We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great value for money, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this hotel on Classic Breaks website and, at £28 per person per night for bed, breakfast and dinner, we decided to book for 4 nights. A great decision!

It was very convenient for Cairngorm where we had three excellent days skiing. Also driving distance to The Lecht and Nevis if desired. Ski Norwest are based at the hotel making hire of equipment and purchase of tickets so much easier.

The room was warm, clean and comfortable with large soft towels and good bedlinen. Tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries were also provided. Room was serviced daily with towels, bedding and provisions replaced as needed. The heated towel rail was a welcome touch in the bathroom. Modern flat screen TV and alarm clock added to the facilities.

A team of very friendly and efficient staff were on hand in the large and busy restaurant. We never had to wait long but equally never felt that we were being rushed. Dinner was included in the price and was 3 courses with 4 options for starter and main, including at least 1 vegetarian choice. We enjoyed the retro dessert trolley which provided a selection of temptingly fattening puddings. . Breakfast was also plentiful with cereal, porridge and fruit buffet and good quality hot choices made to order. I cannot imagine anyone going hungry in The Highlander and most tastes were catered for. The staff here are wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

I would go back there any time and highly recommend the hotel to anyone, particularly if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    258
    132
    42
    21
See reviews for
118
303
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our second stop with our Newmarket Tour of Scotland was the Highlander Hotel in Newtonmore. Our room was comfortable and, whilst overlooking the main road, was quiet. The dawn chorus from the nearby woods was wonderful to hear. The bathroom shower needs some attention – I had to run round to get wet!! Food was OK, served to the table but staff hovered waiting to collect the empty plates and unused wine glasses. Comfortable lounge.

Room Tip: If you lie a dawn chorus, have a room roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on our way to a canal boat tour from Laggan. Hotel was clean and comfortable, but the walls and floors were pretty thin so noise was very noticeable. We were on the second floor, so not too bad but we could hear the folks on the first floor talking! The restaurant was pricey and the night we were there, there was a bus load of tourists and the place was packed. We had dinner at the pub down the street which was a better choice. Not many options in Newtonmore, so OK for a short stay. Staff was VERY helpful in arranging a taxi to get us to the dock at Laggan Lochs.

Room Tip: UPSTAIRS will be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morris91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forfar
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August. We were on a dinner bed&breakfast basis. Yhe room in the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The only thing that might be upgraded was the shower.. The quality choice and quantity of the food was really good. The staff were very friendly and so helpful. We found plenty of things to do in the area as well, and had a really lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were greeted by a friendly gentleman on arrival who provided us with our keys to our rooms. Our room was lovely, so comfortable and a good bottle of wine on arrival to the room. You can understand if you get a deal on Groupon you may not always get the best bottle of wine and the best meal included but not in this case.

We had a look at the extensive wine list prior to our evening meal, and sat in the very comfortable lounge (wifi included) and relaxed with a beautiful Pinotage.

The food was lovely, shin of beef was the main and it fell apart, the dessert trolley was to die for, so much so I kept recommending the crumble to the other tables in the restaurant.

All of the staff were friendly and said hello, while walking around the corridors, including the chef's walking between the kitchen and the restaurant.

On our last evening we had been in to Aviemore for a meal, when we got back to the hotel, we were advised that our table was free if we wished to watch the entertainment and asked if we wanted a bottle of the same wine as last night. Excellent service, it made us feel welcomed and special. We had a wee dance and then off to bed. Breakfast on both days was very good, all well-cooked.

Thank you for a great stay.
Emily and Iain

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were travelling as part of large coach party, and perhaps at the lower age range of the group, so we would not expect luxury at the price we paid. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The bedroom was tired but of a good size and clean. The hot water in both the shower and the basin was erratic. The tables and the space between the tables in the restaurant was cramped. Food best described as average. I would not stay here as an independent traveller.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lottielenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

booked and paid for a double room, upon arrival was given keys to a twin room, when i went back down to reception to reception to explain, the receptionist told me they had no other rooms and thats what i would have to stay in. when i pointed out that they recieved, confirmed and took the money for a double room i was still told no! it was only after a coach party came in that a double room became available! the chap behind the bar was very friendly and the evening meal was nice enough, breakfast was poor, theres no mobile phone signal or wifi in the rooms and there were just average! there are better hotels and more helpful staff in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing