We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crubenbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crubenbeg House
Ranked #4 of 14 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ipswich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife Irene and I have just returned from our Biking tour in Scotland and were lucky enough to spot the Crubenbeg in the MCN Bikers Welcome Guide . We stayed for four nights in a four poster bed room which was fantastic . The welcome from John and Irene was like meeting old friends even though this was our first visit. Irene's breakfast is brilliant , loads of choice and I had a different breakfast every morning ( Just don't make the mistake of ordering a full ENGLISH !!!! ) just order the full SCOTTISH instead !!! The haggis with the breaky is fantasic. Irene's cooking was out of this world and scores a very easy 10/10 . John is a funny guy and the house itself is spotless . They simply can't do enough for you. They recommended other eateries for us to try during our stay and whilst very good themselves , they were not as good as Irene's cooking.
The house itself is set back so bike security is no problem and the sights and sounds we experienced was so good that John and Irene will definately be hosting us again .
Thank you guys for making our stay one to remember and we are already planning the next visit

Room Tip: As we had the main four poster-bed room , this was the biggest and best in the house .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scouserIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We usually visit Crubenbeg en route to Gairloch for our annual holiday. John and Irene have always made us very welcome and the opportunity to meet fellow guests is something we look forward to at each visit. The best thing about Crubenbeg is that no matter how stressed you are feeling at the start of your holiday John and Irene work their "magic" and you feel instantly relaxed, it is wonderful! The atmosphere is great, the rooms very comfortable and the food second to none.

Room Tip: Stag is the best room ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

John and Irene are wonderful. When you stay here you are their guest and you are staying in a B&B that feels like a home. Unlike some places where you barely ever see the host, somebody is always there to greet you when you walk in the door. I can't say enough about how much we loved staying with them. There is plenty to do in the area and John and Irene work hard to make your stay special. Next time we are in Scotland we will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Camberley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Superb - from start to finish John & Irene still manage to make you feel like a family friend rather than a paying guest. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We drove this time so a 10 hours drive from one end of the country to the other but well worth it to stay with them. Irene's breakfasts are legendary and a great start to the day - how many B&B's do you go to that have a breakfast menu - you could have something different for a fortnight all served at the main table which all guest sit - this is a perfect mixing pot of all nationalities and offers an insight in to others lives and helps make the experience a very friendly one, ideal for solo travellers as they are not left to sit on their own and often if you eat in then there is a nice relaxed drink after dinner in the welcoming lounge - this is so much nicer than just disappearing to your room, of course if you wish to do that then that too is fine. John and Irene are our bench mark and so far we have yet to find anyone who can compare. John even drove us to the start of one of our walks and then picked us up at the end. Irene had worked out several walks for us to look at before heading their way as that was our aim. They are knowledgeable hosts and make it seem effortless when in reality I sure it is not so - shall of course be returning to our home from home in Scotland. Shall bring my Everest photos to compare with yours! Your "One foot at a time" was worth its weight in gold as was my mantra through out my trek. Thanks Mandy & Dave

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinnydiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Crubenbeg. It's in a great spot and a lovely house. John and Irene are incredibly welcoming and friendly. Their breakfasts are not too be missed! (Supper was very good too.) This is the place to go if you want a lovely b&b experience - so different than a hotel - of chatting with other guests over a wee tipple and getting to know your hosts and about the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixchicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Crubenbeg House, John Irene were extremley hospitable, the food was excellent, their knowledge of the local area, walking routes and visitor attractions was fantastic. The House is in a superb location surrounded by stunning views. We feel that Raja the dog also needs a mention here as we thought he was great! lovely natured and very welcoming. I can't rate this place highly enough we will definatley be returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

A fantastic two days. Spotless accommodation and we were extremely well looked after. Fantastic breakfast too! I can not recommend highly enough and we look forward to a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parsleytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtonmore
4.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
4.9 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
6.8 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 14 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 14 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crubenbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crubenbeg House

Property: Crubenbeg House
Address: Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire & fine wines, beers & malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Lastly, our breakfasts. Home-baked bread, our own free-range eggs, kippers, local sausage, haggis & black pudding. Mmm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Crubenbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crubenbeg House Newtonmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing