We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pipers Cottage

Cosy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy cottage
Hot tub! Large garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Cosy cottage
Hot tub!
Large garden
Breathtaking view
Bedroom
Stunning in the snow
Log burning fire
Garden with hot tub summer house
Lounge
Entrance Driveway
Kitchen
Twin Gallery Bedroom
Welcome Stone
Lounge
Garden in the snow
One of the stunning views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emma H
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a brilliant place to Base ourselves for an adventure weekend round Aviemore. The hot tub was greatly appreciated after all the biking and running around! Although it wasn't that clean when we first arrived.
Accommodation was great, plenty of towels and the kitchen was well appointed. The only improvement would have been some kind of dining table.
There were loads of dvds available to watch which was great although the sky didn't seem to be working but we were having too much fun to really notice the lack of TV!
Thanks again, we'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
603kated
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute dream getaway”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 days over Easter, as a couple and packed the kids off with grandma. The cottage was a perfect base for our romantic break. The amenities in the cottage were brilliant, we were doing a lot of sightseeing but could have easily stayed in for the day and not been bored, with full sky tv and the hottub. Location wise, it is perfectly placed with breathtaking views all around, far enough out of the way for it to be very private, but only a 10 min drive to the village where there is a co-op for bits and bobs. We ate in most nights as the kitchen provides everything we needed, but found the information folder really useful recommending a lovely local bar/restaurant. There are little signs dotted around the cottage explaining how to work appliances etc, which actually was hugely helpful. Looking at the two single beds in the cottage, we have decided it would be suitable for our children (6 and 8)- although please bear in mind the stairs in the cottage are very steep, so any younger children or anyone with mobility difficulties- this might not be for you. Overall, a perfect break and we look forward to hopefully booking next year.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross I
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Brilliant little cottage in the middle of the Cairngorms National Park. Fantastic views all around and all the comforts required for an excellent break away.

The location is fantastic for anyone wanting to spend time out of the rush of the city and day to day life - with close proximity to many great walking routes, the Laggan Wolftrax mountain bike trails, as well as other great activities. With the stunning views all around, it was hard to be disappointed wherever we went.

After a long day out in the hills, being able to come back to a hot tub that looks out across the picturesque mountain scape. Having the real log fire inside made it really comfortable to dry off afterwards in the comfort of the living room. All of the little things together just made this a wholly amazing experience.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area was fantastic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahc957
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed December 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We loved the authenticity of the cottage with the hot tub in the outhouse. We went to laggan bike trails which were great fun. We also visted the town of Newtonmore for dinner and had a lovely meal. All round relaxing trip and would happily return!

many thanks,

Sarah.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, a new favourite”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Pipers cottage is a little gem. My partner and I were really looking forward to getting a little break away after a very busy few weeks at work. The cottage did not disappoint. What a beautiful little property which has been done up really well. I have to take my hat off to the owners who have got it just right, the hot tub set up is fantastic having sky TV available in the tub area is genius. During the evening was it was idyllic, we sat in the hot tub whilst the snow fell which was stunning.

The real fire was a god send, we had that going full tilt from the afternoon through to late evening. The cold November air did take hold as there is no double glazing. This was not a problem as the snow made the stay even more enjoyable. The kitchen is small but fine for what we used it for, one thing I would say is the fridge doesn't keep things cold just cool. We kept the milk outside as it was colder out there.

It was so easy to get to the next town for some shopping (gin) and easy to get to Aviemore for the day. The Funicular railway was brilliant and would recommend it to everyone. We also took a nice walk round Loch an Eilein, again, this was stunning, the castle in the water was beautiful. The only thing I would say is make sure you have change for the car park. We didn’t realise you had to pay for parking.

Thank you so much! And really, what a hidden gem! We will be back and recommended it to all of our friends and family.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing