We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel,good base to visit cairngorms”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel,good base to visit cairngorms”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with husband as a 5pm deal. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant througout our stay. Hotel was clean and rooms basic but comfortable. Dinner was included on the first night and after reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive. The food however was a pleasant surprise and was served efficiently and was piping hot. This was no mean feat as the hotel was full with several coach parties.Breakfast was also good all cooked fresh to order and nothing seemed to be a problem if you had a special request. All in all we had a lovely stay in Newtonmore and felt we had good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilmaP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your positive remarks and we are very pleased that your stay exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    276
    143
    50
    22
See reviews for
124
326
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

we booked a two night break which included bed and breakfast and evening meal including a glass of wine with our meal all for 140 pounds for the two of us. The hotel was basic but certainly adequate. We were given a family room so we actually had lots of wardrobe space. There were coach groups booked in on the nights we were there so there was entertainment each night. Although the entertainment would not really be suitable for anyone under the age of 50, we enjoyed it. The food was good and the hotel was clean the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlander at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with husband and daughter using voucher from 5pm deals. The hotel was quite dated however our room and the public areas spotlessly clean. Dinner was included the first night and was nice enough although a bit greasy. We ate in the far room of the bar area away from the dining room which was full with coach tours. Breakfast was small but poached eggs cooked perfectly. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Was a great base for exploring the cairngorms, would not recommend for romantic break but good value for family accommodation on a budget.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SquashyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, we were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will have a chance to come back to the Highlander in the near future and explore more of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked a two night stay through 5pm.com and the value was £255. We paid £99 and it was not even worth that!
Rooms were clean, staff not rude but not friendly or welcoming.
Deal included meal on first night which was inedible.
Lounge was the most depressing room I've ever seen.
View from bedroom was 2 septic tanks.
Only stayed the one night it was so bad!
Advice, don't book you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higgif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Highlander and thank you for your comments. Our staff are always commended on their friendly manner and I can only apologise that you found this to not be the case. I also apologise that the food was not to your tastes on the evening in question. The lounge was refurbished last year with new chairs, sofas and new carpeting but we take your comments on board with regards to the atmosphere. Our septic tanks are kept underground, the tanks you refer to are gas tanks. I should hope if you chose to stay with us again in the future that the points you touch on could be addressed and you would have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we took my mother and father in law for their wedding anniversary for two nights, we were very dissapointed. The room desperatly in need of decoration, we did not get any sleep as the people above us had children or the adults were pacing or running around i do not know as never actually seen and children there, we did complain to no avail, also there were kennels outside and all the dogs did was bark constantly. the meal was shocking we had breakfast which was cold and when we complaned it seemed a problem for the staff, dinner was also cold and the three course was a joke, it was childrens portions. when we were asked while checking out i say to the lady of our problems she just said "oh well" and handed me my reciept. we wouldnt recomend this hotel at all

Room Tip: ask for a top floor and not near the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for review – we were somewhat surprised by your comments. Our rooms were refurbished last June as were several of our public areas. We are a family friendly hotel .You mention kennels but there is none at the hotel and nothing in the vicinity. With regards to meals the hotel is renowned for its traditional Scottish fayre and provide robust portions – indeed one criticism is that our portions are too generous. We offer excellent customer service and feel that your comments about check out are somewhat unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perhaps, having paid only £99 for two nights for two people B&B, including dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine, it would be hard to fault the value for the cost aspect of this hotel, which is situated at the far North end of Newtonmore However, the overall impression is one of creeping old age. Creaking floors in the public areas with decor more reminiscent of the 70's and a car park riddled with (rain-filled) potholes. The four course dinner was adequate, but plates could have been much hotter to cater for the fact that staff were looking after a coachload of visitors who had all arrived simultaneously. They were clearly under pressure but remained cheerful and responsive nonetheless. In common with the public areas, the bedrooms are showing their age and the shower pressure in the bathrooms inadequate. Overall? - best for coach parties.

Room Tip: If you are housed in the building nearest the road, ensure you get an even-numbered room, ie facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations but would like to point out that the hotel bedrooms, hotel lounge and reception foyer were all refurbished last June. Our car park has been recently repaired – as you can appreciate we had to wait for a dry spell to do the repairs and given the inclement weather we have all been experiencing it was difficult to get a window of opportunity. I appreciate your positive comments about my team and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Highlander at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked this hotel as a romatic weekend away for my boyfriend's birthday. Although this was booked a few weeks in advance and confirmation was received that we had booked a double room, when we arrived, we were given a twin room. Although we complained, our comments fell on deaf ears & not even an apology was given to appease us. Beds were pushed together but would not remain there, so two very uncomfortable nights were had by us.

Food was very basic, but adequate & staff were pleasant enough but will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foogirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments – I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I can only apologise that you did not get the room you had requested and I am sorry that you felt your complaint was not dealt with appropriately – I have spoken to my reception team about this at length. I hope that this incident will not deter you from staying at an Oxford Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kingussie
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Property: Highlander Hotel
Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing