We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cottage's and surroundings ,,,,,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Holiday Cottages

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Highland Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage's and surroundings ,,,,,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and myself and our two friends, stayed in Hazel cottage last weekend. . Absolutely gorgeous cottage, and everything you would need for a cosy ,,,, weekend, week or 2 weeks. Woodburner was brill and kitchen very well kitted out. Very easy to find off of the A9 a few hundred yards and your there.....Its a great base for anywhere in the Highlands to visit ... Cameron was very helpful with anything you needed to know....We will be going again next year ,,,,,,,,,,, fantastic setting ,,,, cheers Betty and Walter . Also a games room about 50 yards from cottages .

Room Tip: we were in HAZEL cottage , which was very good for my disabled wife,,,,,,,,,corner suite is large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
141
146
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a wonderful location, conveniently close to Aviemore and A9 yet set in unspoiled stunning surroundings. The cottage itself is comfortable and cozy, perfectly clean even for my very high standards. The kitchen appliances (dishwasher, oven, microwave, fridge) allow a very wide variety of cooking and eating in. A woodstove, electrical heaters and a towel rail in the bathroom make sure you don't freeze getting out of the shower or sitting in the living room at night.

Sian and Cameron make you feel very welcome and provide excellent ideas for things to do and places to to in the area. Cameron, special thanks again for suggesting a more scenic route to Aberdeen - on a sunny day is was just spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirgitinFFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver End, Witham, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Elm cottage in August 2012 (2 adults, 2 lively boys and labrador). Could not fault the cottages, very clean, the boys loved the games room, golf and the lochan though didn't catch any fish. Sian and Cameron were very helpful and the surroundings are stunning. Very easy to find but still feel like you are away from it all. Ideal for exploring the cairngorms and definitely recommend the furnicular railway at Cairngorm. Will definitely be returning, hopefully in 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our recent stay in Hazel Cottage was great and the cottage was very clean with a fully equipped kitchen and overall good value for money. Our kids loved the play area and games room. We did lots of day trips from here to explore the area including Blair Atholl Castle; Aveimore; Glenmore Forest Park and Landmark Park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed twice - in Pine and Cedar cottage. Pine has good disabled facilities but no garden, Cedar has access to the garden. Both are warm and cosy and very clean. A good base for a holiday as it is just off the A9 but very quiet too. Lots and lots to do from the location. Owners are welcoming and helpful and the log fire is a must on a cool evening. The visitors book was great for suggestions of where to visit and eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I found and booked Crubenbeg cottages and as like all internet bookings was a bit apprehensive to see if the cottages would live up to the billing, we should not have worried. The cottages are well equipped and in a really beautiful, peacful location. We stayed in Douglas Fir and we have a lovely little garden with a great view of the hills and the duck pond . The kids loved exploring the surroundings and would have loved to spend more time just pottering around if only the weather had been a little better. That said there was plenty within a short drive to keep us occupied. There are many walks and cycle routes easily accessible from the house and loved having the Trium Falls just on our doorstop. We managed to get our daughter on one cycle and really apprecaited the free bikes available on site.

The accomodation is well equipped, the bedrooms are quite small but perfectly adequate. We loved having the woodburning stove to help warm up chilly July evenings ( yes I said July !!!) Suggestions for improvements would be minor it would be good to have a small welcome pack so you could have a drink on arrival .

To sum up if you want a holiday where you can have the opportunity to chill out with wonderful views then this is the place to be. Would love to come back again and hopefully see some elusive Scottish sun .

Room Tip: The cottages facing the pond have great little private gardens
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location, great accommodation, atmosphere at Crubenbeg is very friendly, fantastic base for a family holiday and the wood burning stove is fantastic. This was our second trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
18.1 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
23.0 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
18.0 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Holiday Cottages

Property: Highland Holiday Cottages
Address: Crubenbeg | Cairngorms National Park, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering accommodation Aviemore, top quality, family-run self catering accommodation near Aviemore. For luxury holiday cottages, Highland Holiday Cottages is Number 1 in Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Here at Highland Holiday Cottages near Aviemore in the Cairngorms National Park in Scotland, we offer amazing 4-star luxury holiday cottages. We are only twenty minutes drive to Aviemore. We have all the holiday cottage luxuries that you would expect on your holiday in the Highlands. We are pet friendly, self catering accommodation located in the Cairngorms National Park, in the Scottish Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Highland Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Cottages Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing