We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a dump!! Its like a cheap motel in bad need of a renovation.”
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My husband and I were on a tour of Scotland wth Insight Tours.
Such a shock when we saw this place,old fashioned key to lock the door.
Holes in the floor.Terrible place.Tiny bathroom.I
Food was pathetic and the waiters were forever trying to take our plates away before we finished our meal.
We were promised a Scottish night and entertainment.One man with an accordion and a long face.Food was not the best and as person who was born in Scotland I was very disappointed in this choice of hotel,which is not a hotel its a motel in every way.Could not access the Internet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank francesderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thank you for comments, we appreciate any feedback good or bad.
The hotel has recently undergone refurbishment and it surprises us that you have made these comments particularly about a 'tiny bathroom' as all the bathrooms are very spacious. We receive many positive comments on the quality of food and the efficient service. We are not contracted to provide entertainment but normally people appreciate the music - perhaps it was not to your taste, but our musician tries to play music to suit everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 683 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2nights on a great DBB deal and loved it. The rooms weren't sound-proofed and as this hotel attracts a lot of coach trips it was tricky to sleep with an old man snoring in the next room!

The food was great, plenty selection and loads of it! The waiters were really friendly and the dining room wa lovely and spacious. It was a really personal place.

We enjoyed how close it was to the Highland Wildlife Park and Aviemore and Newtonmore was an ok wee village with a nice pub or two that we had a drink in.

I'd definitely go back but take earplugs. Great value, great service, great food :)

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLxGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here with our little puppy, staff really friendly & welcoming, housekeeper moved our room from 2nd floor to ground floor with no problem.
Food was fresh & tasty even though there was a limited dining time, sweet trolley to die for.
Rooms are a bit dated but spotlessly clean with hairdryer & as much tea /coffee as you like
Overall a really pleasant relaxing stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelledfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel as others have said is a bit dated but was warm and comfortable . Rooms are ok but the shower not powerful enough after a long day's skiing . The food however was excellent and the staff worked extremely hard to keep everyone happy.

Ski Norwest on the other hand , were very disorganised i.e equipment not ready , poor instructions given for the Cairngorm mountain. Not nearly enough clear instructions given generally. Also the ski jacket my husband paid £50 to hire was like a piece of rag , we might as well have bought a new one.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sno125patrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Yes its outdated, but its is spotless, the food is basic but hot and tasty.The staff are great and the hotle is very comfortable. We had a great stay with our 2 teenage boys. We have booked to go back in December no better recommendation than that!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

As others have mentioned this hotel is like a trip back to the 70s. Entry into the room is the old fashioned way - with a key. The decor and furnishing looks 70s, TV was a small 14" CRT type... you get the picture. At least there was a phone in the room and I did not encounter any problems with the shower as others have mentioned (only thing is the shower cubicle is small). Room was clean and reasonably large.

Yes the Highlander seems to cater to tour groups. I myself was part of one and there were 2 other groups there at the same time. As you can imagine the dining room was packed during dinner, but service came fairly quickly. The food was so-so only, obviously mass produced to cater to the numbers.

It wouldn't be my first choice for a hotel in Newtonmore.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

As we have previously mentioned the hotel has recently undergone refurbishment in the lounge, reception and hotel foyer. The bedrooms have all been redecorated, had new furniture, a new phone system and new TV’s are due to arrive in the next couple of weeks. We receive many positive comments about the food and my team are widely praised for the efficient service they provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Clean and quiet. I rather enjoyed this nostalgic trip back to the 1980s. Dinner and Breakfast were good, though the entertainment left something to be desired.

Internet was wonky, they had to reboot the router numerous times. Cell phone coverage in this area is poor.

It was a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llwillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for your comments.
You mention that the hotel was outdated however we would like to point out that the hotel has undergone a refurbishment in the past few weeks.
On investigation we had found the local area had been experiencing problems with the broadband connections but this has been rectified and we have not had any problems recently. Unfortunately mobile phone coverage is out with our control however you will appreciate that we are within a mountainous area and the coverage for some networks is restricted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
0.2 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtonmore
308 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
349 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingussie
488 reviews
18.5 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing