We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated location with great hosts and food”
Review of Crubenbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crubenbeg House
Ranked #4 of 13 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed two nights at Crubenbeg House and as well as having fantastic breakfasts we elected to stay in for dinner and were treated to high end resturant food, John and Irene were the perfect hosts and made sure our stay was enjoyable. John provides the information on things to see and do, and does an excellent job as head waiter for breakfast, dinner and pre & post dinner drinks. Irene is a wiz in the kitchen and every meal was wonderful. Our room was comfortable with ensuite, TV and wifi available.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrewFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Crubenbeg House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have stayed here for the last 4 years, and every year we return. We enojoy the easy of the location and we can get onto the mountains very easy :) the cottages are very nice and well cleaned :) we have never had a problem in the many times we have gone :) very friendly owners and they supply logs for a small charge. You wouldnt be disapointed with these cottages :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My sister and I travelled to Scotland and Ireland this past summer. Out of the approximately 12 B&B's we stayed at in both countries, this was the best overall B&B we were at.

The room was spacious, clean, and beautiful. The location is beautiful, with rugged little mountains surrounding the area. As a songwriter/writer, taking a 5 minute walk down the path to the "Falls of Truim" was an inspirational experience. I took my notebook and just sat and wrote. Irene's breakfast was amazing, if not the best in our 2 week journey, then at least tied for the best.

But what sets this place apart is the interaction with John and Irene. They are social, and interested in talking to you, as opposed to just showing you to your room. I'm sure my sister would agree that out of all the B&B's we stayed at, we would consider John and Irene to almost be friends now. We have been in contact with them since, updating them on our lives etc.

The only thing I would say, and its not even negative really, is that if you are a 20 year old group looking to be able to walk to pubs and get drunk, then Crubenbeg is not for you. You have to drive to restaurants/pubs. But that is hardly a negative, and for anyone else I would highly recommend this B&B.

We hope to come back again someday.




Also, they let us use their personal computer to print out our boarding passes with Ryan Air, which saved us $100 US at least.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kris7232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We first stayed at Crubenbeg in summer 2007 on our honeymoon. What a great find we made on the internet. Everything about our stay was great. The location, the house, John, Irene & Raja the dog, the hospitality, the food, mmmm those breakfasts! We had such an enjoyable time. Our Pinemarten room on the groundfloor had the good wheelchair access we had been looking for. It was very comfortable and my wife just loves the kingsize bed, so comfortable!
As a base to explore the area, it is a perfect place to stay. The Cairngorms National Park is such a fantastically beautiful part of Scotland. There is so much to see and do. Whatever you are intertested in doing on your trip John and Irene are always on hand to offer advice and information.
We returned again in Februray 2008 and most recently in March 2009, and we can't wait till our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_and_Alex_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We arrived to a wonderful welcome, had a guided tour of the house, shown our room which was excellent, was all we could have wished for,we had a lovely dinner, both nights, and the breakfast selection was just great. Excellent pleace to tour from, would highly recomend trying Crubenbeg, we did on recomendation and we will certainly return, John and Irene are perfect hosts, long may they continue to be.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in June with another couple. We were treated very well. Proprietors John and Irene were exceptional hosts. Besides the great breakfast options, Irene offers an occastional dinner. She's a wonderful cook. They try to meet any request: my husband and our friend wanted to fish in the nearby Spey River. Irene connected them with a person who sold them a license and gave advice. My husband caught a trout which Irene cooked for us. This is a great location for hiking and visiting the Malt Whiskey Trail. YOu won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We booked three nights on the strength of other reviews and we were not disappointed. This is a first rate guest house with everything one hopes to have in the way of home comforts....and more.
We were made very welcome and because of the immaculate standard of the room, we had the feeling that we were the first people to use it.
The breakfasts and one evening meal were fantastic. It's worth staying just to try Irene's pancake stack!
We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weemammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
7.1 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
347 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
675 reviews
4.7 mi away
Balavil Hotel
Balavil Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newtonmore
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sonnhalde
Sonnhalde
#10 of 22 in Kingussie
44 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
268 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clune House
Clune House
#1 of 13 in Newtonmore
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range: $89 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing