We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget Accomodation”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here on a budget on a snowboarding wknd on the Cairngorms.
Our weekend collided with a "Young Farmers Confernce"
Checking was easy, the staff more than accomodating and very helpful and apologetic for the young farmers!
Our 3 rooms wee basic but had tea and coffee, they were nice and large and had a good spacious bathroom. They did lack a bath which would have been nice after a day on the slopes but had a powerful shower.
We only had breakfast but htere was plently to help yourself to and then a fresh cooked full monty and porridge on top too.
Would stay here again as for the price it was great and the staff we so great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 686 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Staff great, good food, very clean. Could do with a bit of updating but really good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCGAyrshire_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked this weekend as a taster for our boys to see if they really did enjoy 'outdoor' skiing before we spent a fortune on a foreign holiday. We booked through Ski Norwest and was told that this was the best hotel to stay out of a choice of three as we would have a great lively new year with skiing.

How wrong they were! The itinery they e mailed us promised a disco new years eve and a comedian New Years day night so we thought as a youngish couple with teenage boys this would be an ideal hotel to stay in. The meal on the first night was just awful, very tough meat and my youngest son chose the pizza from the 'children's menu', which actually was the only choice and was pretty awful. New Years eve the meal was better but the 'disco' turned into an accordionist followed by a trio of instrumentalists, we escaped to the lounge and played cards, not exactly a great new years eve.

We decided to leave a day early because the skiing was cancelled due to high winds and would be for the next few days and spent the last day of our holiday at Tamworth Snow Dome! The one days skiing the boys had was throughly enjoyable and we can't knock Ski Norwest at all, very efficient service both at the hotel and on the mountain. However, why oh why do they link a skiing/new years weekend with a hotel that appears to be an old peoples home?? its also a 20 mile trip to the mountain each day.

All in all, Scotland - great, fantastic scenery and skiing when weather permits. The hotel spoiled our weekend due to lack of life!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have had a lot of positive feedback following the New Year break and indeed many of the guests have rebooked for 2012.
We did have an issue with the quality of a batch of rump steaks from our supplier but guests were offered an alternative. Throughout the break everyone had a choice of 4 main courses on the menu and all children had a further 2 options to chose from. If these were not suitable we would have done our best to provide a preferred dish for your child had you only asked. I am led to believe that the itinerary you had received was a proposed itinerary and a slight change was made to the final itinerary, however the format was very similar – our accordionist, who also uses synthesisers and sings, has a very wide repertoire and all those that stayed within the function room, rather than going to the torchlight procession in the village, had an excellent night. The comedian was here on the night of the 2nd Jan as he has been for the past 5 years and unfortunately as you chose to go home early you missed him. The hotel caters for a wide range of ages and we find it disappointing that you have made out that the “hotel appears to be a an old peoples home” – everyone is entitled to a holiday and you have really made an offensive remark about many of our guests who enjoy their stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Spent 4 nights at this hotel wot a great time we had... This is a fantastic place to stay they were all very friendly and had time to stop and chat with us they were happy to answer any questions.. The food was great we will go back again as we plan to climb a mountain there so will be staying in hotel while we do that.. They are very pet friendly so had no probs with our puppys.. We were invited to a party nite on sat which was great and my partner Tom proposed to me during the evening..... Just a big thank you to all the staff for great hol and we hope to see you all again soon .......Rhona and Tom

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Overall a pleasant hotel but the walls and ceilings are so thin, that every footstep can be heard below, so we had to give up trying to sleep until the guests above had setted down. Otherwise it is in a good location and staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachanovka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

If you want to stay at this hotel go through EastBreaks and find the cost then phone the hotel directly - you should get it at the same price but without the £4.50 booking fee!.
This is a nice clean and friendly hotel with good food and quick service. If you book a room ensure it is on the first floor and not the ground floor as the floorboards are quite creaky which can be annoying if someone is up to the loo all night!. Excellent value at £30pppn for dinner bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: upstair room at rear of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gordon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I booked a weekend break via Classic Britain for only £140 for dinner, bed & breakfast. The area is great and Newtonmore is a perfect base for walking and other activities. Check-in was friendly and quick and we were pleased with our room. Everything was clean and the hotel is well looked after inside and out.

Dinner was served at 7.30pm with everyone eating at the same time. The food was really good quality and we had 3 courses of good old fashioned tasty fare. The highlight was the sweet trolley which had at least 7 choices of desert. They were fantastic! My rice pudding was the best I'd had in a long time. The staff were very friendly and all worked well as a team to serve everyone attentively and with no fuss. Adrian with the sweet trolley was really funny and a real star.

The second night (Sat) was 'highland night'. This meant a four course dinner (no extra cost) including haggis/neeps/tatties. There was a piper and then accordion music (not too loud) during dinner and dancing afterwards. Breakfast was really good but hot choices were limited to a full cooked breakfast or eggs on toast, which suited us fine. There was the usual continental fruit/cereal available too.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will return. The majority of guests were older people with coach parties but that didn't bother us and it's not a lively place for young couples. The shower in our room was a bit tricky but that was the only negative we could think of. Brilliant value and a happy experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 94,009,007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
313 reviews
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
496 reviews
13.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $69 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing