We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of the keepers kitchen - CLOSED

the keepers kitchen
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: New name & owners of previuous Garden Cafe & Craft Centre. fab gift shop area selling quality items. Wonderful home-made cakes, soup sandwiches . changing lunch menu. much
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place is a real find. They sell quality gifts and ice creams at the front of the shop but through the back is a beautiful, light conservatory which is both tasteful and comfortable. Everywhere is spotless, a real credit to the owners. There’s an area at the back were they encourage the wild birds to feed. I was amazed at how many varieties came down including siskins and goldfinches. We were so impressed we retuned the next day for lunch. There’s a huge selection off coffee, smoothies, not to mention the array of home made cakes. I defy anyone with even the greatest of will power not to be tempted. We even bought some to bring home!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessYaramaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great news for Newtonmore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

A friend who lives locally told me about The Keepers Kitchen, - she said it's the best thing that's happened in Newtonmore since she moved to the area - so daughter and I decided to give it a try. I was impressed as soon as we walked in - the interior is light and airy (but not too Stockbridge-minimalist) and the lovely waitress said a cheerful hello the minute she saw us.

The main seating area is at the back of the shop - there are tables and comfortable sofas, and I knew when I saw the cakes on the counter that this was going to be good. Having walked from Kingussie in the sunshine we were roasted, so delighted to find the little outside patio - it was beautifully cool and shaded, has a pretty little pond and an amazing bird table constructed from an old tree. Green finches, blackbirds, sparrows and coaltits (I think) flock to the feeders and are fascinating to watch.

Daughter had a blackcurrant smoothie which she pronounced absolutely delicious - I had to try it, and I agree, it was really fruity and sharp, not like many of the over-sweetened supermarket versions. I had a very good scone, nicely warmed and clearly freshly made. We were so comfortable that we sat and read for a while - there was no pressure to leave, and everything was delightfully peaceful. The bill was a lot lower than I would have anticipated in most Edinburgh and East Lothian cafes.

The cafe also displays some excellent framed photographs by Ian Kenny, and at the front there is a gift shop with a really unusual and tasteful selection of goods.

We will definitely return to the Keepers Kitchen next time we're in Newtonmore - in fact we tried to go back yesterday, having not read the opening times (it's closed on Tuesdays) - very disappointed! Entirely our own fault! Recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Live in the local area and fully recommend the Keeper's Kitchen. Best place in Newtonmore for coffee, the cafe also has great photography by Ian Kenny who is extremely helpful and has some excellent work for sale...if your in the area then be sure to drop in!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielarn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our home-away-from-home in the Highlands!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We love love LOVED this great cafe, visiting it 3 times during our week in the Highlands. They made the best lattes and their homemade soups and scones were absolutely lovely. What we liked best was the incredibly warm and inviting sunroom in the back where we could check our email while enjoying a coffee or some lunch. What's even better is that the room looked out into a beautifully landscaped back garden with a large bird feeder that attracted a lot of interesting birds! The owners were so nice and remembered us each time we came back, and we cannot forget to mention the fact that they have not only wifi for cafe customers but also a normal desktop computer which you can use for £1.50. This was a huge lifesaver for me, as I had to catch up on work email but our holiday house did not have internet access. As the previous reviewer noted, their gift shop was absolutely many steps above the average gift shop for the area, as the selection was indeed unique and worthy of a browse.

We decided that Keeper's Kitchen--and Newtonmore--were the highlights of our week in the Higlands, and we cannot recommend this lovely cafe more highly!! An absolute must if you are travelling through Newtonmore and are looking for a warm welcome and a quality tea/coffee or lunch!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciarrai81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fab cafe & quality gift shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Fast becoming our favourite place for latte & home-made cake (rocky road is ace) or home-made soup & sandwich. The combination of lovely owners & staff that make you feel so welcome, excellent coffees, the just lovely home baking then the lunch food make it the best place in Newtonmore for Morning Coffee or Lunch or Coffee & cake in the Afternoon. The menu is always changing with different soups & sandwich fillings, different cakes - but the fresh scones are just that from the oven and the rocky road (did I mention that it's fab). We cannot recommend it enough.
The Gift Shop area is full of good quality items - not the usual tourist themed rubbish - very nice Harris Tweed bags & things, photographs are all by the in house photographer and all very good - we are having 2 for our Sun Room.
It's popular with locals (like us) and tourists

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the keepers kitchen also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing