We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Killin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at The Coig na Shee over the valentines weekend.
Our first impression of the B&B was us wondering whether we had arrived at the right place as it was so much better than we first anticipated when we booked.
The room was great with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on and was spotlessly clean. All the little extras put in the room, such as homemade biscuits, really made all the difference.

Both Marion and Graham are wonderful people who deem nothing to be too much trouble, to the point where Marion actually offered to give us a lift down to the village as the weather wasn't that great.

The highlight for my other half especially was the tasty home cooked/locally sourced breakfast which was perfect and kept us full all the way through to tea time.

I would 100% recommend this place to anybody looking for somewhere to stay with 5* quality without the extortionate price tag.

We are already looking at dates for our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beeches which was an amazing room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weejens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
151
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel for Valentines day. Having only recently moved to Aberdeen, we thought it would be nice to spend a romantic day/night in Aviemore. Whilst decided on a destination, the next port of call was accommodation. I looked through Tripadvisor and came across Coig Na Shee. I was impressed by the reviews left by others, and so booked a room for two on their website for £60. Even though it is not in Aviemore, Newtonmore has a lot to offer in terms of accommodation and scenery alike and was impressed by the village feel.
We arrived to the B&B after spending an afternoon on the Cairngorm mountain and was very impressed by the property in terms of décor and size, and loved the wood burning stove as you walk in. We were greeted by Marion, a charming and lovely woman. We introduced one another and explained that my partner and I were going back to Aviemore for a romantic valentine’s dinner. Such the host she is, offered to give us a lift to the train station even though it was only a 10 min walk away and even offered a lift back later on in the evening if it were “pishing down”.
Our room was very homely. We did book the smallest room available due to costs. The bathroom was compact but had all the amenities one could wish for.
For our morning breakfast, Marion mentioned that they offer specials depending on what locally sourced ingredients were available, and so I went for the scrambled eggs with salmon on muffins and Laura for the bacon, beef sausage and poached eggs on muffin. They were very good choices from us as we both enjoyed the lovely breakfast put on by Marion and Graeme. You do have a choice of cereal, fruit and juices to accompany your morning meal and so will not go hungry.
When leaving in the morning, we did have a quick walk around the back of the property along the Wild Cat trail. The scenery is spectacular and would encourage all staying at the Coig Na Shee to do it.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be going back for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to Newtonmore. We arrived after a long drive to be greeted by Marion and Graeme who were so friendly and accommodating. We had actually booked into one of the smaller rooms, however as the hotel was quiet we were upgraded to 'The Beeches'. This room was amazing- good sized bath and a large bed which was perfect for our romantic stay and engagement! Breakfasts were 10/10 with plenty of choice and clearly top quality ingredients.
Throughout our stay our hosts were so friendly and as they also live at the property with their young son, it felt like staying at some relatives house, not your usual hotel.
Overall this hotel is just lovely and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms are lovely but 'The Beeches' is extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukeandclaire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights in November. Location was excellent - tranquil and lovely setting. Close enough to drive to all the top attractions. Lovely views and we were lucky to see some of the local visitors - red squirrels in the garden and the sheep dog in action in the field opposite. We stayed in the Firs room which was spacious, cosy and had plenty storage space. Everything was immaculate and the little touches - tea/coffee tray, blanket, hot water bottle etc. - were more than you get in 5 star hotels! The amount of tour information and DVDs in the lobby was also very useful.

Marion made us feel at home throughout the stay and was an excellent hostess. Rosie the dog also said hello and caught up with us after our days out.

The breakfast was excellent - great choice (porridge, kippers, sausages, bacon, eggs, cereals, fruits etc.....) and all high quality local products to boot. The breafast room was lovely and the hallway with the fire was very cosy.

We only have very high praise for Coig Na Shee. Would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flightsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Perfect setting at Newtonmore, in the Cairngorm National Park. Lovely older property sympathetically restored with caring and helpful hosts. Very good breakfast cooked to order.
Recommended and will stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meeechigan1
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family stayed recently. Our host Marion made us feel very welcomed. Her husband Graeme was on site. Rosie their dog was a big hit.
The location is nice were venturing out. Close to the village and a couple of resturants.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were spacious
The morning breakfast was great with fruit, cereal, yogurt and cooked items. Pots of pressed and brewed coffee were served.
Would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeechigan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife, my brother and I stayed three nights in Newtonmore at Coig Na Shee, a delightful B&B. Our trip to Scotland was planned as an afterthought to a well-researched trip to Ireland, but staying in the Scottish Highlands turned out to be the highlight of the trip. Hosts Marion and Graeme had excellent recommendations for where to go, what to see and where to eat and drink. The B&B is spotless, comfortable and well worth the price. Of course, there's the full Scottish Breakfast of egg, sausage, tomato, mushroom and ham, along with porridge, coupled with a broad array of cold cereals, fruit and yogurt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.3 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#1 of 22 in Kingussie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Property: Coig Na Shee
Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing