We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ladies night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
CARLUKE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ladies night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

we had a ladies shopping day in Inverness and came back to this Hotel for the night. When we arrived we were greeted with mulled wine and warm Christmas pies. The evening meal was excellent with a good choice. The staff were pleasant and helpfull. The entertainment was very good and appealed to the wide range of ages present. The rooms were very comfortable and had a peaceful feel to them.
The only downfall I could find was that they did not sell wine by the glass. You had to buy to buy a very small bottle which i think was 18ml and that was £4.99. Much more expensive than spirits. Apart from that a great overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRANCES W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I am sorry that you felt that our 187ml bottles of wine were to expensive at £4.95 but hopefully you will come back and stay with us if passing this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    265
    135
    44
    22
See reviews for
121
312
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

we stayed at the highlander for 4 nights on a bus tour,the hotel comprised of three separate buildings,two buildings for rooms and one building for lounge,reception and dining room which only takes seconds to go between. our cases were delivered to our rooms at start of trip and collected from rooms and end of trip. Breakfasts consisted of cereals and porridge as help yourself while your order of cooked breakfast was ordered and delivered on a plate to your table,we had a three course meal in the evening with a different choice every night,food was first class and very filling,service was first class and staff were very naturally friendly ,polite and very helpful.Our rooms were very clean and nicely heated for out arrival. Wifi was available in the lounge free of charge. If ever back up that way I would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Many thanks for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very enjoyable experience from Nov.16th until Nov.19th
Check in so easy, only drawback was the fact that we had to carry the case up the flight of stairs to the first floor.-Proved rather difficult when using a walking stick as well!
The room was nicely decorated & fitted out, also really hot when we entered. Radiator could be controlled by guests.
Bathroom well fitted out but no shelf inside bathroom on which to leave sponge bags. Eventually left them on the shelf outside the bathroom.Water always very hot & towel rail always sufficiently hot to warm bathroom as well as dry towels.
I found the bed & pillows rather soft but there again that is a matter of preference. There was no noise from guests or from outside the buildings
Rest of facilities really good, excellent food -(which is served,ready plated, after choices are made).Very comfortable lounge & delightful staff, always smiling & ready to help.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for the Christmas season (as was the Main street of Newtonmore). Great thought & effort had been put into the decorations at the hotel.
The one drawback (which we found later could have been solved ) was the fact that we had to cross the car park from the annex to the building which housed reception, bar, lounge & dining areas.This meant wearing outdoor coats when cold or wet! If you need to wear a coat when going to dining room etc there were coat hangers in the Ladies Cloakroom.
Apparently there is a way through another building which provides an almost covered walkway.
All in all a super hotel which I thoroughly recommend.
Hope to return again in 2013!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caspersgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia R, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for all your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you had to carry your cases upstairs to your room had you gone to reception one of my team would have been delighted to carry them for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A great weekend, the service from the staff was great. All friendly and helpfull. The rooms nice and comfortable. The only fault I would have. Was the food could have been a bit hotter for me. I know they were busy with bus trips. The service for food was quick and efficient. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag MacRae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We appreciate your kind comments and will pass your remarks on to the chef.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlander in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghead
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every year for the past few years I have attended the RAF Kinloss Mountain Rescue Annual dinner at the Hotel. I have always had a great meal and we are all well looked after.

Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWhalleyBurghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we thoroughly enjoy hosting the annual dinner and very much hope to welcome you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Came here with a group (Newmarket)in September this year on a Highland Rail tour. Check in was seemless, staff available to help with the directions and any other information needed. The staff were always very attentive, courteous and extremely friendly a big thank you to the management (Cynthia and all her team), keep up the good work alsoThomaz and the rest of the team.
The meals were excellent, the breakfast scrumptious with great selection of help yourself cereals, porridge, etc, waiting staff then quickly took cooked breakfast order which arrived promptly and hot, asked if required extra toast, coffee.
Dinner was again well served- prompt orders taken and a good selection, and always hot and quickly served.
There seems to be issues raised re set meal time but these do work well when on timed visits on coaching tours. It means that the clients eat and are ready for a prompt departure as distances to be travelled and the road system (no motorways here!! requires strict timings to be adhered to otherwise tours/ trains etc would be missed.
With regard to the free Wi-Fi offered it was available in the reception area, many people were taking advantage of it, but sadly no-where else. This is not a problem however, if you need to 'work' whilst on holiday it is there for you. Mobile phones will work in some areas but mine would not work in the hotel, but would in the grounds and sometimes in the car park. It depends on your service provider of course and it is the Highlands!!. This hotel is officially rated as a 3 star property, and contrary to some reports I suggest a fair rating.
There are a few places to visit in the village such as Clan MacPherson Museum, Highland Folk Park and the Wildcat Trail and there is an 18 hole golf course only a 5 minute walk away.
However you should use this hotel as a base to cover the whole area- the Monarch of the Glen area, Loch Laggan , Aviemore, Inverness, Fort William and the Great Glen are all within easy driving distances.
This hotel has a large parking area more suited to coach groups but do not let me put you off. I have recommended friends to stay here as you are always made very welcome- There is a great large lounge area, plenty of chairs and sofas, well lit and comfortable. If its a 'plastic' Travelodge type hotel you are looking for continue north up to Inverness.
There is a small supermarket a short walk from the hotel and there are a couple of hotels with bars not too far a walk away. Remember though you are in a Highland village.
The rooms are clean and tidy, mainly all of a similar size which is adequate for your needs. You really only need to sleep ther not hold a party!! There is complimentary shower gel and shampoo courtesy of dispensers on the wall of the shower and adjacent to the sink.
There is a mention of sound insulation but I never noticed but when you have been out all day, had your meal and a beer then sleep comes very easily in a comfortable bed. The windows thopugh could be double glazed as noise from the road is audible but worse is the condensation on the inside in the mornings...however this does not detract from the fact it is a great location with good food and helpful staff.
Like I have said would recommend this hotel as a base with comfy beds, gooid hearty food and well placed for the area as a whole.(Especially when you see the prices on offer)

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review giving the group traveller an insight as to how the hotel manages their group business. We have been dealing with groups for many years and appreciate your comments and understanding of the need for set meal times which subsequently ensure that the groups itinerary is met. We hope that you will choose the Highlander for a future tour and we would be happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clydebank
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Took a weekend break at this hotel 26l27th Oct and I have to say it was thoroughly enjoyable.
The staff were very attentive, courteous and extremely friendly. The meals were excellent, the breakfast scrumptious (apart from the black pudding yuch!!) and that coming from a scotsman who knows his puddings.A lovely night was had on the Saturday with nice and easy listening live music and a chance to step the light fandango.

Thank you to all.

Alex Blair

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cuddles511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr Blair
Many thanks for posting your comments on trip advisor, we very much appreciate you taking the time to do so and we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we will have a word with the chef about changing our black pudding supplier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Star Hotel
The Star Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kingussie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing