We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Gem”
Review of Coig Na Shee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coig Na Shee
Ranked #3 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Scottish Gem”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We used Coig Na Shee as our base for exploring and it was perfect - quiet and warm and welcoming. Loved watching the swallows and the hens. Great breakfast! Excellent value and Newtonmore has great food to offer - we ate at the local pub and the upscale restaurant in town.

Jed H.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
157
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in "The Firs" and it was a beautifully appointed, well equipped, spacious room with a fantastic bathroom. Coig Na Shee really is first class accommodation and Marion really made us feel welcome. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have just signed up with trip advisor specifically to write this review. We've just got back from our 4th stay at Coig Na Shee and im sure it wont be our last. The owners Marion and Graeme really make you feel right at home, and are very helpful and knowledgable of the local area. The room we stayed in (The Beeches) is fantastic, in immaculate condition and very spacious; with an incredible view of the front garden and surrounding area. Situated in the quiet village of Newtonmore, its a short drive to Aviemore and the Cairngorm Park. Overall I really cannot recommend Coig Na Shee enough. Genuinely, it must be one of the nicest places to stay in the Highlands, if not Scotland.

Room Tip: The Beeches would be our favourite, partly because of the great view out of the window, but all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed at Coig Na Shee many times and have been made very welcome by Marion & Graeme. Every year we go to Scotland for a long weekend on the motor bikes. We make Coig Na Shee our base and travel around each day. After a wonderful hearty breakfast come rain or shine you feel up to the long days ride and look forward to the marvelous cooked evening meal Marion provides. If your leathers are wet (which does happen) Marion dries them overnight. Not many hosts would do that. If your a biker this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and clean, but the Beeches have a bed to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been to Coig Na Shee for only one night, and it was too short for us.
The house is beautiful, and Marion is very kind and helpful.
There is a pleasant feeling inside the house: Big and spacious and yet very warm and cozy.
VERY RECOMMENDED!!!

Pros:
Rooms are very big, spacious and clean.
The house is warm and cozy
Rich and delicious breakfast
Beautiful views
Lovely hosts
Decent price

Cons:
None........ :-))

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galileo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose this B & B as the result of the glowing reports on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

We only stayed one night as we were enroute to north of Inverness and wished to break our journey in Newtonmore.

Marion & Graeme could not have been more welcoming and made us very comfortable.

We persuaded Marion to provide an evening meal for us when we booked up as we did not want to go out again in the evening.

Our evening meal was superbly cooked and considerably better than what would be provided in some hotels and restaurants.

Breakfast was again superbly cooked, and there was a substantial choice to choose from. We gave our order the evening before, and it was served at the time we had agreed to have our breakfast.

Our room, The Pines, was very comfortable and well appointed with a good selection of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, available to brew-up. A couple of biscuit packs were also provided.

The house is situated in a lovely part of Scotland and a good centre for anyone wishing to base themselves there as lots of interesting places are within a couple of hours drive. It is also open all year round which could be a bonus for winter walkers or skiers.

If we ever need to stay in Newtonmore again, we would not go past Coig Na Shee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having found ciog-na -shee by chance on the internet,we were more than surprised by this beautiful house when we arrived. Marion and Graeme have decorated and furnished it to perfection keeping most of the original features .Their welcome was lovely and a pot of tea with biscuits was just what we needed.We had ordered an evening meal and this with the amazing breakfast next morning were first class.Our room had all the facilities we needed and the bed was very comfortable.The on suite was spotless and there was an abundance of towels of all sizes.We were so impressed with our over night stay that we immediatly booked for the following week when we returned from the north west. We had a different room this time which was of an equally high standard. It is obvious that Marion and Graeme put a lot of time and effort into Coig-na-shee and it shows.They made us feel very welcome and we look forward to trying the other rooms at another time. Thank you so much for a perfect stay and the picnic provided for our journey home,

Room Tip: all rooms were are fine but if staying for a number of days try one of the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
3.4 mi away
The Cross at Kingussie
The Cross at Kingussie
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#2 of 13 in Newtonmore
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coig Na Shee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coig Na Shee

Property: Coig Na Shee
Address: Fort William Road, Newtonmore PH20 1DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coig Na Shee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coig na Shee Guest House, a 1903 Highland lodge within mature grounds, is on the edge of Newtonmore, within the Cairngorms National Park. Offering stylish rooms, peace and quiet, and great breakfasts. Located in the Spey Valley, Coig na Shee is the perfect base for walking, climbing, (short distance to the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountains and many Munros), mountain biking (Laggan Wolftrax Mountain Bike Park is nearby), golfing, skiing, horse riding and many water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Coig Na Shee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coig Na Shee Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing