We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better everytime.”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from the Highlander, a 2 nite visit, this time, wished it was longer, have now stayed at this hotel, at least 10 times over the past 8 years, and have never found any faults. If you do your homework, our break was with Classic Britain, you can get some fantastic deals to stay here, this time we paid £120 per couple for 2 nights dbb, with a free bottle of wine thrown in. No negative comments on room, warm, cleaned properly every day, thanks cleaners, meals are now, breakfast from 0730 till 0900, 9.30 at weekends, dinner from 1930 till 2100. Large parking area, large lounge area, plenty of chairs and sofas, My mobile worked perfectly well, in room, wifes didnt, not the hotels fault. Meals, great selection of help yourself cereals, porridge, etc, waiting staff quickly took breakfast order which arrived promptly and hot, asked if required extra toast, coffee. Dinner meals again, good selection, and always hot and quickly served. We have stayed in other hotels in the area, from Aviemore to Kingussie, but always try and book the Highlander if available. The Highlander is ideal as a base for visiting the surrounding area, which is exactly what we do on holiday, we travel all day only returning to the hotel for meals and sleep, Newtonmore is only a small village, but in good weather we like to go out for a walk, after dinner, around the town, some very nice properties, and always receive a friendly hello from the locals. Dont knock Newtonmore, have you walked around Aviemore mid week, after 5 oclock, in Oct, its dead. No the Highlander has done us well these last years and will continue to do so, quiet, peaceful, good service, meals, good staff, exactly what a holiday is all about, relaxing, so to Cynthia and all her team, keep up the good work and hope to see yous all again soon.

Room Tip: The Highlander has an annexe buiding sitting next to the main hotel, away from any traffic noise, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it is great that someone who has stayed with us on so many occasions continues to enjoy their time at the Highlander. No doubt you have seen much change over the years but we are delighted that you still thoroughly enjoy staying with us – we look forward to welcoming you for many more future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 691 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had family room 34 with my wife, 6, 4, and 1 year old. The room was spacious, warm and clean, with double bed, 2 singles and a cot for the little one. We had an absolute great overnight on our short break in the highlands. Upon arrival we received all the information we needed and were immediately made very welcome. We didn't have dinner in the main dining room as we wanted something a bit quicker, so opted for the child friendly bar meal instead. Food was decent enough. Breakfast was included in our cost of £75 and all 5 of us had a full Scottish. The staff just couldn't do enough for you and we were very well looked after by Thomaz and the rest of the team. Thank you very much... Upon arrival it was a bit wet and the car park was quite muddy. We went to Aviemore Fun House (Hilton) and the kids enjoyed the softplay, etc. On the Saturday we spent 3 hours in the Highland Folk Museum (near the Highlander Hotel), which we could have easily spent another 2 or so hours, with the highlight the school house and the sweety shop! Free Entry, but please donate something to keep! A super quick overnight with the whole family in the Highlands of Scotland, stunning autumn scenery, which is very hypnotic!

Room Tip: Room 34 was a family room, spacious and to the carpark, but with garden view. Very quiet, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments – we are delighted that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and hope that it wont be too long before you make a return visit and explore the rest of what this fantastic area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What’s good,

Clean and tidy
Reasonably well positioned
Helpful staff
Attractive lounge

What’s not so good,

Bar prices
Waiter service for breakfast
Specific set meal times
Poor sound insulation between rooms
Lack of double glazing

The following is my review of my stay of 4 nights (coach holiday) in September 2012. For the record, I don’t believe in leaving unjustified comments. The following comments are truthful and honest.

This hotel sits at the far North end of the main road in Newtonmore. Its location is some distance from the railway station, which is at the other end of the village. There is a small supermarket a short walk from the hotel. There is nothing much in the vicinity of this hotel, a few pubs, a charity shop, post office and that’s pretty much it other than residential houses.

There is one particular issue I have with this hotel, and that is the waiter service breakfast. Providing numbers justify it, breakfast in almost any hotel now means a buffet. A self-service buffet is a standard feature of hotels in the 21st century. Serving breakfast waiter style is a serious mistake by the owners of this hotel. I cannot understand why this hotel has this particular practice. Waiter service for breakfast is an absolute NO-NO! For coach holiday visitors, set meal times mean exactly that – if your breakfast is said to be at 7:30am, you are meant to be there at 7:30am - this issue would not arise if breakfast was served buffet style. The hotel appears to be creating problems for itself by this policy. Sorry, but the days of set meal times are long gone.

The room I had was clean and tidy, if compact. There was complimentary shower gel and shampoo courtesy of a dispenser on the wall of the shower and adjacent to the sink. Sound insulation is very poor due to the thickness of the walls. It’s no exaggeration to say that you can hear the voices of the people in adjacent rooms as well as those above or adjacent to you. Furthermore you can people using the toilet in their rooms, which isn’t very pleasant. The room I had was on the front of the property with the main road adjacent. Traffic noise was something of a problem. This was not helped by the fact that the window was not double glazed – there was a drought seeping in through one of the corners, this could pose a more significant problem in the cold wind months in this part of the world.



It would be unfair to say that this is a bad hotel – it isn’t. But, its standards are somewhat off 21st century expectations. The waiter service breakfast is a serious error. Being old fashioned and dated is not an issue in itself; however one gets the impression that there is a lack of willingness by the owners to modernise and spend money if hotel guests keep coming back. That approach projects the wrong image.


£1.70 for a can of coke is ridiculous, although no doubt typical of many bar prices now. Room service menu prices are typically what you would expect. Free Wi-Fi was available in the reception area, however its coverage was patchy, one evening it would not work at all, furthermore it is not available in the rooms. Mobile (Cell) phones will not work in this hotel, you will have to go outside to make a call. This hotel is officially rated as a 3 star property; however it is more akin to a 2 star hotel.

Every hotel has its good and bad points, but this hotel ticks too many wrong boxes. It really needs bringing into the 21st century.

Recommended? Make up your own mind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your review which will be shared with our team. As you have pointed out, the hotel is within a small Highland village and there is not a vast array of shops in the village but most visitors find there are sufficient services here particularly as the majority of their holiday is taken up by exploring the wider area. There is an abundance of activities to suit all ages if you prefer to stay within the village – Clan MacPherson Museum, Highland Folk Park and the Wildcat Trail are just a few and there is an 18 hole golf course only a 5 minute walk away.
We do not have the space to allow for a full buffet breakfast as you have mentioned but we do offer porridge, cereals and fruit buffet style. We take orders for and serve the cooked breakfast to ensure that it is at its best when served and we find that this works best for the limitations we face. Over the years we have found that tour guides prefer the groups to have a set time for breakfast as this ensures that everyone in their group is ready to leave at the time required by their itinerary.
Unfortunately we have no control over the mobile phone signals but in addition to having phones in all the bedrooms we do also provide 3 public telephones for guest use. As in many areas of Scotland there are times when Wi-fi connection is difficult to obtain but we do offer this free of charge which is not always the way in many hotels.
We will pass your comments about the sound proofing and windows to the relevant people within the company and address this as best we can in the near future.
We do appreciate that you have made several positive comments – everyone has different expectations and we are sorry that yours were not met on this occasion. I hope that it will not deter you from using our hotel or others in our group in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I don't understand why there are so many negative reviews on this hotel. We stayed there the last 2 nights and have nothing but praise. Staff are excellent and informative, service is good rooms are in good condition and warm. Great location, worth visiting the Folk Museum just along the road. Note museum closes end of October for season.
Food was good, prices for drinks were fine.Remember it is a 3 star hotel, and deservedly so.
Spoke to a number of couples who are repeat visitors and they were full of praise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Many thanks for your positive comments after your recent visit to the Highlander. We do find it somewhat surprising to get negative reviews as we find when people are leaving they are full of praise, then lo and behold a few days later we get a bad review! It is refreshing and reassuring to receive positive reviews so thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Newmarket Holidays Highland railway/coach holiday. Most of the guests were also on similar group holidays. The food was good and service very efficient given the numbers they were dealing with at each meal. Staff helpful and friendly. We had a first floor bedroom in the block away from the road, which was nice and quite at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FJWChichesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following a stay with us here at the Highlander. We appreciate your kind comments and hope that you will be able to make a return journey to the hotel at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I came for a second visit to this hotel via a 5pm deal. I have only ever found staff helpful, polite and efficient. On each visit we have had a good sized room. always get a good nights sleep as tranquil location. We were delayed while travelling and called the hotel to advise them, without being prompted they offered to switch our meal to the 2nd night which was thoughtful as our deal had specified dinner night of arrival. The food itself lacked finesse but was perfectly acceptable. We visited highland wildlife park on both occasions and would highly recommend if wolves,tigers and polar bears are your thing. Only thing I missed was wifi in our room but there is a wifi spot in the public area. Look forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sgribbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments. We hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Highlander in the forthcoming months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went for two nights bed and breakfast evening meal first night through 5pm .com £99 pound per couple arrived to be met by very friendly staff who were very knowledgeable about the local area gave us great advice.the room was big decor around the hotel was dated but very clean I have stayed in worse dinner was wholesome and hearty and free bottle of wine went down a treat. This is excellent central location to explore the area I would stay again no problems

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henriktreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us and hope that it wont be too long before you make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
258 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
353 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
21.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $64 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing