We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming comfortable hotel, handy to the A9”
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Welcoming comfortable hotel, handy to the A9”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We stayed here one night whilst travelling south. It is a handy diversion from the main A9 but in a quiet location on the edge of the town. Our room was a bit small but had all you could need in it, including two small armchairs. As previously mentioned some of the stair and hall carpets could do with replacing but our room was immaculate. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, giving us good directions for a pre dinner riverside walk. Excellent kippers for breakfast

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadenochHighlands, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
Thank you for taking time to place a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Glen.
We have noted your comments and can confirm that the carpets in the hallways and staircase are about to be replaced once we have competed the refurbishment of two of the bedrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Glen in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    22
    3
    11
See reviews for
58
145
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

A group of 21 birdwatchers stayed at the Glen Hotel.
The food and service was excellent and the rooms recently re-furbished to a very high standard.
We needed some medical help during the stay and they came to our rescue with no problem at all.
It's always a worry organising accommodation for large parties but I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel in fact I am already planning for 2011.
Thanks Ken Reeves. www.burbagebirders.co.uk

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burbagebirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast at The Glen Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, it did help that the temperature outside was 24 degrees! The owner was friendly but not intrusive when we arrived and we were left to our own devices which we really liked. The bedroom we were in was immaculate, I couldnt find fault with anything, my husband thought the TV was too high and I suppose it was a bit near the roof and awkward to watch if you like to watch TV in bed but that is really picking faults as everything else was perfect. The bed was huge and really comfy, the decor was lovely and furniture of a high standard. Our room was cleaned and towels changed and tea coffee etc refilled and mugs were replaced for clean ones not just wiped as you often get in hotels! Ladies you dont need to pack a hairdryer, shower gel or handwash as this is all supplied. Thick, brilliant white towels and face-cloths were supplied and smelled lovely and fresh. We found all the staff to be very friendly, the cleaner, bar staff, waitress etc all were really friendly. We had a meal on the first night which was lovely, the chef makes the best coleslaw ever! On the second night because it was so warm we found a chip shop in Kingussie and sat on a travel rug beside Ruthven Castle/ barracks (I think it was) and noted the temperature was 22 degress and that was at 9pm! On return a chap called Capone was singing and playing guitar, he sounded great but we sat outside on the picnic tables and listened as inside was packed. Locals were charming and other guests very friendly, we were saying on the way home we have never been to a hotel where everyone is so nice, it was really realxing. Perhaps the outside could be spruced up a bit, the flag poles need a paint and nice flowers in the tubs would be more welcoming, but that would be the only negative thing to say about the place. Have to mention the waitress, who worked split shifts as we saw her morning and night and was always pleasant and friendly, even though at breakfast one morning she had to attend to a family of 6 who had her running back and forth to the kitchen with various requests! She had lots of patience and we hope she gets a pay rise! We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadenochHighlands, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Many thanks for taking time to post your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Glen Hotel again in the future.
You will be pleased to know that we are already painting the flagpoles - we have been waiting for some good weather! and that planting of the pots and hanging baskets will be completed within 14 days.
Many thanks
Chris Goodhill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Four of us have just spent 3 nights at the Glen and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The hotel is well situated in the village and has an ample car park. It is kept in lovely condition, is clean and tidy, nice and warm and the owner and staff are very welcoming. The meals were lovely and very good value for money, the beer was perfect (Camra award winner) and the service from all the staff attentive but not intrusive. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, we will be back! Oh, just thought of one minus point - they had Chris Moyles on the radio at breakfast time, enough to put you off your food!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereveryougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, Surrey
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We have just returned from our second trip to the Glen Hotel and we haven't been disappointed again. This is a warm and comfortable hotel with one of the best hotel restaurants i think i have ever been to. The rooms are spotlessly clean with a warm homely feel to them. The owners are incredibly friendly and knowledgable on the local area, nothing is too much trouble. I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family and indeed are hoping to return later in the year with them. FANTASTIC!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkachEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed in this delightful hotel in February 2010 with my husband for 6 days.
After a long journey we received a very warm welcome from our hosts Chris and Kim and were shown to our very clean and comfortable room, the bed was Superking size with crisp white bedding. The bathroom had both a shower and a bath which after a day on the slopes or a day of hard trekking was a godsend.
The evening meals were superb with a huge diverse menu to choose from, we took the special promotion deal of 2 dine for £22 – well worth it ! The service was quick and efficient even though they were very busy serving both other guests and locals. A very popular restaurant and after tasting the local venison I can understand why. There was a quiz night when we were there open to guests and locals – a thoroughly enjoyable evening hosted by the owner Chris – great fun even though we didn’t win.
All in all I would highly recommend this 12 bedroomed hotel as the perfect base to explore the highlands. Room was very comfortable , cleaned daily . Food superb, the staff couldn’t do enough for you and were at all times very friendly and professional.
A great holiday, one to remember and we will return !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiestababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Small family-run hotel on the main st of Newtonmore. Ample parking.
Friendly welcome. Efficiently run.
Our double en suite with king size bed, soft chairs,shower,flat screen tv, tea,coffee and shortbread was warm and comfortable. Free wi-fi available
Good choice at breakfast including kippers. Evening meals could be taken in the bar or dining room. Delicious and good value.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful.
Good walks around the village ... try the wild cat trail for good views.
A great stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
19.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Property: The Glen Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing