We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had a recent stay here with friend on Ski Nor-West break, can't fault it, staff so friendly, rooms very comfortable, and the food was very nice too, great choices each evening for dinner.
Would definitely return, good location for touring.

Room Tip: Ground floor, looking onto main street, but no noise from passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19aquarius51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will make a return visit in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 686 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the highlander hotel & was very pleased with what we got for what we paid! We booked through Ski Nor West, DBB & a days skiing. Rooms are a little dated and could have been cleaner but the bed was & that was all we were bothered about, it was only somewhere to get our head down. The food was very good! We all eat well. Staff were pleasant & friendly. Special thanks to Babara!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie13Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again next year for another skiing holiday if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently stayed here with my grandchildren for a few days but definitely not a hotel for children. The 2 rooms were ok with recently refurbished bathrooms. Yes they were nicely decorated but we timed it that it took 10 mins for the showers to heat up. Far too long with small children waiting around with nothing to do. TV was very limited and lucky to find 2/3 channels with a decent picture/sound. NO SOUND ON CBBC. I agree with other reviewers who stayed on the ground floor. We were awakened every morning from the sounds coming from the rooms above. They even started before children woke up!!!! Food was Ok but not great, very basic. Staff in dining room were friendly and attentive although baby high chair had not been washed since our dinner the night before and it took 3 times of asking before it was cleaned. Overall it was an OK stay.

Room Tip: Probably better to stay on the first floor then you wont be disturbed with noises from upstairs neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannywGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. We have ample hot water for everybody and it is unfortunate you were at the end of a line where it took a little longer to reach. As you will see from a previous response the problem with some of our TV channels has been rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Recently stayed here with my family (Mother, Father, Brother and Grandfather) as part of a package coach and railway holiday around the Scottish Highlands. The hotel is in a great situation with easy access to the the nearby Cairngorm Mountain Ranges, Inverness, Loch Ness and other areas of interest. The rooms are very basic and need some redecorating, cracks, a bit grubby in places etc. The bathroom was a good example of this. The shower did not look much but with a bit of fiddling turned out to be warm and quite good. Television was poor with the picture and sound not working at times. By speaking to other families in the hotel however, we were lucky to have one! The noise from other rooms was unbearable. We stayed on the ground floor and every time someone climbed out of their bed upstairs, it sounded like they were about to fall through the ceiling! In terms of entertainment or facilities, there are none. The bar was well stocked with a selection of good Scotch whiskies and some draft beers, but there was nothing to keep people occupied, no pool table, darts, games or anything like that. This would make the hotel very unsuitable for children. Breakfast and dinner was served strictly at 0730, and at 1930. The food however, was very enjoyable and filling. Wi-fi was only available in the hotel lobby area, which was a large room with couches and seating areas. In this room however, there was no background music, televisions or any other facilities. The staff were friendly and courteous however, no complaints with them whatsoever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenHarris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased to advise that we had a problem with one of our transmission boxes for our TV system which has now been repaired. The groups actually book their meal times with the hotel to ensure that the busy itineray they have can be met and to make the most of your time in Scotland. We do have entertainment on selected nights and board games, card and dominos are available from reception. We have many families who stay with us and most of them like to make the most of their time exploring the area and all it has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Highlander Hotel recently and can only endorse the comments made from others which are positive and meritted. The rooms are spacious and clean and the food is good too. Staff are industrious and friendly. I was able to negotiate a good deal which undoubtedly made the trip north worthwhile. Only thing I found lacking was access to a t.v. in the bar areas to watch the football and it's maybe worthwhile the hotel having this option available. If not there are other licensed premises nearby which offer this facility. The hotel does supply entertainment occasionally which is invariably traditional. Apart from the nearby Highland Folk Museum and walks there isn't much on in Newtonmore but it's a great place for a base to visit not only Aviemore and Inverness, but also Spean Bridge, Fort William and Loch Ness. The Hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Many thanks for postng your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed stay. Staff helpful and pleasant. Decor needs updated. Bar meal lovely as was full Scottish breakfast. Apart from highland folk museum which is worth a visit and the wildcat trail there isn't much else in Newtonmore. However Aviemore is about 15 mins by car and there is lots to do within a 30 min car journey.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We hope to see you back at the Highlander very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Highlander Hotel. Decent sized rooms, comfortable bed, good meals and very friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is a bit dated and the room above had very squeaky floorboards but these are very minor things. I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GlasgowGirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay with - we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
496 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing