We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An exellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An exellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great Hotel situated in a lovely location for a trip to Aviemore and the surrounding area.
The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble.
We were able to park our motorcycles under cover as well.
Also when we returned from a ride out the manager was there waiting with our room key.
The rooms are spacious and very clean and good tea and coffee making facilities are available.
The hotel restaurant served a good value 3 course meal and all served by caring staff.
The breakfast served to us in a good old style and was a superb Scottish option !
Saturday evening featured a local musician to add to the atmosphere.
We would definitely use this hotel again when in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quite as of the hotel location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    258
    131
    42
    21
See reviews for
118
302
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Highlander. The rooms are dated and the whole place needs modernising, but it was very clean and pleasant. The staff were friendly, breakfast was good, and the price was fair.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smanders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I struggled with what rating to give this hotel but plumped for 3 instead of 2 due to the hard working and nice staff.
To me it is an ugly looking hotel built in the 70s no doubt, the reception is fine and we were very quickly dealt with and told which building we were in as there is 3 separate buildings. We did have a good deal with 2 nights b&b with a 3 course dinner on the first night with a free bottle of wine for a bargain £99.
We got ourselves organised and went for dinner but the restaurant was heaving so we went for a glass of wine where the price was £5-20 for a 187ml bottle, i thought there goes my cheap weekend. Needless to say we only had 1 each and then went to dinner where a regular bottle of wine was around £17 acceptable for a restaurant.
We both had mackeral for starters and then i had roast beef with trimmings, i wished i had taken a photo of what i got served, it was disgusting with dark thick gravy a soggy yorkshire pudding and beansprouts served as a vegetable. However i did eat most of it as i was really hungry.
The walls of the hotel rooms are paper thin and we can here clearly what our neighbours are up to and no doubt they could here us. We were rudely wakened at 6am due to smokers outside the block opposite laughing and talking loudly but that cannot be attributed to the hotel but just extremely rude people.
Breakfast was just about ok with a cheap sausage small rasher of bacon fried egg and haggis but i found it tasteless so we did not go for breakfast the next day.
Overall the stay was just about ok but we wont return, there is another hotel down the road where we had a fantastic meal on the second night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howwood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

5pm offer for a couple, includes B&B for 2 nights with dinner on the first night.

At first glance this hotel may look a little dated, possibly twee. However the welcome was warm, the double room was large and the location is perfect for exploring the West side of the Cairngorms National Park.

There was ample parking at the rear of the hotel, wi-fi access is available to guests in the lounge area (password available from reception) & the staff were, without exception, courteous & attentive. The double bedroom was spacious & had an en suite shower room, shower gel & handwash provided. The hotel was sparkling clean throughout.

Dinner on the first night in the restaurant was from a restricted menu which covered all the bases. It was surprisingly delicious, considering they were catering for 2 coach trips plus a smattering of individual guests, & the dessert trolley was to die for!

All in all this is a fantastic place to stay when exploring the area. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms at the rear of the hotel have a wonderful view of the mountains to the rear. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerseye42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel and found it to be a little gem. The staff were very friendly, the rooms are very clean and of a reasonable size. However, the best bit was the restaurant - the food was very good and the service first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L1z123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here via a deal through 5pm.co.uk. : As previous reviewers have stated the bedrooms are separate from the main building we travelled with our 3 kids the youngest is 3 , we had 2 family rooms , they were spacious, decor from the 80's but spotlessly clean. Plenty tea, coffee etc, shower gel was provided and a hairdryer. There is no wifi in rooms and a temperamental reception in the lounge area. We had 9 analogue channels on our TV. However the surrounding areas are so lovely we were not on the hotel much.
When we checked in we were informed by the lady at reception that dinning was 7.30 pm - 9 pm but could we come at 7.30 I explained that my youngest was 3 and could we eat earlier as we had been travelling all day. She suggested that we give her chips at the bar but because we had booked a deal with 5pm our meal could not be altered - she also said that I should have checked the meal times when I booked. I said i had tried but found it difficult to find a website! she told me i should have called to ask ! She was politely abrupt ! We went for a walk and headed to the bar about 7 as we we all hungry by then . There were a couple of coach trips staying at the hotel - what a lovely bunch of octogenarians they were , we had some lovely chats- everyone was waiting for dinner to be served - we did get some chips - they were very nice. At 730pm dinner ( canteen style) was served -its a long time since I have seen chilled fruit juice as a starter ! It was a set menu with 4 choices for starter and main followed by a desert trolley. I felt like I was at a wedding reception ! The dinning staff were so quick at getting the food out - incredible as the dinning room was full, we had garlic mushrooms to start - well mushrooms in a creamy sauce on a piece of french bread that had garlic butter on it, followed by mushroom stroganoff ! Same mushrooms in a creamy sauce with rice ! Super sweet pavlova for pudding. The food was hot it was edible and the whole dinner service was concluded within the hour ! We took our coffees through to the lounge- we were the only ones there.
I think at one time this might have been a fancy hotel- resort type motel! it clearly caters for coach trips and is used to feeding en-mass - which it is very good at.
The staff are lovely so friendly , helpful and efficient. It was excellent value for money however I would not stay here again it is incredibly dated , it is too restrictive with the meals, the beds were not particularly comfortable and we felt out of place .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilovemyholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of an eight day 'Top to Bottom' coach tour of Scotland, with Angus Coaches our local company.
First impressions was of a rather confusing layout, more a shortage of signs, as the bedrooms are in a separate building to the facilities but soon had it sorted.
For the evening meals each course is served as a complete meal, i.e. no separate vegetables. The Turkey was dry and tough and the Three Meat Pie was rather sweet, pity that as the meal looked very good. Other than that the meals were very good and well proportioned. Sweet was served from a trolley by a very pleasant young lady. Breakfasts were also very good.
The bedroom ( 122 ), twin beds, was reasonably sized, clean and in good condition. The bath room was larger than normal but only had a shower. There was some noise from the next door toilet when refilling. Otherwise it was a pleasant stay. Electric, unusually, went off twice during one night.
Would be very happy to stay there again, cannot comment on value for money obviously as stay was part of a package tour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing