We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a tour of the highlands”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here Sept 11 to Sept 16th on a coach tour from North Wales.
Hotel clearly revolves around coach tours. Breakfasts were great - set you up for the day (lovely bacon & eggs). Our evening meal was at 1930. Good choice of courses and great sweet trolley. Only gripe was that cheese course was an extra £4.95 if you fancied a change from the the sweet trolley!
Waiters/waitresses a mixture of Eastern Europeans and locals. Poles in kilts dominated - friendly and efficient service.
My single room was comfortable and quiet (Newtonmore is off the busy A9). I had a new flat screen tv in my room - reception wasn't great. Parent's had a double room next door with better picure.
Free Wi-Fi in the lounge worked perfectly.
Tail end of hurricane Katia meant the area was pretty rainy during my stay!
In summary, clearly a hotel that lives on three coaches a night being in.
Good food, good service and a great base for exploring the Cairngorms and beyond.
Got back to England today and had to retune tv to BBC2 Scotland to see the Shinty final - Newtonmore won for first time in 25 years - I was cheering like a local!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Exloftdweeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 684 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed for a few nghts here on a motorbike tour of the highlands and was very happy with the room ,staff and service.Everyone was very friendly and helpful.My only niggle,being a veggie, was that I couldn't get baked beans at breakfast;however my nephew said the sausage bacon and egg was excellent. Looking forward to the next time when I shall supply my own beans.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chas4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just come back after a 5 day stay with Newmarket Holidays. Couldn't fault the hotel. Rooms spacious, clean and with everything you could ask for. Despite catering mainly for coach parties, meals were excellent with plenty of choice and very good service. Some of the restaurant staff had limited knowledge of English but they were friendly, efficient and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for friendliness and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a family room and get more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Good hotel really helpful, friendly staff.We were a bit worried as it only had 2 stars but have stayed in 3 star hotels which were no where near as good.Fantastic value for money good wholesome food and we will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Just ask for your requirements when booking the hotel goes out of its way to occommadate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 470Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Although the hotel is quite tired I did notice that they have recently installed flat screen televisions and the housekeeping staff seemed to be really trying. The same can not be said for the restaurant staff. I spend at least 150 nights in hotels and cruise ships all over the globe and have never been treated so rudely as by staff at this hotel. If you should stay here do not take any rudeness from staff but nip it in the bud at once. Most people in Scotland are quite welcoming and friendly and hopefully one or two really nasty ones won't overshadow your experience in this beautiful part if the world.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I was very impressed with the facilities for a 2 star hotel. The room was clean and there was plenty of space! The staff were friendly and helpful. We didnt have breakfast there but did have dinner and the wife and I thought the quality of food was superb - and you are absolutely spoiled in choosing a desert from the sweet trolly!
The only slight disappointment was that we were next door to the laundry room where we could hear the cleaning staff opening and closing the door. However this was quickly dealt with after one phone call to reception who apologised.

Overall I thought this was a magnificent place to stay and we wont hesitate to stay there agin when we are back staying in Newtonmore!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very adaquate hotel for our needs, very clean and staff were friendly. Would recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.3 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
312 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
351 reviews
21.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
581 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing