We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were asked to pay £80 but when booked through booking.com it was only £60 and the staff were unwilling to accept. My husband had to try and log in to his emails through his phone. When the staff were shown the email they finally agreed to change the cost. Also when we were checking in we asked about dinner and was told there was a menu in our room and were also told where the dinning room was. That night we went down to dinner and were seated in the rather dated dinning room and handed a set menu. When we inquired about it we were told it was a highland night and the other menu was not offered. We asked why we were not informed at check in the staff very abruptly said we don't know. The meal it's self was terrible. The fishcake was like on of the ones you used to get in primary school. The beef stew was even worse there was no flavour except in the carrots and swede. At the end of our meal(half of which was never touched) we tried to find a member of staff so as we could pay there was no staff available and the lady we did finally speak to advised she would add it to our room number and we just pay it in the morning. When we went to checkout the cost of the meal was £39.40 when again i asked about the issue of not being told about the meal we were met with you were told at check in. We paid our money and left asap. My husband and myself have been to Newtonmore on holiday and for long weekends on many occasions over the last 5 years. Needless to say this is the worse hotel I have ever stayed in and will never stay here again. If you are staying in Newtonmore stay at The Glen or the Balavil or even the Duke of Gordon in Kingussie avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christinersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I was disappointed to read your comments. There appears to have been some confusion over the menu – we offer 2 menus here – one is the bar meal menu which is in every room, the other is our table d’hôte menu which is displayed at reception and changes on a daily basis which has a choice of at least 4 items on each course. We do not offer a set menu as you suggest and we are unsure why you mention a Highland night as we have not had such a night since last September. Our table d’hôte dinner with coffee , which you chose to have, is £18.00 per person, hence your bill of £39.40 as you had a couple of soft drinks as well.
At no time did you say you were unhappy with your meal and you certainly did not question your bill on checkout – indeed you did not mention anything when you checked out - what you have written here is untrue.
We take every comment seriously but are disappointed that several of the points written here are not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    274
    141
    48
    22
See reviews for
123
324
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for a 3 night ski break. The staff are great and very welcoming, they really look after you. If you are looking for somewhere to crash after a long days skiing the hotel is ideal. The food is traditional and will fill your belly. The Bathroom is very dated, maybe even an original 80's suite and could do with an update but the room was very clean and importantly warm. Graham and Barbara from Skinorwest are great, very helpful and can't do enough to make your trip go smoothly. You'll hopefully, like us, have a very memorable stay at The Highlander Hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a bath, ours just had a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpeoples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review - it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

FYI - We do have a programme of improvements for our bathrooms in the pipeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at the Highlander and only have good things to say about it. Great staff..thanks James, Eric and Neil..who provided great service. Food was lovely..and just what we needed after a day on the slopes. Room was warm and comfortable..had everything we needed.Graham and Wendy who run ski norwest were brilliant. gave loads of information..helped us with ski hire and booked extra ski school lessons and found us alternative skiing when avimore was closed due to bad weather. Will return here again was so happy with it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We very much appreciate the kind sentiments posted following your stay with us. As you have experienced we can offer a one stop shop here at the Highlander for all your ski needs. With Ski Norwest based at the hotel they can kit you up and arrange passes so you dont have to spend as much time waiting at the ski resorts ensuring you make the best of your holiday time.
We hope to see you again before the end of the ski season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed with 11 friends before Christmas Monday to Friday on a coach trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We found the hotel warm and welcoming, the warm mulled wine and mince pies were much appreciated and the staff were superb. It was extremely cold and icy outside but a staff member stood in the cold with our keys so we could get in to our rooms quickly.

The only disappointment was the evening of the Christmas dinner when another big party were in the dining room too and the meal appeared to have been waiting to be served. That apart it was an excellent trip and we have already thought of going there again. I totally endorse "Jeff's" comments on the decorations, they were lovely. Overall it was the friendliness and efficiency of the whole staff that clinched this as a place to return. and the sweet trolley had to be seen to be believed!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your Turkey and Tinsel Break and hope it put you in the festive mood! We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a Christmas package with a coach tour, the location is superb, we found the the bedroom and the bathroom a bit basic and could do with refurbishment, however they were clean, warm and comfortable, the main hotel lounge, bar and restaurant are good and the staff had made a real effort with the decoration.

The reception and all the staff were helpful, polite and friendly and all made Christmas an enjoyable experience, the meals and catering were good with an excellent Christmas dinner and party atmosphere.

Overall for service and food the hotel is excellent, but accommodationtion is probably about right with a three star rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your festive break here at the Highlander and appreciate your positive comments. It is particularly rewarding when you mention our xmas decorations as although it takes many hours to put them up we get a lot of enjoyment from doing so. We hope you will have the opportunity of staying with us over the festive period in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A very nice hotel which I visited on a 3 night coach tour.
.
The food was very nice and plenty of it and the sweet trolley was to die for!

The hotel staff were all very polite and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel as it is also convenient for touring the Highlands.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fenya006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLUKE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

we had a ladies shopping day in Inverness and came back to this Hotel for the night. When we arrived we were greeted with mulled wine and warm Christmas pies. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice. The staff were pleasant and helpfull. The entertainment was very good and appealed to the wide range of ages present. The rooms were very comfortable and had a peaceful feel to them.
The only downfall I could find was that they did not sell wine by the glass. You had to buy to buy a very small bottle which i think was 18ml and that was £4.99. Much more expensive than spirits. Apart from that a great overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRANCES W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I am sorry that you felt that our 187ml bottles of wine were to expensive at £4.95 but hopefully you will come back and stay with us if passing this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
297 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
464 reviews
18.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing