We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crubenbeg House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crubenbeg House
Ranked #4 of 16 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last day we stayed just for one night here. Welcome was very friendly. Before dinner we drank some pints together with the other guests in the lovely sitting room with an open fire. The dinner after was superb! Not just the taste but also the creative arrangements.

But the dinner was nothing compared to the awesome breakfast! You have to try it!

Bedroom was also very nice. Huge room with an also huge and good looking bathroom. Perfect and relaxing night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
M & B. Vielen Danke!! You have been very kind taking time out of your holiday to post this review for us - much appreciated. It was great to see you both on Sunday evening - we hope that you're safely in the Hebrides by now!! Enjoy the rest of your holiday - we'll look forward to seeing you both again sometime soon. John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
108
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed, and I’ve stayed in a few. The house is set in a beautiful location with views of the mountains. We received a very warm welcome from John and Irene and Rajah the dog. They did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We stayed in the Stag bedroom that was lovely and cosy with a four-poster bed, view over the mountains and a very nice en-suite bathroom. The living room was comfy with an open log fire and we were offered tea and cake in the afternoon. Irene was knowledgeable about nearby walking routes and they were helpful in lending maps and providing advice. They even offered to drop us off at our starting point. The choice of breakfast was absolutely fantastic and the quality of the food was great. All in all, a wonderful place to stay with very friendly, helpful hosts and great food. You’d be mad not to stay here if you’re in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Well, what can we say, except "Thank you". We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed looking after you. It is very kind of you to have taken the time to post this review for us, many thanks again. Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Two delightful people own this bed and breakfast. John and Irene will make you feel very welcome. This is a beautiful location if you are looking for a quiet restful vacation. Irene's breakfast menu is very impressive and absolutely delicious. John will make you feel at ease as he is very chatty and you will be sure to enjoy your stay with them. Extremely reasonable, of very high quality. All of your needs are catered for with well furnished extremely clean and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at the Crubenbeg are of a very high standard, there is a four poster room on offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegHouse, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
T & T - it was super seeing you again. We are delighted that your return to our home was as good as you hoped.

Thanks for coming back and thanks for your kind words. As they say up here - "Haste ye back!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked into Crubenbeg as a New Year treat having looked at reviews on TripAdvisor, well the reviews don't lie, this is one very special place which offers exceptional quality accommodation and food in a wonderful location. John and Irene are exceptional hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble and offer a wonderful mixture of fantastic food, great company and with John you have a great raconteur who always has an anecdote or story to tell. Whilst not having special dietary requirements, we were very impressed with how John and Irene catered for some guests who were vegans, at no point were they made to feel different and at every meal they were presented with superb food that was the equal of what we were being served. As part of the break we took part in a torchlit procession in Newtonmore for Hogmanay, this was a very special experience and we felt part of the community, this was not something put on for tourists, it was something we will always remember. Last but not least, we cannot forget Rajah the dog who is a friendly, integral and very special part of the whole Crubenbeg experience. If you only stay in one place in the Highlands, make it Crubenbeg, you will not regret it, we certainly didn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegJohn, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Rajah says that he's never been described as "integral" before but he is delighted to have got a mention in your very kind review. Thanks, too, from us, for all your other comments, we are delighted that you had such a great time here with us and your fellow guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were booked into Crudenbeg by our son and his wife as part of our christmas present, which included a photography experience at the Highland Wildlife Park. Our daughter-in-law Sandra is usually pretty good at finding different things for the old folks to do, but she has excelled herself in finding this accomodation. What a welcome we received by Irene and John, as though we were long lost friends.The evening meal, which is normally served at 7.30pm, was brought forward for us to 5pm to enable my wife's diabetic routine to remain as normal. It was no problem for them, and we thank them for that.
We were allocated the Osprey room for our night's stay and can recommend it for a great night's sleep.
Breakfast - well what can you say? A great start to the day with bacon, sausage, egg, black pudding, haggis etc.etc.

Room Tip: The Osprey room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finmack_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegJohn, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We are delighted to have played a small part in making this weekend such a special one for the lady. It would be totally indiscrete of me to say what the gift was celebrating - not chivalrous at all!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolutely lovely with quiet surroundings. John and Irene made us both feel the best of welcome and at ease straight away. Would deffo recommend the Osprey room as it has a fantastic kingsize bed, en-suite and was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts in the morning are to die for. From gorgeous porridge to smoked salmon in eggs to a full belly busting Scottish breakfast. Plenty to fuel your day. We even stayed in one evening and sat round the table and had a curry together. Liked it so much that we have booked an even longer stay again in September 2013. The location is like being in the hub of a wheel with everything to do and see at the end of each spoke in any direction. Counting down the seconds.........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegJohn, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Jason, to say that we're looking forward to your return this September is an understatement. We very much enjoyed your company last year and are well pleased that you both had a great time here too.

It is a good point that you make about us being at the hub of the spokes of a wheel - as you discovered, you can easily get to a lot of places from Crubenbeg - for us, that is one of the many joys of living here too.

You're counting the seconds - by my reckoning, there are 20, 390, 400 to go!!

Tick tick tick.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent two nights at Crubenbeg House in early October. Pre-arrival, John's emails and directions were very helpful. John gave us a warm welcome and showed us round. He then offered tea or coffee with a slice of Irene's home made cake. What a lovely touch!

Our chosen room was 'Stag' which has a four poster bed and seating area. It was super and even had M&S dressing gowns for us to wear during our stay.

Breakfast is amongst the best we've ever had with an amazing choice on the menu from home-made granola to fresh pancakes. We could not praise this highly enough and would return for breakfast alone!

We booked dinner on our first evening and it was a real treat with three courses of home-cooked, beautifully presented food. Upon booking, John asked if we had any dietary requirements or preferences and these were thoughtfully incorporated into menu planning. The other guests also chose to dine in that evening so we really enjoyed the meal and then relaxing in the loung after-dinner in front of the roaring fire.

On our second evening, we were invited along with the other guests (all staying for one of Irene's walking weekends) to dine out at Anderson's, a restaurant in Boat of Garten. The food here was also excellent.

Despite Crubenbeg being conveniently just off the A9, you cannot hear road noise. It is peaceful and we slept really well, particularly our second night after climbing Cairngorm.

We really couldn't find fault with any aspect of our stay and are looking forward to returning for a cookery weekend next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLH_abdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrubenbegJohn, Owner at Crubenbeg House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Jill, you're a darling for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us. Thank you.

We're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay and, indeed, that we'll be seeing you both again in just a few short weeks - that Cookery Course will be here sooner than we think.

Looking forward to it........

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
7.1 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#1 of 16 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Property: Crubenbeg House
Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crubenbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing