We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glen Hotel - shower before you go?!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glen Hotel - shower before you go?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at The Glen Hotel recently in Newtonmore a small but rather delightful village. Our room (no. 9) was pretty standard pub type accommodation - basic furniture but comfortable beds and chairs. The worst aspect was that the room stank of smoke. (It may be a non smoking establishment now, but if it wasn't in the past there'll be a tonne of fumes trapped in the carpet and furnishings which won't disappear with open windows and a gallon of air freshener). Also, our bathroom, pink, (very 1970s) only had an ancient hose type shower unit from the bath taps making it impossible to get and then maintain the right water temperature. Fortunately we were able to tip toe along to our son's room to use his moderately modern shower, otherwise we'd have been forced to 'paddle' in the bidet! Loo was very reluctant to flush! Ate in the pub in the evening which was fine. Suspect owner is working is way round the rooms doing them up in which case please give priority to bathroom in Room 9 - the lino alone is enough to give anyone a migraine!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 9 until bathroom refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinTinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review. The reviewer is quite correct, this room is due for refurbishment during the winter of 2012/13. It would have already been completed had it not been for the global recession that has also hit the Scottish Highlands!. Despite being of an age everything is clean and works - we are unable to find a problem with the shower pressure and can find no record of any guest reporting a fault! We suspect that it could you been caused by a 'kinked' shower hose - we have replaced this as a precaution. With regards to the smoky smell - we are sorry but we did recently have to evict a guest for smoking in this room (9)( which also triggered the fire alarm) and whilst the room has now been professionally cleaned (at the smokers expense) we suspect that this guest stayed in the room in the intervening period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    100
    19
    3
    11
See reviews for
54
129
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our drive around the highlands. A rather unremarkable village in itself. We had very good communication with the hotel before hand and things were mostly as expected. A bit more rundown than we had expected, and not in a charming way. We got three rooms on the first floor. The rooms were ok--clean, if a bit small-- but the one facing the parking suffered from a lot of early morning noise. The staff were generally very helpful and kind. The breakfast was very good though the service was slow

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UE_DC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Glen.
Having been built in 1901 as a Highland Guest House some of the rooms are a little small in comparison to the modern hotels but we endeavour to make up for this with personal service.
We have a constant refurbishment programme which has slowed a little recently due to the global recession but will now continue during the Winter 2013/2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have eaten here quite a few times and have always found it to be a good stop off point on our way North. This time we had arranged to meet my parents for lunch with our 3 young children and got a floor show as well as our meal.

Not long after we got our meal the table across from us were served theirs. The lady tasted her soup and asked if she could have it warmed up a bit. The waitress took it away and a few minutes later the manageress came stomping back into the room, slammed the bowl down in front of the lady and loudly informed her of the exact temperature of her soup and said that it was perfectly warm enough. The lady looked slightly taken aback, tried her soup and again said she would like it to be hotter. This did not seem to go down well with the manageress who seemed to be under the misapprehension that the lady had been rude to her waitress (she hadn't). Again the customer was told her the temperature of the soup, said that it was plenty warm enough and that she would not be heating it up any more. By this time the entire bar was politely trying not to look as the situation escalated. The manageress continued to argue with the poor customer for another good few minutes until the lady eventually decided she would cut her losses and just not eat the soup. The manageress told her that was her choice and moved away from their table. After a couple of minutes the couple thought better of their decision to eat in the Glen Hotel and left without eating their meal. The rest of the customers continued with their meal in a kind of stunned silence for fear of encountering the wrath of the management.

I have never witnessed customer service quite as appallingly awful as this. Such a minor issue could have been dealt with so easily without causing a massive scene and the embarrassment of every other customer in the bar. The food may well have been quite nice but I can't honestly remember after the distraction of the cabaret.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We thank you for your review even if it is somewhat inaccurate. The reviewer appears to have centred on the soup which was not hot enough which as she has pointed out was rather trivial and could easily have been rectified but has entirely over looked the fact that the guest in question was rude to a young waitress and had her in tears in the kitchen.
This is why the drama took place.
We have zero tolerance to assaults on our staff whether they be physical or verbal and despite the fact that reviewer did not hear her swear at the waitress the lady did later return to apologise and, we, having accepted this has dined here on at least two occasions since.
We do however apologise if this caused any upset to any other customers at the time and can assure you that it is not a regular occurrence at The Glen!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This trip was to celebrate my 65th birthday in a part of the country that my husband and I love.
The scenery is magnificant and the weather was scorching....all the makings of a great break.
However the hotel was very clean and the room was comfortable, but because we were at the
front of the hotel with the smoking and outside drinking area below the noise went on well
into the night. Staff closing and having conversations around 1.30p.m. didn't help.
The food was average as well although the gentleman at the bar was helpful when my husband
did not eat or enjoy his meal.

Room Tip: It would be better to face the back of the hotel as it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review and we are pleased that generally you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciated that this guests husband did not enjoy his dinner on the second night and as a good will gesture it was credited from the bill although it was agreed that this could simply have been personal taste. Thankfully both guests enjoyed their dinner the night before. On the Saturday night there was a function at our village hall and we suspect that it was revellers from this, combined with open windows due to the unusually hot weather that caused the disturbance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our room was large and very clean. The bedding was luxurious and the bathroom (ours across the corridor) was clean and well equipped with plenty of light.

It was a hot night that we stayed and the windows don't open a lot. I don't think this would be much of a problem in a normal Scottish summer but there was an unprecedented heatwave during our stay!

We ate at the pub and the food was very good with extremely efficient and friendly service. Breakfast offered a variety of options,including the best kippers ever.

Overall a very good value for only option in a most magnificent part of the world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsevenphive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our favourite places to eat and managing to get 3 meals there in a week made for an excellent holiday.

Food lovely and service excellent. Very welcoming to kids and nice games room for post lunch game of pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cr1mson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have used this hotel for years we were eating outside just finished our lunch when the owners wife came and asked us for a credit card I case we forgot to pay no probs with that if I had been asked before we sat outside we had been there an hour or so I told the staff we were regular users the boss then came out said he didn't care don't come back if you weren't happy really bad attitude I myself own a number of multy million pound companys if any of my staff talked to my customers like he spoke to us they would be sacked on the spot will never recommend this place to anyone typical take the cash doesn't care a toss about his customers

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jbtkirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
You will find no other review on this site or any other that even remotely suggest that this is the attitude of the management or staff of this hotel.

Rude customers with a bad attitude will not be tolerated at this establishment especially when they object to paying or leaving their card on the basis as they 'had not been asked for it before' .
The rules apply to all and are not waived for a selected minority.

Whilst they caused embarrassment to other customers eating on the patio this will not happen again as they have now been 'barred' so any future diners will not have to put up with this type of behaviour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Property: The Glen Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing