very clean indeed, and we had a little area where I sat many times with my book to read. The area has lots to discover, sweet little villages, walking trails, woods and hills to walk in/on. Delighted to see how environmentally friendly they are there with a special area for recycling items. We loved it, peace and tranquillity at it's best, we have already booked for next year! Can't wait!!

Room tip: A choice of cottages
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUISE M, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Hi Pam,

We’re delighted that you loved Hazel Cottage. We had no doubt that you would love the area, as you were brought up in Laggan after all, so it’s extra special that the holiday cottages didn’t disappoint. Hopefully when you return you will bring a new four legged friend? I will leave extra dog treats for him as you know how much we love dogs here. Thank you for your tip on where to get doggie ice cream, it went down a treat for our boys. See you soon and thanks for your kind review.

Best wishes

Lily and Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews