We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband, our five-year-old, and I stayed at The Glen Hotel for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. There is plenty to do in and around Newtonmore; it was a perfect hub for our holiday in Scotland. Close enough to Inverness for a day trip with many activities nearby. We enjoyed walking the "Wildcat Trail" in and around Newtonmore, and the Highland Folk Museum was a terrific oasis of playground fun for our wee one.

The Glen Hotel is clean, quiet, and friendly. We loved the pub food and the included breakfast. The staff was helpful, kind, and welcoming. A definite thumbs up from our family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    22
    3
    11
See reviews for
58
145
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingussie Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food was very good with a good choice for people staying longer than a week. We stayed for a week, There is a very good traditional pub with a nice choice of beers and whisky including local Ales. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Ideal to explore the Cairngorm National Park and surroundings

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLeestmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at the Glen Hotel for one night. Received a very warm welcome when we arrived. Had a great meal in the evening, the rooms were very clean and comfortable - exceeded our expectations. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast before we left. Couldn't fault this - excellent value!!!

Room Tip: Single room was quite small but had an en-suite and was comfortable. Double room was excellent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a very friendly place with excellent service. The rooms are good with comfy beds, but the bathrooms are a little cramped. My personal bugbear of heated towel rails where leg room should be. Its based around a good solid pub with good bar prices and good beer backed by some fine whisky choices. The food is fairly typical pub grub but it has some remarkably tempting specials that give it an edge. The breakfast has a good choice and is good standard. The governor made our night and when staying away from home that touch makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Consider staying here as an alternative to Aviemore
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharltonEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

After a long car journey with a baby, we were very pleased to arrive to a friendly welcome by Chris. The room was very clean and comfortable and we had a lovely meal at the hotel that evening. I found all the staff to be welcoming and accommodating. We would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieLouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenthompson, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing 7 night stay here. The food was first class, particularly the breakfast and they do have yoghurt now. The service was excellent and all the staff was helpful and polite. We found the rooms to be of good size and they had a beautiful hot shower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea and anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We loved this little inn. The staff and manager were friendly and efficient, the pub food was good, the bed was super comfortable, and the room and bathroom of a decent size. The best value for money accommodation on our entire journey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
3.3 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
19.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Property: The Glen Hotel
Address: Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing