We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pine cottage.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pine cottage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for a week...was hoping for rain and wind, got showers and sunshine, lovely place to stay, will be coming back with the kids...and car....pine cottage was perfect for me and the husband, kitchen was very well equipped (husband impressed as he's a chef) Cameron was very helpful and available when needed (thanks for the lift ) . The location is perfect if your looking for peace and quite with beautiful surroundings. Mountain bikes are available (free) which we took full advantage of...also the games room....lol....pool table was a great laugh....cues need to be better...but anyone visiting will love this place. Look forward to visiting again.

By the way....brown trout....? Are you sure?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi there,

Thank You very much for your review we much appreciate your time.

It is great to hear that you had a great laugh in our games room, just wanted to let you know, we have change almost everything in it, we have new football table in and the brand new pool table is on this way also!

So next time when you come it is going to be here!
Looking forward to hear from you in a not too distant future!

Best regards,
Your Crubenbeg team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
147
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here with my partner in September 2010 & have been eager to return ever since. We stated in the pine cottage. Setting was stunning. Cottage was lovely, didn't want to leave! Didn't get a cottage with wood burning stove as they were booked up already but gas fire had same effect. Can't wait to return again but this time with baby as well as dog :) can't recommend highly enough, perfect Scottish getaway :) Eco touches are lovely too.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenNicol82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a week in February 2012. At first we were unimpressed with the cold welcome we got both in temperature of the cottage and from the owners. The cottage had a very inefficient wood burner, but it wasn't on when we arrived nor were the electric heaters!! The cottage took a long time to warm up, and although appeared clean, a little attention to detail wouldn't have gone a miss. Dust on the lampshades etc... The kitchen again, very poorly equipped, and a very irritating kettle - there is being energy efficient and there is pure ridiculous!! You had to pay if you wanted more logs for the fire!!! - and for the electric we used! - surely a regular supply of logs would make us feel more welcome? Oh, and we come from a very rural area of Wales and source our own firewood to heat our own home - we're not townies, in case anyone thought different. Next time we visit the highlands, we will be bringing young children, and have decided that although Crubenbeg is a lovely location, its not ideal for families! It would cost us a fortune in logs and electric!

Oh and a tip for any travellers to this part of the highlands, AVOID the Star Inn in Kingussie!! It's awful!!!!!

The best service and value for money eatery we found was the italian on the roundabout in Aviemore where you could have a 3 course meal for £12 a head! and of course the Ski and Doo in Aviemore too is a great place for a pint and to taste a wee dram :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 856mountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crubenbeg, Owner at Highland Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest, we are sorry the welcome was rather cold. It would have been good to have had your comments 8 months ago when you stayed. We have now removed all the Eco kettles from the cottages because of the problems you mentioned and replaced with tradional kettles. We do also, in the winter; aim put the heating on before guests arrive, but this cannot always be achieved, so sorry. We can only apologies about dust on the lamp shade, we do endvour to have the cottages pristine clean, but it seems we over look this item.

We originally offered everlasting free logs to our guest, however it was abused. We now supply one large basket of logs, kindling, matches and fire lighters for free and then additional baskets of logs at a below cost price (£5). This is clearly detailed in the T&Cs and booking letter.

We want all our guest to have an enjoyable time when staying at Crubenbeg, so we would like to offer you a %25 discount on any future stay at Crubenbeg and we will throw in free logs for the duration of your stay.

Just give me a call and we can see if we can book you in.

Kind Regards

Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pine Cottage was ideal for my husband myself and our cocker spaniel. A very comfortable cottage well equipped and we did enjoy the living flame gas fire.My husband found the shower good as he has problems getting in and out of a bath.Cameron was very helpful without being in anyway intruisive.
We will be back and recommending it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a lovely couple of nights with friends staying in Hazel cottage. Accomodation is excellent with everything you need provided for. Sian and Cameron on hand if you need anything. The setting is idyllic, if you like walking there are loads of places to go locally & if you are more adventurous then Aviemore is just up the road. or you can just relax & enjoy the peace & quiet. Just off the A9 so easy to find. Suited to groups of friends, couples & familys with a games room & play area. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Liz

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hazel cottage was perfect for my wife, myself, and two friends and our little dog "Maddie". Situated just off the A9 in a perfect location is an ideal place to explore the highlands. The cottage was clean and had a well equipped kitchen, the lounge area has a log burner which made it very cozy. Had fun fishing the lochan, Cameron made time to stop and ask if we had everything we needed, a totally relaxing weekend, and we would recommend it. Definitely return next year,,,,,,,,,, many thanks. Robert & Jean

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and myself and our two friends, stayed in Hazel cottage last weekend. . Absolutely gorgeous cottage, and everything you would need for a cosy ,,,, weekend, week or 2 weeks. Woodburner was brill and kitchen very well kitted out. Very easy to find off of the A9 a few hundred yards and your there.....Its a great base for anywhere in the Highlands to visit ... Cameron was very helpful with anything you needed to know....We will be going again next year ,,,,,,,,,,, fantastic setting ,,,, cheers Betty and Walter . Also a games room about 50 yards from cottages .

Room Tip: we were in HAZEL cottage , which was very good for my disabled wife,,,,,,,,,corner suite is large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
18.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
23.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
23.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Property: Highland Holiday Cottages
Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Highland Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing