We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy base in the Highlands....”
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cookham
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Comfy base in the Highlands....”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice and reasonably priced hotel - our room was comfortable and clean (and toasty warm in Winter), breakfast was fab and included in the price...we ate in the restaurant and the food (pub grub) was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    22
    3
    11
See reviews for
58
145
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Four of us stayed in Newtonmore overnight as we were undertaking the East Highland Way in mid-March 2013. Our accommodation was just across the road from the Glen Hotel so this is where we repaired to for our evening meal. The food was excellent and the portions generous. There was a good selection of drinks and the landlord was most amenable. A superb friendly place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Applecross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Due to work I tend to do a lot of travelling, The Glen Hotel has become my go to hotel when stopping in the highlands. The rooms are comfortable and clean, all have Sky TV and free wifi...a must when phone signal is so poor.

The star of the show is the bar downstairs, stocked with a selection of hand pulled ales and a friendly atmosphere. The food is excellent, i especially liked the Venison Casserole I had on my last stay.

If you are passing past Newtonmore, you wont find a better place to rest your head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Over the last few years we have stayed at The Glen and have been made most welcome and feel like we are at home! Rooms are clean and fresh and the food is very value for money and excellent standard. They ALWAYS make sure they have belly pork on the menu for my fiancé which should give them 6*!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b16_lnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013, very pleasent and comfy.The room was cosy and the staff friendly and helpful. The bar had some very good local real ales and was welcoming.The food in the was very good and wholesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrP029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Once again a trip to Newtonmore made even better with the hospitality from Chris & Kim and their staff. And great food, diet required!
Hotel is warm, very comfortable and nothing is too much trouble, real home from home. Thank you all....

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable, ask if you need anything special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwell, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well, where to start! After an uneventful drive from Leicestershire to the Highlands, we were greeted by Chris and Kim and immediately made to feel at home.
We were to have been staying in the hotel but were offered the bungalow, which was just what we needed. With my in-laws being in their 'twilight years' this meant that they could relax in peace once the festivities got a little too much for them.
The first time we stayed at the hotel was in 2003 and now, whenever we've head to Scotland, we always make a bee-line for the Glen due to it's atmosphere, hospitality and great food.
I cannot recommend The Glen highly enough. If you're intending to go to the Highlands, you would do a lost worse than give them a call!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
19.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Property: The Glen Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing